Make System Buttons movable

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Lord Chaos
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 1:48 pm
Windows Version: Windows Vista 64 Bit
Avant Version: Ver. 11.5 Build 21
IE Version: IE 7

Post by Lord Chaos » Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:52 am

I agree, please allow the system buttons to be movable, that way we can put it back at the top instead of being with the tabs.

I use tabs at the bottom of the screen too, very annoying to have the buttons down there.

mcvpjd3
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:54 am
Avant Version:

Post by mcvpjd3 » Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:41 am

Lord Chaos wrote:I agree, please allow the system buttons to be movable, that way we can put it back at the top instead of being with the tabs.

I use tabs at the bottom of the screen too, very annoying to have the buttons down there.
Me too.... These buttons should be at the top where normal "Close" buttons are.

ramseyle
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 6:40 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by ramseyle » Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:14 pm

I am also voitng for these buttons to be moveable! Make them their own toolbar so they can be placed where we want them.
Thanks - otherwise, I love the browser!

Pyrotech
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:32 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: MI, USA

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by Pyrotech » Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:51 pm

i have to agree with everyone, we should have MORE costomizablitly not LESS! and the new botton design is just plain annoying, i want to be able move my toolbars where i want them! another thing: there should be a option to disable closing the tab with a double click, when i'm on my new labtop i'm always accidentaly double clicking. why is there no way to disable this?

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by ABman » Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:10 pm

Pyrotech wrote:another thing: there should be a option to disable closing the tab with a double click, when i'm on my new labtop i'm always accidentaly double clicking. why is there no way to disable this?
Have you looked at Tools/Avant Browser Options/Mouse?

Pyrotech
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:32 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: MI, USA

Post by Pyrotech » Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:20 pm

I had looked there but now that you mentioned it i looked closer and found the option, thx

dink-
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:28 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by dink- » Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:34 am

just putting my two cents in to add to the majority - ive used avant for years and always had the system buttons at the top right. please make them movable again in the next build!!! thanks for all your hard work developers. no other complaints, best browser ever made.

WAY
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:47 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by WAY » Wed Jun 20, 2007 5:09 pm

I lost my active page "close buttons," on the right upper corner. It seems the update took use back to 95 windows in comparison. We lost quick to use Icons and we are losing our screen view by how much a few Icons must use a whole complete line.

The convenience that we liked about avant is turning into a uncontrolled screen hog and if you cut it down it would be hard to find anything and who has time for this might as well go back to DOS. I can't brag to others about this browser.

Im going to be be looking for a more friendly and what advant had,no more updates for me.

WAY
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:47 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by WAY » Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:41 pm

I just reinstall ver11 build 45 and works as it shouldI have no idea or time to find new places they hide the settings .
I spent an hour looking and comparing to my other pc's old setup and found nothing for new settup. The old Ver 11 b 45 is more covenient unless, someone tells me how to put -. and closing icon on the upper corner with the close browser button.

I know it is an oversite in rebuild but it was my favorite reason why I loved it. I hope you rebuild with the old ver 11 build 45

mini 850
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:27 am
Avant Version:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by mini 850 » Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:30 pm

Just a tip for everyone else who keeps shutting the whole browser down instead of the page they were viewing

goto:-

Tools

AB Options

Exiting

Then select:-

Prompt to save open pages

This asks a question before closing and gives you a chance to cancel

Chri5peed
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:25 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Chri5peed » Thu Jun 21, 2007 1:04 pm

I don't know why they changed this. You've always closed windows in the top right corner.

mekd
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 5:14 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by mekd » Thu Jun 21, 2007 3:39 pm

I have been reading the requests for more than a year now, and i didn't see any request for a change of the close icon from the upper right corner. So why change it?
For me its a big problem and I have tried to adjust to the new Avant without success.
Please, allow the option to change the location.

User avatar
Tekk
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 5:15 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: IE 8
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Contact:

Re: Please Make System Buttons Moveable Again?

Post by Tekk » Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:25 pm

Before I add a request to the list, I do want to thank the programmer Anderson Che, who has worked so hard to make Avant Browser my favorite, and most useful browser I have ever used. In 11.5.b8 I especially like the ability to "Close Checked," the feature in the Window Tabs toolbar System Buttons drop-menu, which lets you look at your list of Open Windows, and uncheck the ones you want to keep open, whereupon clicking the [ok] button forces all of the Windows remaining checked to close, keeping the few you are still working with open. I use between 10-30 Window document Tabs open at a time while researching a topic, so when I need to narrow it down to 2,3, or 4 Window document Tabs to recover space, I don't have to look at each Window one at a time to do so, and worry about accidentally closing one of the Window document Tabs I am still using.

I just noticed build 9 is available, and I haven't installed it yet. This build 8 has used the least memory, or memory leaks, of any Avant Browser version I can remember! Again, THANK YOU!! THANK YOU Anderson, and any other programmers, if there are any.

PLEASE PUT THE SYSTEM BUTTONS IN A PLACEABLE SYSTEM BAR, as has been done in all of the previous versions of Avant I have used since 2003?

I like everything else about this new browser I think, except for the fact that the Other System Buttons can't be moved, for myself into the top Active Title Bar, as could formerly be done in the Compact Style.

For that matter, Compact Style doesn't even work for me anymore, (using Internet Explorer 6 with Service Pack, and latest updates and security downloads, and Windows XP Pro SP 2, latest Microsoft Updates and Security, Avant 11.5.b8. In build 8, Compact Style just moves the Menu Bar to the Active Title Bar, and then that Menu Bar is not placeable. Other toolbars cannot be dragged into the Active Title Bar either, as they could in previous versions of Avant Browser's Compact Style. Hasn't ANYONE noticed this, I haven't read about it in any of the other posts yet? I mainly read about the absence of a [X] Close All Windows button in Full Screen or Compact Style, in the new Avant Forum topics.

I know that the System Buttons are in the "Customize Buttons" toolbar context menu, on the Other Buttons page, but that makes them appear on the Window document Tabs toolbar. Whether I place the Window document Tabs on the Bottom or the Top, I don't like the System Bar Buttons on my Window Document Tabs toolbar. I would like to please have the System Buttons back on their own System Bar, as they are shown in the last release of the Avant Browser Help Document, found on the Menu Bar, Help > [?] Help F1.

My other reason for liking the System Bar Buttons is less about functionality, and more about being aesthetically pleasing. Some of the skinners, or skin makers, made the colored System Buttons, with a slightly raised appearance, the way some other software titles have colored 2Dimensional-appearing buttons. They were posted at the old skinning site, I can't remember if they are still posted at this new one, but I downloaded them once before, and never deleted them. They can be added to other skins using the skin maker. I have never made skins before, but if I learn how, I would like the option to be able to put the colored buttons on the System Bar Buttons. If I fail, someone else may figure out how to do it again.

I downloaded the most recent skin maker to give it a try anyway, because I prefer the bookmark and menu bar menus that are light-grey rather than white. That way my eyes can differentiate on my cheap CRT screen, which didn't bother me on my old LCD, but now I am stuck with a CRT, and I can't see the difference with White on White, my eyes hurt and get confused. Only one of the skinners (skin creators) made lightly-colored (usually grey or blue) drop down menus in his skins, and it helped me to tell apart the rows on my Bookmarks, which has many folders within folders, within even more folders, and the rows look the same to me without the light color to help my eyes simulate depth and discern where one open folder begins, and another ends. One example is the Windows Traditional skin which fits the new beta 8, but I wouldn't necessarily make drop-down menus such a dark shade of grey. That one is easier for my eyes, but I am enjoying the Crystal skin for now, until my eyes either get used to it, or can't stand it anymore.

Thank you for considering the possibility of moving System Bar Buttons from the Windows Document Tabs toolbar, so it may be a placeable toolbar for our customization.

User avatar
fuzzylogic
Fan
Fan
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by fuzzylogic » Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:53 pm

Just another vote for being able to place the button bar. One of the reasons I chose Avant over Maxthon was that I found it to be more customizable. I miss this ability. Here is a screen shot of my 11.0b46 layout that I would like to reproduce in 11.5:

http://outside.arc.ab.ca/staff/erkamp/avant.jpg

Keep up the great work Anderson!!!

RoyalWitCheese
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 7:20 pm
Avant Version:

Break "Tab Control" away from Tab Toolbar

Post by RoyalWitCheese » Fri Jun 22, 2007 9:55 pm

Would like to have the Tab Control menu broken away from the tabs bar.

I like to keep the Tabs on the bottom of the screen, but like the Close Tab "X" at the top of the screen (Under the Main Window controls)

Any way of making the Tab controls it's own Toolbar that can be moved and placed where ever a user prefers?

I merged your post with the appropriate thread. Please search before posting. Sara

Tried the search, came back with nothing for the terms I used. Thanks for moving it to the right spot.

pilamito
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:01 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by pilamito » Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:28 am

Yes, it is annoying! now I have less room to see my page, but besides that...my problem still hasn't been fixed! Why are the pictures for my standard buttons missing or blank...if i point to them with the cursor i can see that they're there because it gives me the name in a yellow box that appears. does anyone know what could be wrong?

Thanks,
pilamito

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by abfan123 » Sun Jun 24, 2007 7:00 am

pilamito wrote:Yes, it is annoying! now I have less room to see my page, but besides that...my problem still hasn't been fixed! Why are the pictures for my standard buttons missing or blank...if i point to them with the cursor i can see that they're there because it gives me the name in a yellow box that appears. does anyone know what could be wrong?

Thanks,
pilamito
You've already opened a thread here & received several replies.
Please continue the discussion regarding the problem there.

tsn81
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:34 am
Windows Version: Win XP Pro
Avant Version: 11.0 Build 46-zoom
IE Version: IE7

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by tsn81 » Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:45 am

I'll vote for this one too.. Was much better in previous version.

Budley007
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 1:44 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by Budley007 » Sun Jun 24, 2007 1:54 pm

You can put me down as another vote for a separate System Buttons bar. I'll never get used to where they are locked now.

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by ABman » Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:19 pm

I would like them back where they were. For now, to maximize the tab bar space I have unchecked ALL these buttons so I am only left with a tiny downward pointing arrow which I can live with (temporarily I hope :wink:).

Post Reply