re AvB2012

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:16 pm

15November2011

Greetings.

AvB has already fixed numerous bugs in AvB2012.
It seems to me the focus bug should be a top priority for AvB ...

1) I find the Translate menu item(s) under T&ools to be pointless
Anyone could go to google translate on their own.
Seems to me like a waste of space & resources.
(How about changing T&ools to &Tools? or
letting users set menu hotkeys and other custom hotkey combos?)

2) It would be nice if AvB had an MRU Ctrl-Tab popup.
The MFF add-on I use in MFF does not work at all in AvB.

3) I know of no direct way to change/set the rendering engine of open tabs.
I know how to set the defaul renderer for websites, but it seems to me
that is should be possible to switch renderers in open tabs ...

4) The "portable" AvB has to read
C:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles.ini
to know the location of the gecko profile.
It seems to me the "portable" AvB should be able to read Profiles.ini from the AvB "install" location.
I have customized my AvB Gecko profile location(s).
My AvB portable would not use my Gecko profiles if I was not on my machines with
C:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles.ini ...

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 4:01 pm

20November2011
Greetings.
How about changing "Exit" under the &File dropdown menu to "E&xit" ...
Under the &File dropdown menu there is Op&en Recent.
"E&xit" is very common ...

Nikata
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 2:16 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 build 16
IE Version: 8

Re: re AvB2012

Post by Nikata » Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:02 am

AEN007 wrote:15November2011

Greetings.

AvB has already fixed numerous bugs in AvB2012.
It seems to me the focus bug should be a top priority for AvB ...
This problem just happens very accidentally, I guess it's just difficult to capture it for the developer :think: Hope they will fix it ASAP

1) I find the Translate menu item(s) under T&ools to be pointless
Anyone could go to google translate on their own.
Seems to me like a waste of space & resources.
(How about changing T&ools to &Tools? or
letting users set menu hotkeys and other custom hotkey combos?)
My hotkey is &Tools, is yours T&ools ?
111.jpg
111.jpg (1.17 KiB) Viewed 5714 times

2) It would be nice if AvB had an MRU Ctrl-Tab popup.
The MFF add-on I use in MFF does not work at all in AvB.

3) I know of no direct way to change/set the rendering engine of open tabs.
I know how to set the defaul renderer for websites, but it seems to me
that is should be possible to switch renderers in open tabs ...
Change rendering engine for opened tabs: click here:
111.jpg
111.jpg (17.21 KiB) Viewed 5714 times

4) The "portable" AvB has to read
C:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles.ini
to know the location of the gecko profile.
It seems to me the "portable" AvB should be able to read Profiles.ini from the AvB "install" location.
I have customized my AvB Gecko profile location(s).
My AvB portable would not use my Gecko profiles if I was not on my machines with
C:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles.ini ...

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:17 pm

24November2011
Greetings.
Nikata wrote:
AEN007 wrote:It seems to me the focus bug should be a top priority for AvB ...
This problem just happens very accidentally, I guess it's just difficult to capture it for the developer :think:
Hope they will fix it ASAP
It happens all the time. It happened even before AvB2012.
It loses focus to no other window, however. I've seen the active window go from AvB to no window.
That is, the active window has no title, no class, no text & no associated process ...

The main Avant.exe window is class:TfrmBrowserMDIMain.Avant.UnicodeClass.
Inside that is class:MDIClient. There is also the Avant.exe window class:TApplication.
I've seen exes that have the TApplication & the main GUI.
I suspect the problem is because AvB has the MDIClient window inside the separate main GUI
Nikata wrote:
AEN007 wrote:1) (How about changing T&ools to &Tools? or ...)
My hotkey is &Tools, is yours T&ools ?
Yes, mine is T&ools. Can't be bothered to post an image.
Nikata wrote:
AEN007 wrote:3) I know of no direct way to change/set the rendering engine of open tabs.
Change rendering engine for opened tabs: click here:
THANKS. I didn't know about that button & didn't have it on display.

Julien90
Fan
Fan
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:33 am
Windows Version: win7 32 bit/IE9 xp pro
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: re AvB2012

Post by Julien90 » Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:15 am

THANKS. I didn't know about that button & didn't have it on display.
It's the GO button of address bar. Didn't you have it.
Look at here about the tips of 2012 versions:http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 21&t=30498
Yes, mine is T&ools. Can't be bothered to post an image.
What interface language do you use?

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:38 pm

26November2011

Greetings.

I did not have that button displayed before Nikata's post but added that button after Nikata's post.
Thanks for the tips link.

I download/use the Avant2012 USB version.
I was using the default eng.lng file (English-US).
(I didn't realize I could tweak that - or any .lng file how I would like.)
Anyway, the eng.lng file entry is &Tools, but my AvB displays Tools.
I changed Exit to E&xit in eng.lng, but AvB still only displayed Exit not Exit.

I switched to euk.lng, and AvB switched to Tools.
I changed Exit to E&xit in euk.lng, and AvB now displays Exit not Exit;
so I am going to full customize & use the euk.lng file.

I guess there is some bug with the eng.lng file ...

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:34 pm

30November2011

Greetings.

This week I added the DefaultFullZoomLevel extension to my local/portable MFF 8.01 install -
mainly because DFZL has a Fit to Width option.
I then tried DFZL on my local/portable AvB 2012ß8,
but DFZL does not work on my local/portable AvB 2012ß8.

Running Firefox under AvB is of limited value if extensions don't/won't work.

I then tried the AvB built-in zoom funciton on some Gecko rendered webpages,
but AvB built-in zoom only seems to work on IE/Trident rendered webpages.

Running Firefox under AvB is of even less value if AvB GUI options don't/won't work.

It would be nice if AvB would develop/implement a native Fit to Width feature.
It would be nice if MFF extensions would work with AvB2012 ...

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: re AvB2012

Post by xiaobing » Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:44 am

I then tried the AvB built-in zoom funciton on some Gecko rendered webpages,
but AvB built-in zoom only seems to work on IE/Trident rendered webpages.
Why did you say that?

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:00 pm

What?

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: re AvB2012

Post by xiaobing » Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:53 am

The build-in zoom feature works both in IE and firefox rendering engines.
It doesn't work in your computer? Can you tell me more detailed?

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:57 am

5December2011
I am using AvB2012ß8 USB version.
The MFF zoom plugin does not work.
The built-in AvB zoom only works on IE6 rendered pages.
I have had the issues described in this thread & elsewhere ...

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 1:25 pm

AEN007 wrote:2) It would be nice if AvB had an MRU Ctrl-Tab popup.
The MFF add-on I use in MFF does not work at all in AvB.
4) The "portable" AvB has to read
C:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles.ini
to know the location of the gecko profile.
It seems to me the "portable" AvB should be able to read Profiles.ini from the AvB "install" location.
I have customized my AvB Gecko profile location(s).
My AvB portable would not use my Gecko profiles if I was not on my machines with
C:\Documents and Settings\...\Applicatiofn Data\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles.ini ...
I would like to reiterate the two above points and add the following»
It would be nice if the "Windows" menu item assigned &hotkeys to each open tab ...
that would be a quick-fix for the lacking MRU Ctrl-Tab popup.
Same goes for the list of "Recently open pages" ...

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:39 am

AEN007 wrote:4) The "portable" AvB has to read
C:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles.ini
to know the location of the gecko profile.
It seems to me the "portable" AvB should be able to read Profiles.ini from the AvB "install" location.
I have customized my AvB Gecko profile location(s).
My AvB portable would not use my Gecko profiles if I was not on my machines with
C:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\Mozilla\Avant\Profiles.ini ...
The AvB 2012.21 USB download sections says,
This version saves all user profiles in the same folder of Avant Browser Application.
but that is INCORRECT.
Nothing has changed regarding the AvB Gecko profile read/writes to C:\Documents and Settings -
which is ridiculous ... pathetic ...
Apparently Avant does not know how to properly create a USB app ...

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: re AvB2012

Post by Jasmine » Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:51 am

AEN007 wrote: Nothing has changed regarding the AvB Gecko profile read/writes to C:\Documents and Settings -
which is ridiculous ... pathetic ...
Apparently Avant does not know how to properly create a USB app ...
This problem is already recorded. We will let you know if it gets fixed.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:20 pm

19February2012
AEN007 wrote:Nothing has changed regarding the AvB Gecko profile read/writes to C:\Documents and Settings ...
I determined the preceding by unzipping the AvB USB download & launching Avant.exe
(instead of launching Avant.exe AFTER updating my USB "install" directory).
I WON'T be doing that again ... at least not until there is some way
to launch a newly unzipped Avant.exe without having Avant.exe
make a dozen or so writes to the registry that make Avant the default for HTTP & etc ...
Any helpful replies/insights appreciated ...
AEN007 wrote:I would like to ... add the following»
It would be nice if the "Windows" menu item assigned &hotkeys to each open tab ...
that would be a quick-fix for the lacking MRU Ctrl-Tab popup.
Same goes for the list of "Recently open pages" ...

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:49 am

22March2012

This AvB hotkey list seems a bit incomplete»AvBHKs
ALT-S is NOT listed but always moves focus to the search box.
CTRL-K is NOT listed but always switches (on my XP laptops) the current tab to google.???

CTRL-K is the MFF hotkey to go to the search box, so I often accidentally hit CTRL-K while in AvB.
Where/why is CTRL-K set in AvB?
Why are the above combos not on the list?
What other combos are not listed?

Is there some way to customize AvB hotkeys?

When I do CTRL-K in MFF and then hit ENTER in an empty search box,
MFF loads up the homepage for my selected search provider.
AvB does NOT, but I wish I could set AvB to do that as well.

In MFF when I search in the main GUI section (NOT the search box),
those searches do NOT appear in the search box MRU list.
That is 1 reason why I always search from the main GUI section & never search from the search box.
I would prefer if I could set AvB to NOT put search items entered in the main GUI section into the search box ...

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: re AvB2012

Post by xiaobing » Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:15 am

CTRL-K is NOT listed but always switches (on my XP laptops) the current tab to google.???
There is no such a shortcut in Avant browser. It may come from the firefox engine since this shortcut only works under firefox rendering engine.
Is there some way to customize AvB hotkeys?
Cannot customize shortcuts in Avant browser so far.
This AvB hotkey list seems a bit incomplete»AvBHKs
The Help is too old and hasn't been updated for a long time.

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: re AvB2012

Post by Jasmine » Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:18 am

xiaobing, at least "CTRL + Shift + Delete Open Clear Records window" has been added.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: re AvB2012

Post by AEN007 » Fri Apr 13, 2012 11:51 am

Jasmine wrote:
AEN007 wrote: Nothing has changed regarding the AvB Gecko profile read/writes from/to C:\Documents and Settings - ...
This problem is already recorded. We will let you know if it gets fixed.
According to the following»
AvB told NO ONE about having published a fix for this problem ...

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: re AvB2012

Post by Jasmine » Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:58 am

AEN007 wrote: I download/use the Avant2012 USB version.
I was using the default eng.lng file (English-US).
(I didn't realize I could tweak that - or any .lng file how I would like.)
Anyway, the eng.lng file entry is &Tools, but my AvB displays Tools.
I changed Exit to E&xit in eng.lng, but AvB still only displayed Exit not Exit.

I switched to euk.lng, and AvB switched to Tools.
I changed Exit to E&xit in euk.lng, and AvB now displays Exit not Exit;
so I am going to full customize & use the euk.lng file.


I guess there is some bug with the eng.lng file ...
If the default language is English United States, after starting ab, it uses the language integrated to the program(there is template integrated to the program same as the eng.lng under the directory Lang). After switching to other languages and switching back, it will call the eng.lng save in the disk. I assume that's why it can't recognize the modification.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Post Reply