Make System Buttons movable

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Make System Buttons movable

Post by ElimGarak » Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:24 am

I REALLY hate the new position of this buttons. Keep trying to close tabs in upper right corner (I show open tabs at the bottom) and everytime I risk to close whole Avant instead.


Now they steal room for my tabs and are too little. Moreover, with tabs at the bottom, the right bottom corner is "stuffed" with icons.

PLEASE, give us the choice to put them where we want. Don't make this a second "groups" thread.

I made this sticky because I got tired of looking for it! Sara :mrgreen:

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Buttons in top right..

Post by bigC » Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:34 pm

I've split your post to its own topic as it doesn't really belong in that other thread.

I don't like the system buttons merged with the window tab bar either and I support the idea to make them movable once again.

Note: as a workaround, there is an add-on button available that can be used to close the current tab. See here,
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 401#122401

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by Sara » Thu Jun 14, 2007 8:56 pm

I will add my distress over the system buttons here as well. They take up needed room on the tab bar when there is a blank space waiting for them on the toolbar.

Sara :?

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Post by ABman » Thu Jun 14, 2007 9:23 pm

I also agree with the above posts. I much prefer them on the tool bar, as they were before. If for some reason this is now not possible then putting them on the status bar would be better than on the tabs bar. But then I suppose not everyone displays the status bar.

bladedone
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:30 am
Avant Version:

Post by bladedone » Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:20 am

i also agree. i don't even use the tabs toolbar as i can switch using the system buttons. if they remain attached to the tabs bar i am probably going to uninstall avant. it is one of the features that attracted me in the first place. i just don't use tab toolbars at all. i guess i will be checking on another browser. i hate that because avant has been my favorite browser for over a year. up until i installed the new build... if i could get the build i had b4 this one... i would revert. i hope the system buttons become movable again... i really do.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by Sara » Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:49 am


bassiliin
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 7:56 am
Windows Version: Win XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010(11.8) build 131
IE Version: IE 8

Post by bassiliin » Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:55 am

my vote goes also to make these buttons movable

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by robc » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:04 am

Yes, the point is to make them movable AND allow them to be placed ALSO on the tab bar (where I mostly enjoy them), not reverting to the previous solution where they were stuck to the toolbar lines: if it were for me, I' d allow any toolbar or menu bar to dock on the same line as the tabs.
Image formerly known as Image

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Post by ElimGarak » Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:51 am

For Sara: Thank you, but I'd prefer not to revert to a previous version. I like this one, except for this buttons.

For Robc: Yes, it's exactly what I mean. We should have the choice.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:35 pm

bladedone wrote:i also agree. i don't even use the tabs toolbar as i can switch using the system buttons. if they remain attached to the tabs bar i am probably going to uninstall avant. it is one of the features that attracted me in the first place. i just don't use tab toolbars at all. i guess i will be checking on another browser. i hate that because avant has been my favorite browser for over a year. up until i installed the new build... if i could get the build i had b4 this one... i would revert. i hope the system buttons become movable again... i really do.
Well if you don't want buttons at all just shut them off... View > Customize buttons > Other buttons

bladedone
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:30 am
Avant Version:

Post by bladedone » Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:43 pm

mr. big? maybe if you read my post... you would understand what i am stating. i do not use tab bars. i navigate tabs with the system buttons. i do want buttons. i am well aware of how to shut them off. so one more time. ok? TABS. i do not use. BUTTONS. i do use. since the buttons are attached to the tab toolbar... that really defeats the purpose of the way i use the browser. by using the buttons i have one less toolbar taking up space. which again... is what attracted me to avant in the first place.

sara. thank you very much for the link you posted. very considerate.

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Sat Jun 16, 2007 2:57 pm

I understand what you (all) mean here. Even if I'm using tab-bar and I like the current bahavior, there should be an option with the old behavior.

Perhaps the best solution - and also easy to implement would be another system buttons bar, the same as in older versions, but the current behavior should be preserved too. There will be the following buttons in "Customize buttons" > "Other buttons" dialog:

For the system buttons bar:

Minimize
Restore
Close
...

For the tab bar (current):

Tab-Minimize
Tab-Restore
Tab-Close
...

It would be the same as New window button now, everyone will choose where he wants to place those buttons.
Dreamer

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Sat Jun 16, 2007 7:36 pm

bladedone wrote:mr. big? maybe if you read my post...
I did read your post, I just misunderstood you. I apologise...

Wastrel
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 5:41 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by Wastrel » Sat Jun 16, 2007 7:54 pm

Well, I guess I'm going to have to agree with everyone in this thread. Keep the buttons moveable, PLEASE.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Jun 17, 2007 3:53 am

I get the feeling that Anderson keeps his tabs at the top of the browser. I just don't understand how anyone who keeps the tabs at the bottom would even consider attaching them solely to the tabs bar.

cliffyk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:08 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Saint Augustine, FL

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by cliffyk » Sun Jun 17, 2007 12:54 pm

I agree, the positioning of those controls and the washed out colours of the toolbar buttons (which is just faddish adherence to Microsoft's trendiness) are my only complaints about the new version...
-cliff-
My Miata

User avatar
ADukes
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 635
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:53 am
Windows Version: Windows XP Pro SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 19
IE Version: Internet Explorer 7

Post by ADukes » Sun Jun 17, 2007 1:03 pm

hornakapopolis wrote:I just don't understand how anyone who keeps the tabs at the bottom would even consider attaching them solely to the tabs bar.
Not to the tabs bar, but to the links bar which is also at the bottom.
Thanks Anderson for checking out my AB 11.0 feature request list,
now it's time to go on with 11.8:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=16116
Image
Windows XP SP2, IE7, AB 11.7 build 19

User avatar
adli89
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Build 7
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by adli89 » Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:31 pm

I agree to change back the position to where it used to be. I place my window tabs at the bottom.. :( I used avant browser years ago and I find improvements made are really nice! Only some minor changes makes me feel not used to it.. But it's not big deal actually for me..
Image

josephrot
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:52 pm
Windows Version: XP SP1 SP2 SP3 Vista
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 19
IE Version: IE 6 and 7 Firefox
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Make system buttons movable

Post by josephrot » Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:06 pm

RE: << AB 11.5 B8 -- the system buttons >>

I agree as well.

It's OK to place them elsewhere than the upper right as they were located in older versions, but at least make them movable.

As it is now, users are right: The new ideas in AB 11.5 may be interesting, but now "nothing" is user-adjustable hardly at all, or at least not like what made older AB versions the cream of the crop.

Two steps ahead, one giant step back.
Last edited by josephrot on Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Computers are perfect! Absolutely nothing can guo wonge...
Those are NOT bugs in this software - Only Undocumented Transient Features

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:02 pm

ADukes wrote:
hornakapopolis wrote:I just don't understand how anyone who keeps the tabs at the bottom would even consider attaching them solely to the tabs bar.
Not to the tabs bar, but to the links bar which is also at the bottom.
No, I was commenting on how I think it's odd that they would be made the way they are now. I don't mind them as much (Actually, I don't care at all) because I keep my tabs at the top. Moving them to the bottom, however seems like a completely weird place to have the System Bar buttons.

Post Reply