Don't load all tabs' contents when starting

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
kgb88
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:36 pm
Windows Version: 7
Avant Version: 2012
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aluminum

Don't load all tabs' contents when starting

Post by kgb88 » Sun Jul 21, 2013 10:44 am

I see a brilliant option in Firefox which does not allow to load all tabs' contents when the browser is starting. I means that if I choose to keep 10 opened pages before exit, the next time when I start Firefox, it will load only one active tab and keep unloaded other 9 tabs.

This feature will reduce memory load and Internet bandwidth when starting browser

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Don't load all tabs' contents when starting

Post by xiaobing » Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:00 am

Recorded

rajko
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:07 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version: 2013 113
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 10
Skin: Stickers on glass (stupid q)

Re: Don't load all tabs' contents when starting

Post by rajko » Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:49 pm

if it's worth any salt :) I second this request

Thanks!!!

User avatar
Tinman57
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: TEXAS

Re: Don't load all tabs' contents when starting

Post by Tinman57 » Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:21 pm

We already have this option. If you have Avant option set to prompt for all open tabs when closing, the next time you start Avant you'll get the option to load whichever tabs you want.
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)

kgb88
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:36 pm
Windows Version: 7
Avant Version: 2012
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aluminum

Re: Don't load all tabs' contents when starting

Post by kgb88 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:50 am

I suggested a different option compared to the one you mentioned which is already in Avant
The option I suggested is that all tabs we have are still kept on the tab bar but Avant will only load one last tab and keep other tabs in inactive status until we click them

kgb88
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:36 pm
Windows Version: 7
Avant Version: 2012
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aluminum

Re: Don't load all tabs' contents when starting

Post by kgb88 » Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:59 am

I notice that this feature is already available in Firefox under the name "Don't load tabs until selected" but Avant take control over Firefox engine and the feature cannot be in use

Post Reply