Make System Buttons movable

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

monkeydonor
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 11:48 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Long Beach, CA

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by monkeydonor » Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:55 pm

I agree, also.
If these buttons were able to be placed back at the top, where they're out of the way, it would be much more practical.

I would hate to return to an older version, just for the sake of those buttons, but I used them constantly.
"The great enemy of clear language is insincerity" - George Orwell

yangks
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:49 am
Avant Version:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by yangks » Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:47 am

I vote for the idea of making the system buttons movable. It makes people irritating to have so little space for the tabs. At the bottom, you right click the tabs, there is a close option. In another way, you can double click on the tabs to close it. Or another way is to use the mouse gestures to close a window.
So it may seem a bit redundant to put at the bottom.

In my opinion, it should be made movable to suit all people. :D

Old version of avant browser:
avantbrowser setup version 11.0 Build 46.exe
http://www.mediafire.com/?bjsttv9ebhf

bldrdrms
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:20 pm
Windows Version: win 7
Avant Version: bld 108
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: aluminum

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by bldrdrms » Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:49 pm

Is no one listening this is a BIG deal! Im stuck on 11.0 because of it.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by bigC » Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:25 pm

Yes. From earlier in this thread,
Jasmine wrote:Anderson knows your ideas.
Make system buttons moveable is possible. But there would be a big change on skinmaker or somewhere else accordingly. So he would like do that later when he plans to release a brand-new Avant just like 11.5

reubensr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:05 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by reubensr » Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:34 pm

Including mine, there are now 86 posts in this thread, almost every one asking, or more correctly pleading, to make the system buttons moveable. This may be one of the most asked for changes. NOBODY likes it the way it is. but the only answer we get is SOMEDAY, MAYBE. I hope I live long enough to see it, but I am not optimistic. :(

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by Dreamer » Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:51 pm

Do you know about the (working) workaround (for "close")?
Dreamer

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by Sara » Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:45 am

I'm using it--download it here: http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 58&t=21237 . Then go to View->Toolbar and check Add-on buttons. Unlock the Toolbars and move the button (use the three dots to it's left) to where you want it.

Sara :D

Bateyes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:06 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by Bateyes » Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:02 pm

Sara wrote:I'm using it--download it here: http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 58&t=21237 . Then go to View->Toolbar and check Add-on buttons. Unlock the Toolbars and move the button (use the three dots to it's left) to where you want it.

Sara :D
It only works with the close button, right? I havn't tried it, but I would also need the other buttons on top.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by bigC » Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:30 pm

Bateyes wrote:
Sara wrote:I'm using it--download it here: http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 58&t=21237 . Then go to View->Toolbar and check Add-on buttons. Unlock the Toolbars and move the button (use the three dots to it's left) to where you want it.

Sara :D
It only works with the close button, right?
Yes

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by ElimGarak » Sun Sep 30, 2007 10:00 pm

It seems our voices went unheard once again. I'm really disappointed by this unrespectful way of doing things. It's already 3 months and a half that we are requesting system buttons and tab width to be reverted as they were and we had a bunch of builds in between but nothing was solved (and it took nothing more than take a step back, not to do something new). I decided to give Avant one last chance with the next build, but if these issues won't be solved (I lost every hope about groups feature and I'm NOT happy at all about it) I'll quit with it and start looking for another browser. Seems like AndersonChe attitude is to wait until people stops complaining. Well... people KEEPS complaining about groups after a year and will keep complaining about these issues for a long time. The only ones who do not complain are the ones who quitted. I hope not to become one of them.

User avatar
ADukes
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 635
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:53 am
Windows Version: Windows XP Pro SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 19
IE Version: Internet Explorer 7

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by ADukes » Sun Sep 30, 2007 10:16 pm

I guess you have to wait for 11.6 and not the next build.
Thanks Anderson for checking out my AB 11.0 feature request list,
now it's time to go on with 11.8:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=16116
Image
Windows XP SP2, IE7, AB 11.7 build 19

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:34 am

I guess I can, unless of course it takes another 6 months. ;-)

bo3adsa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:43 pm
Avant Version: 11.0 build46

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by bo3adsa » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:48 pm

I'm still using 11.0 sue to this issue…. I will NEVER update my Avant until I have this option back… this is what make Avant Browser my favorite …

curry

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by curry » Mon Dec 10, 2007 2:21 pm

agreed... want them back where i want them to have xD

still using Avant 10.2.52 because of this issue :)

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by ftboomer » Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:14 pm

Anyone know how to add systems type buttons to FireFox?
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
kurai
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 8:11 am
Avant Version:

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by kurai » Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:34 pm

Well - here we all are, 7 months later, up to version 11.6 build 04 (beta) and no sign at all of this issue being addressed.

PLEASE, Anderson - I'm on my knees begging you to look at this issue - I'm still stuck on version 11.0 build 46 because of it :cry:

bo3adsa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:43 pm
Avant Version: 11.0 build46

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by bo3adsa » Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:22 am

me 2 :(

sarab99
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:52 pm
Windows Version: XP SP2
Avant Version: 11.5 build 21
IE Version: 6

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by sarab99 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:20 pm

please allow the system buttons to be movable

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by André » Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:04 am

System buttons will be movable in the next version of Avant Browser, 11.6 Beta/Build 06 which should be out soon.

Quote from another topic:
Jasmine wrote:The icons beside the tabs are movable in the new version of Avant and Avant 11.6 build 06 is coming soon....
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
kurai
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 8:11 am
Avant Version:

Re: Make System Buttons movable

Post by kurai » Fri Feb 29, 2008 3:59 pm

Excellent news - I can finally upgrade from my ancient build :D

Post Reply