Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by mbrazil » Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:08 am

Add a command to refresh the current web page by double-clicking on any blank area of the page.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by xiaobing » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:49 am

There are several ways to refresh webpage, you don't like either of them?

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by mbrazil » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:16 am

xiaobing wrote:There are several ways to refresh webpage, you don't like either of them?
I wouldn't say I don't like them. It's a matter of convenience. Most of the time when you're doing something in a web page and you want to refresh it, your mouse cursor is already over the page. If you could double-click the page to refresh it, it wouldn't require moving the mouse cursor off the page or switching to the keyboard. Since there currently is nothing that responds to double clicking a blank area of a page, it could easily be put to use. Also, this would be very similar to the new way to refresh a page that has crashed -- double clicking the purple background.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by xiaobing » Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:56 am

Ok, you won :D

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by mbrazil » Wed Jan 30, 2013 4:46 am

:thumbup: :D

Crazy_John
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Windows Version: W10 x64 / W7 x64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2019 build 2
Default engine: 1ºFirefox \ 2ºChrome
IE Version: 7 and 10 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by Crazy_John » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:44 pm

Why not use mouse gestures , for example right-click+drag-up :D

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by mbrazil » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:18 pm

Crazy_John wrote:Why not use mouse gestures , for example right-click+drag-up :D
Mouse gestures are fine if you like them. I don't like them, and I don't use them.

Crazy_John
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Windows Version: W10 x64 / W7 x64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2019 build 2
Default engine: 1ºFirefox \ 2ºChrome
IE Version: 7 and 10 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by Crazy_John » Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:40 pm

Mouse gestures help alot , but i just use 3

right-click+drag-left to go back 1 page
right-click+drag-right to close the page
right-click+drag-up to refresh the page

Its even better than two clicks , one right click and up abit and its done.
Last edited by Crazy_John on Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by AXEMAN » Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:00 pm

Sorry but i have to agree with mike his way is the most practical.I don't like the mouse either i have to many things to remember as it is now. Have a nice day :)

Crazy_John
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Windows Version: W10 x64 / W7 x64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2019 build 2
Default engine: 1ºFirefox \ 2ºChrome
IE Version: 7 and 10 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by Crazy_John » Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:03 pm

AXEMAN wrote:Sorry but i have to agree with mike his way is the most practical.I don't like the mouse either i have to many things to remember as it is now. Have a nice day :)
posts almost at the same time

EDIT:
Naa my way is the most practical.
Its even better than two clicks , one right click and up abit and its done , one click saved.
And if you do right click up , it will not open any link...so you dont have to look where the mouse arrow is.


And its just 3 actions more in my case , its not that hard to remember , its a matter of get used to it , its much more useful than go up with the mouse arrow to the top of avant to go back 1 page , to close a tab , to refresh .

More my wheel mouse left to copy and wheel mouse right to paste but thats in the logitech mouse settings.

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by mbrazil » Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:03 am

As I said, I don't like mouse gestures. I didn't say they're not right for other people or that they're bad. I just don't like using them. :thumbdown: For me, they take too much precision in the control of the mouse (making them feel awkward), they are harder to remember (let's see, was that upper-right to lower-left, lower-right to upper left, lower-left to upper-right... shіt! :crazy: ), and they require more mouse movement than a double-click, even if you have to move the cursor slightly first.

I also like the consistency and parallelism of refreshing by double-clicking anywhere in the blank portion of the lilac error screen and double-clicking in any blank area of a web page to refresh (in both cases). :thumbup:

This is a matter of personal preference, but having another way available to accomplish a common task is never a bad thing. I would never suggest that the double-click method should replace the mouse gesture, but what's wrong with adding it :?:

Crazy_John
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Windows Version: W10 x64 / W7 x64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2019 build 2
Default engine: 1ºFirefox \ 2ºChrome
IE Version: 7 and 10 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by Crazy_John » Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:49 pm

I never said that it shouldn't be done :D , i just said how i use it , and that as i use it , with mouse gesture right-clik-up , works very well and its easy and faster than with 2 clicks , was just trying to help. :thumbup:

The gestures right-clik-up or right-clik-left or right-clik-right , the ones i use , the click and the move they can be done at the same time , 2 clicks cant be done at same time :lol:

To me a very high precision is not required , i just do mouse-left-click without go exactly to the left and it works fine , i just use 3 but i still have the down setting available.

About upper-right to lower-left .... that type of gesture i agree that its abit more hard , thats why i just use the normal ones , but they are doable anyway.

Would be good if with the double-clicking , that we could choose one action to it , not just refresh , for a new tab or other option that is in the mouse gestures selection drop down box. <<< Request


For when avant has refresh , close tabs , new tab , back , forward .... using thoughts :lol:

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Add double-click on blank area of web page to refresh

Post by mbrazil » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:34 pm

Crazy_John wrote:was just trying to help.
I know. :thumbup:
Crazy_John wrote:2 clicks cant be done at same time
I use a Kensington Expert Mouse (trackball) that has four buttons. I have the upper-right button configured to send a double-left-click, so I CAN do two clicks at the same time (with one mouse click). I've been using it this way for so long (years) that I don't really think of a double-click as two separate clicks anymore. :lol: It's frustrating in many ways now when I have to use a regular mouse, not to mention that a regular mouse makes my whole arm hurt after a little while. I can use the trackball all day long with very little fatigue.
Crazy_John wrote:About upper-right to lower-left .... that type of gesture i agree that its abit more hard , thats why i just use the normal ones , but they are doable anyway.
I don't find the diagonal gestures hard to do -- it's just hard to remember where to start, which way to go (up or down :thumbup: ), and at which angle.
Crazy_John wrote:Would be good if with the double-clicking , that we could choose one action to it , not just refresh , for a new tab or other option that is in the mouse gestures selection drop down box. <<< Request
I agree! :thumbup: Additional configurability is always welcome as long as it's easy to find where to make the settings.

Post Reply