Multithread Avant

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by abfan123 » Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:35 pm

Psykocyber wrote:Exaclty. Avant fails where IE succeeds.
In IE you can watch video while loading pages in the background, but not in Avant. And that is not even a threading problem. Avant stalls on many pages where no other browser have a problem.
But I can watch Youtube videos when a lot of tabs are loading in background. Have you tried to disable the ads blocker?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Psykocyber
Fan
Fan
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:04 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3, Vista SP1, Win 7
Avant Version: V11.7 B21
IE Version: IE7 & IE8
Location: Denmark

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by Psykocyber » Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:32 pm

Danish translator of Avant Browser, Folder2MyPC, Folderico & Google

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by AXEMAN » Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:48 pm

I am sorry still stuck on this statement [OK, enough about that] lol lol lol

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by abfan123 » Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:01 pm

Psykocyber wrote:Try watching http://www.gametrailers.com/player/42751.html while loading http://edbpriser.dk
I'm unable to play this movie in neither IE nor Avant regardless off what websites are loading in background. I'm only able to see the ad before the movie just fine. Then there's a script error.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Psykocyber
Fan
Fan
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:04 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3, Vista SP1, Win 7
Avant Version: V11.7 B21
IE Version: IE7 & IE8
Location: Denmark

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by Psykocyber » Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:06 pm

The movie works fine @ me.
Danish translator of Avant Browser, Folder2MyPC, Folderico & Google

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by statm1 » Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:43 pm

I'm pretty sure this subject is subjective. I've personally had the same buffering problems in every browser in the past.

Flowrush, you have "never" had a buffer problem in any other browser? Same for you psykocyber.
Image
-- Matt --

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by abfan123 » Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:26 am

Well, It seems to work fine now.
I've tried to open 3 tabs with http://edbpriser.dk/ while watching this movie and it worked fine.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by statm1 » Tue Nov 18, 2008 4:36 am

See subjective!
Image
-- Matt --

xxl
Banned
Banned
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:20 pm
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: xp
IE Version: 5

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by xxl » Thu Nov 27, 2008 12:38 pm

Psykocyber wrote:A big job, but multithreading Avant/Orca would hopefully remove the annoyance of having the entire browser to stall, just because one tab is using a lot of processing power.

Watching a video in one tab while surfing in another is impossible due to constant stalls.
As the threads creator is it not surprising that I 100% agree.

kc.^^v
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:57 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by kc.^^v » Mon Dec 22, 2008 6:18 am

I for one support the idea of having multithread in Avant. Like in Google Chrome, I would like to know how much resources each of the tabs is using and kill them if not needed.

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by flowrush » Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:59 pm

statm1 wrote:I'm pretty sure this subject is subjective. I've personally had the same buffering problems in every browser in the past.

Flowrush, you have "never" had a buffer problem in any other browser? Same for you psykocyber.
Sorry about the delayed response, but yes I have had buffering problems in other browsers, but it is not consistent like in Avant. If there is ever an issue I can fire up IE(7) and 9 times out of 10, the video loads fine. CNN is really the only site where there is an outstanding issue with the video which still, to this day, has not been resolved.

User avatar
Orion6140624
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 4:22 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 45
IE Version: 8.0
Location: Guyana, South America
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by Orion6140624 » Tue Dec 30, 2008 5:05 pm

I used Avant for about 5 years until I decided to try Orca about a month ago and since then it's my default browser. I still keep my Avant updated but I hardly use it. Even though Orca has several bugs, IMO it's still better than Avant by far, no more stalls!! And the addons makes it even better. I only wish it didn't take so long to get an official version out. Would have been kool if it was Open Source.

User avatar
hlndr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 9:49 am
Windows Version: Win XP Home
Avant Version: n/a
IE Version: 8
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by hlndr » Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:41 am

Orion6140624 wrote:I used Avant for about 5 years until I decided to try Orca about a month ago and since then it's my default browser. I still keep my Avant updated but I hardly use it. Even though Orca has several bugs, IMO it's still better than Avant by far, no more stalls!! And the addons makes it even better. I only wish it didn't take so long to get an official version out. Would have been kool if it was Open Source.
Is Orca like Avant in that you can change where the tabs are displayed....(I like mine on the bottom of the page and so far...Avant is the only tabbed browser I have found that lets you do that.
Whoever said that anything is possible
never tried to slam a revolving door.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by André » Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:48 am

Yes. You can put the tabs on the bottom.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by real name » Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:46 am

+1 vote for multithreading
p.s. i have videos disabled = jscript is enough to freeze browser for minute (there was another thread about this), even without it mt is required

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by real name » Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:50 am

Orion6140624 wrote:Even though Orca has several bugs, IMO it's still better than Avant by far, no more stalls!!
after weekend tests i'm moving this direction too

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by ftboomer » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:37 pm

I completely moved over to Orca several months ago. I love the Flash blocker with the ads blocker. The only thing Orca is missing is RoboForm support but I realize that is not Orca's fault.

+1 for Multithreading
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by abfan123 » Mon Sep 21, 2009 4:24 pm

I forgot the last time Avant Browser crashed or become unresponsive on Windows 7.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Multithread Avant

Post by statm1 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 11:43 am

The only thing that has ever crashed Avant for me, to my knowledge, are ads.. There are just some ads that Avant does not like when trying to load a page and it just sits there churning and if you try to do anything it crashes.. But, then its random on which ad is going to do it. Btw, this is more on Vista then on 7..
Image
-- Matt --

Post Reply