using AdBlock add-on

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
mekd
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 5:14 pm
Avant Version:

using AdBlock add-on

Post by mekd » Mon Aug 01, 2011 5:07 pm

I have found that the Avant built-in ad blocker is not suffice for the new pop-up ads.
I had downloaded and install AdBlock Simple which is an IE add-on.
Now when I open IE I can see the AdBlock icon and it really helps blocking many pop-ups, but although I have selected this add-on on Avant options, it doesn't seem to operate in Avant nor there is any icon of it in the status bar.

Is there a way to use this add on in Avant?

Thanks

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by Jasmine » Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:53 am

Hello, we're not sure, but will look into it.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

mekd
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 5:14 pm
Avant Version:

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by mekd » Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:26 pm

Anything new regarding this issue?

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by Jasmine » Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:42 am

Hello,in progress.
I'm not sure whether this add-on could be supported yet, to improve Avant's AD Blocker is another option for us. AdBlock add-on is not totally free right? What I can tell for the moment is that we're tyring to find a way to improve the poor capability in blocking ads.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

mekd
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 5:14 pm
Avant Version:

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by mekd » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:07 am

AdBlock simple, is free.

superfly86
Fan
Fan
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:18 pm
Avant Version:

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by superfly86 » Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:06 am

Avant should have use lists which are used by adblock and add possibility to update chosen lists automatically or manually
the same with blocked windows, there should be filter lists created by users.
Server should show what lists are ready to download and use and with avant we should be able to download and use one or more lists

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by AXEMAN » Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:04 pm

Just download a add blocker separate from avant that is free there are several to choose from they work. :)

superfly86
Fan
Fan
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:18 pm
Avant Version:

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by superfly86 » Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:42 pm

that's not good idea,
It was stupid what you said in that case instead of having complete and great browser we should
- watch youtube videos on separate player
- use external flash player
- use external ad/pop blocker
- use dictionary to translate what specific function means
- use external backup app
- use external rss app
- use esternal favs app
because if other developers had attitude like you there would be no upgraded apps,
why should i do ? others will do that
why should i care what users want ?
Is this correct ?
This is wrong
Browser shoyld be complete and advanced tool which will provide all necessary functions and comfort while browsing net

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by AXEMAN » Mon Sep 19, 2011 8:03 pm

If you are calling me stupid your a idiot they already know what the problem and look at all the time you asked the same questions about orca and what i said does work it would only be til the problem.Is fixed :twisted: :thumbdown:

cherry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 4:52 am
Windows Version: win7
Avant Version: 2011 alpha 1
IE Version: 9

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by cherry » Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:03 am

:shh: don't be rude. Everyone has an opinion. As far as I'm concerned adblocker plus the firefox extension is good enough. It works perfectly with avant browser 2012 :thumbup: .

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: using AdBlock add-on

Post by AXEMAN » Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:03 pm

cherry wrote::shh: don't be rude. Everyone has an opinion. As far as I'm concerned adblocker plus the firefox extension is good enough. It works perfectly with avant browser 2012 :thumbup: .
Sorry i was not being rude or trying to be rude the guy said it was stupid i would never say that to anyone i lost my temper very sorry.

Post Reply