Underline link

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Underline link

Post by mathman » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:33 pm

In Firefox and Orca when returning to a page after visiting a link, the last link reference is underlined. In the current Avant (in Firefox mode) I would like to be able to have the same thing. How do I do it, if at all possible? If not, please include it.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Fri Oct 28, 2011 8:25 pm

Correction: The reference is by a dotted line box around the link.

Julien90
Fan
Fan
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:33 am
Windows Version: win7 32 bit/IE9 xp pro
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: Underline link

Post by Julien90 » Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:39 am

I don't see the dotted line in my firefox and orca???

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:01 am

In Firefox, it is an option. Tools->Options->Content->Colors. There is a box to be checked to underline links.

In Orca, it seems to be just there in my version.

Julien90
Fan
Fan
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:33 am
Windows Version: win7 32 bit/IE9 xp pro
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: Underline link

Post by Julien90 » Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:25 am

mathman wrote:In Firefox, it is an option. Tools->Options->Content->Colors. There is a box to be checked to underline links.
This option doesn't work in both my firefox and Avant browser. I checked the option "Underline links" but none of my links underlined :crazy:

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:55 am

There is a line in that box which says "Allow pages ...." Uncheck it may help. However, in my version of Firefox (current version) I could leave it checked and I still get a dashed rectangle enclosing the last link. I usually leave it unchecked for the color options.

I am as puzzled as you are, since the dashed rectangle appears in Firefox and Orca (old standalone version), but not in Avant with the Firefox rendering engine.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:07 am

I am now in the IE9 Standards Rendering engine. The dotted line around the last link appears.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:23 pm

Is there any plan to fix the Firefox engine so that the dotted line around last visit will appear? For now I just use the old Orca when I need this. Alternatively When using the IE engine, make spell check automatic - this is why I continue to use Orca.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Underline link

Post by xiaobing » Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:32 am

I downloaded orca 1.2.6 but didn't see the dotted line under the link. If we cannot reporduce this problem, it will difficult for our developer to fix it. Seems there isn't any option to set it?

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:43 pm

I can't find any option either, although it has to do with tabs. However, the dotted line does appear using the IE rendering. It also appears using firefox, so I am at a loss myself.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:10 pm

I just realized a possible explanation. There are two different ways to open a link and return.

1) Left click on the link, and use the back arrow to return.
2) Shift and left click (or middle button click on a three button mouse), and click on the x for the open tab to return to the previous tab.

When using method 1) the dotted enclosure DOES NOT appear.
When using method 2) the dotted enclosure appears.

I almost always use method 2), particularly when I know I intend to return to the previous tab.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Underline link

Post by xiaobing » Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:12 am

Yes, method 2 works, but it also works in my Avant 2012 build 8 (firefox engine)
dot.JPG
P.S. Drag and drop also works.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Wed Nov 23, 2011 12:13 pm

Mystery?? Method 2 does not work for me using Avant 2012 build 8 (Firefox engine). I notice you are on XP. I am on Windows 7. My other (old) computer is on XP - I will check to see if it makes any difference.

P.S. What is "drag and drop"?

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Wed Nov 23, 2011 12:29 pm

I am now using my XP machine. I still don't get the enclosing dotted line. It is a complete mystery.

Revise answer - I am here in two steps. Index page -> View Forum -> Edit post. Returning from third to second stage enclosure does appear, from second to first it does not. Maybe it has to do with when I switched from IE rendering to Firefox rendering?

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:10 pm

I tested, on the Windows 7 machine, the same sequence as in the previous note. I got the identical result! It has nothing to do with the Windows version. I don't understand why the enclosure does not appear when going back from the second to the first tab.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:17 pm

Just to confirm what is going on. I went back to IE9 rendering and the dotted enclosure appeared in both returns.

User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Underline link

Post by brawnymike » Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:45 pm

"Drag & drop", when used in reference to opening a link in a new tab, means using the mouse to click on the link and, without releasing, drag the mouse (even just a little bit) away from that spot. AB will interpret that as a directive to open the link elsewhere.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:23 am

Latest update on Firefox rendering engine. It appears unstable. I tried using it for a while on one of my Forums. It started out working OK, but then it suddenly got hung up. After geting it to continue, the dotted rectangle stopped appearing!

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Underline link

Post by mathman » Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:25 am

brawnymike wrote:"Drag & drop", when used in reference to opening a link in a new tab, means using the mouse to click on the link and, without releasing, drag the mouse (even just a little bit) away from that spot. AB will interpret that as a directive to open the link elsewhere.
Will the new tab open on top of the old tab or as a separate tab (case 1 or case 2 in my previous note)?

I just tried it - it resembles case 2 (separate tab).

Nikata
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 2:16 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 build 16
IE Version: 8

Re: Underline link

Post by Nikata » Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:56 am

Shift and left click/ click middle mouse button/ drag and drop all open webpage in a new tab, so I think the dotted line only works when you open a link in a new tab.

Post Reply