Option to disable variable tab width

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

toy4rick
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:08 pm
Avant Version:

Display tabs in multiple rows

Post by toy4rick » Fri Aug 15, 2008 11:39 pm

Hello,

I would like to be able to view many tabs without them shrinking so much they become worthless. Firefox has a feature where you can specify the number of rows that tabs can fill up before scrolling options appear. By setting the minimum width for each tab, they only get so small before a new row automatically appears until the maximum number of rows is filled, then scrolling can be used.

Thoughts?

Toy4Rick
Last edited by André on Sat Aug 16, 2008 12:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Post merged.

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by flowrush » Fri Sep 05, 2008 2:10 pm

Jasmine wrote:This request is under consideration and it's only a matter of time.
Only a matter of time. I hope to the heavens above that this can come back sooner than later.

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by notestracker » Sun Sep 14, 2008 1:08 pm

Hey, that's great news, Jasmine. ... Hao ji le, xie xie. =D>

Now, the only other thing I need is my request (in another thread some months ago) to be able to right click on a tab and open that page in a new Avant broswer. I hope that Anderson gets time for that too, we musn't let him take life too easy! :wink:
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by flowrush » Sun Sep 28, 2008 9:06 pm

Can we discuss if this is still under consideration or if it's already going in a version in the near future?

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by notestracker » Mon Sep 29, 2008 3:29 am

谁都 你好吗

The fantastic Beijing Olypmic and Paralympic Games are now finished, the taikonaut Zhai Zhigange has walked in space and come back down, so now all we need for "Avantonaut" Anderson to complete the mission is to disable variable-width tabs!

Let us all pray: [-o<
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

toy4rick
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:08 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by toy4rick » Sat Oct 18, 2008 3:12 pm

Any chance this is being consider, soon???

Toy4Rick


notestracker wrote:谁都 你好吗

The fantastic Beijing Olypmic and Paralympic Games are now finished, the taikonaut Zhai Zhigange has walked in space and come back down, so now all we need for "Avantonaut" Anderson to complete the mission is to disable variable-width tabs!

Let us all pray: [-o<

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by Jasmine » Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:58 am

Hehe, it could be realized in future build 12 and about the end of this year.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by statm1 » Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:02 pm

Don't you mean a future build after build 15 Jasmine?
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by André » Tue Oct 21, 2008 3:15 am

I'm thinking she means version 12.x Build x as in, the next version after 11.x Build x.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by statm1 » Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:50 pm

Maybe..
Image
-- Matt --

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by Jasmine » Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:49 am

DrDrrae wrote:I'm thinking she means version 12.x Build x as in, the next version after 11.x Build x.
Oh, sorry,yes, that's what I mean.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by flowrush » Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:02 pm

Any chance of a New Years present since Christmas has already come and gone? :P

Just curious how development is coming along since there really isn't any blogs that would point the direction Avant is heading or the next thing's on "to-do" list Anderson is working on.

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by ElimGarak » Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:31 pm

Possibly next step will be to remove some other option HE thinks we don't need. Then he'll have someone promising it will be back in next build and ignore all complains when this will not happen. History repeating. What will be next one? Let me see... which one I use the most is STILL there? Ah, yes! SHIFT+Left click to open a new tab in the background! :-(


A quick list:

Groups (OK... nobody still hopes about them returning, actually)
Tabs width
Text size button

At least we had function buttons back in the upper right corner, but that was REALLY too much! ^__^

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by ElimGarak » Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:46 pm

Someone could say: "Ehy, quit the moaning! He's doing it for free!"
Well... that's not entirely true since he accepts donations. So at least his intention is to make a few bucks, which is perfectly legitimate.
Few weeks ago I considered the idea of offering a donation, then I found he removed text size button.
Well... I dediced I won't be donating anything until AndersonChe shows that he is working for the users and not for HIMSELF. He wants to remove features we are all used to without asking and letting us wait MONTHS to have them back (if ever)? OK, but then this is the evidence he doesn't care about the users so why should we?
I was a HUGE fan of AB and still now I install to every PC i put my hands on (friends, relatives... I'm the official tech support for them ^__^) but I'm starting to look around to see if I find something better.
I'm really disappointed by Che's behaviour and I am not the only one. The only thing preventing me to switch to some other browser now is lazyness...

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by André » Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:54 pm

Right now, Anderson is finishing up Orca 1.1.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

toy4rick
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:08 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by toy4rick » Fri Jan 02, 2009 5:16 am

Why Orca when AB isn't finished? What is so special about Orca that I might want to try it? OK, so I have and it looks like AB. Will we be starting from scratch with issues and requests?

Toy4Rick

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by André » Fri Jan 02, 2009 7:35 am

One could argue that no piece of software is ever "finished" so when would you like Anderson to work on Orca? When the browser has all the features that you want? What about what he wants?
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by statm1 » Mon Jan 05, 2009 10:10 pm

Toy4rick.. Orca looks like Avant because the only difference is that it uses the Gecko rendering engine. The same engine that Firefox uses. It was never supposed to "look" any different.
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by flowrush » Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:44 am

DrDrrae wrote:One could argue that no piece of software is ever "finished" so when would you like Anderson to work on Orca? When the browser has all the features that you want? What about what he wants?
i agree with your point but the irony is that this was already a previous feature of Avant and I don't see how difficult or how much time it can possibly take to integrate back in. Just doesn't make much sense if you ask me considering that Avant hardly ever gets any 'real' features added anyhow, mostly just bug fixing.

User avatar
flowrush
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:43 am
Windows Version: Win7.64bit.HP
Avant Version: 2010b122
IE Version: 8.0.6001

Re: Option to disable variable tab width

Post by flowrush » Thu May 20, 2010 2:01 am

Appear's this request has not made it into version 12, including the multi-rowed tabs. *sigh*

Post Reply