Yet again I ask for "Move tab to new Avant Browser"

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Yet again I ask for "Move tab to new Avant Browser"

Post by notestracker » Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:53 pm

A really, really, really, really useful capability (that I use quite a lot in Firefox, for example) is to right-click on a tab and select "Move to new window" -- allowing you to start off a bunch of related tabs in that separate browser window, without cluttering up the original window.

I want to see this capability in Avant, and suggest that it be called "Move to new Avant Browser" for consistency with other wording (such as File > New Avant Browser).

The capability is ALMOST present with "Detach Tab" but the major issue with this is that it detaches only the web page content pane and misses out on the address bar and other rows at top plus the bottom rows (which is where I choose to display tabs to avoid clutter at top).

What I want is similar to "Duplicate" but into a completely separate Avant Browser window rather than in the same window.

I first asked for this capability several years ago. Considering some of the other difficult things that have appeared in Avant since then, surely it would be relatively easy to implement this wouldn't it?

And oh, did I mention that I'd REALLY like to have such a feature? =P~
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Yet again I ask for "Move tab to new Avant Browser"

Post by xiaobing » Tue Dec 25, 2012 1:55 am

Recorded.
Right click a link, there is an option "Open in New Avant browser".

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Yet again I ask for "Move tab to new Avant Browser"

Post by notestracker » Tue Dec 25, 2012 3:03 am

Ni hao, Xiaobing.

I want to right click on a TAB, not on a link within the web page displayed in that tab. There might be few or many links in that web page. I Want the entire tab (with all of the tab's contents) to be moved to a new instance of Avant Browser.

The image shows how Firefox has both "duplicate tab to new window" and "move tab to new window" (these are via the "Tab Mix Plus" add-on rather than the basic Firefox install). Both moving and duplicating tab's contents to a new browser window instance are useful. depending on what you wish to accomplish.
Firefox_move_or_duplicate_tab_to_new_window_Tab_Mix_Plus_options.jpg
As you might expect, the Tab Mix Plus add-on does not work under Avant. This is a pity, since it has lots of useful tab context menu options (some of which Avant offers, and various others):
Firefox___context_menu_options_for_Tab_Mix_Plus.jpg
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Yet again I ask for "Move tab to new Avant Browser"

Post by AXEMAN » Tue Dec 25, 2012 4:43 pm

I agree with notestracker. And lots of people have left avant because it never seems to be fully functional . :think:

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Yet again I ask for "Move tab to new Avant Browser"

Post by xiaobing » Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:40 am

Thanks for your explanation, tony. The request had been recorded.

AbelAbel
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:11 am
Windows Version: win7
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: Yet again I ask for "Move tab to new Avant Browser"

Post by AbelAbel » Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:48 am

AXEMAN wrote:I agree with notestracker. And lots of people have left avant because it never seems to be fully functional . :think:
No browser is fully functional. It is difficult to cater for all tastes.

User avatar
Tinman57
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: TEXAS

Re: Yet again I ask for "Move tab to new Avant Browser"

Post by Tinman57 » Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:00 am

AbelAbel wrote:
AXEMAN wrote:I agree with notestracker. And lots of people have left avant because it never seems to be fully functional . :think:
No browser is fully functional. It is difficult to cater for all tastes.
Then you add all the request, bells & whistles and Avant becomes BLOATWARE that takes up a lot of memory and slows down your computer or internet. Not to mention all the bugs it would introduce on some computers and not others, depending on how it's configured and what add-ons/comm software are installed.
I'm not advocating that request not be fulfilled, just the problems that are introduced with all the extras....
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Yet again I ask for "Move tab to new Avant Browser"

Post by notestracker » Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:52 am

Tinman57 wrote: Then you add all the request, bells & whistles and Avant becomes BLOATWARE ---(snip) ---

I'm not advocating that request not be fulfilled, just the problems that are introduced with all the extras....
I hope that my request (for a relatively minor addition, a variation of features already present) helps to make Avant into GLOATWARE, that is, enabling me to gloat and say that "My browser is better that your browser" :lol: =D> =P~
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

Post Reply