Tab Alias

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
kirbyk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:47 pm
Avant Version:

Tab Alias

Post by kirbyk » Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:09 am

One feature that Slim Browser has that I like and wish Avant would incorporate: aliases for tabs. How this works is you can designate for a particular domain an alias that shows up on the tab instead of the page title. For example, let's say hypothetically you visit cnn.com and the page title is really long ("Cable News Network, Your Source for Breaking News"); you could give an alias of CNN and that's all that would appear on the tab anywhere in that domain. It makes for nice readable tabs (and narrower tabs), particularly for those sites you vist often and would be interested in taking the time to enter an alias.

Initially, that's what I thought the URL Alias would be and I was glad, but they have no bearing on the tabs, much to my dismay.

As a returnee to Avant after time away for Slim Browser, this is one feature I really miss and would love to see in Avant.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Tab Alias

Post by abfan123 » Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:50 pm

Hello,
You're able to achieve something close to this with the following addon:
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 58&t=22300
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

kirbyk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:47 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Tab Alias

Post by kirbyk » Wed Nov 19, 2008 4:33 pm

Thanks, but I can't get that to work at all. The only thing that will appear in the tab is "null". I set it to prompt me for a name, but it doesn't happen. Can't click or right-click on the tab to get any viable options to change the tab's name to something I want.

In Slim Browser it's ridiculously easy: right-click on the tab, choose (I believe) "Site Alias" and give it a name (indicating whether it's for the entire domain or just part of it).

Hope we can get something like that here. It's the one thing I really miss from Slim Browser. (Otherwise, I'm quite happy with Avant).

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Tab Alias

Post by abfan123 » Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:07 pm

First go here:
aba://forum.avantbrowser.com/download/file.php?id=379
Then, Here:
aba://forum.avantbrowser.com/download/file.php?id=380
Then, Here:
aba://forum.avantbrowser.com/download/file.php?id=377
Then, Please go to Tools>Avant Browser Options...>Add-ons>Add-ons and check the helper & cookies.
Reload the page and click the Title Changer button on the addon buttons bar.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

kirbyk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:47 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Tab Alias

Post by kirbyk » Wed Nov 19, 2008 6:25 pm

It only works on some sites, and the cookie part doesn't work, since nothing is retained; when I return to the page, my name for it went away. Thanks anyway.

Again, Slim Browser handles this one issue so well, and it's a one-time thing to give a domain an alias, and it stays there for good. Hope to see something like it in Avant.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Tab Alias

Post by abfan123 » Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:38 pm

Well, I've just tested, And it seems like this script doesn't work too well.
I'll try to either rewrite it or create a new one.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Post Reply