Remove - "Open in New Tab"

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
Paparazzi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 11:09 am
Avant Version:

Remove - "Open in New Tab"

Post by Paparazzi » Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:54 am

For those of us who use IE7, would it be possible for Avant to check the version and if it is IE7, remove the "Open in New Tab" from the right click options? ITs pointless being there and greyed out.

User avatar
thelyonsking
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Huber Heights, Ohio

Post by thelyonsking » Tue Nov 07, 2006 11:57 am

What??? I use it all the time!
In His Grace,

Greg Lyons

Philippians 4:13- For I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me...

paokun
Fan
Fan
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 10:58 am
Avant Version:

Post by paokun » Tue Nov 07, 2006 10:43 pm

thelyonsking wrote:What??? I use it all the time!
lol he doesnt mean the 'open in a new page' menu option, but the 'open in a new tab', which as you can see in avant browser is always greyed out.
Image

Paparazzi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 11:09 am
Avant Version:

Re: Remove - "Open in New Tab"

Post by Paparazzi » Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:07 pm

Exactly ... Open in New Tab is different from Open in New Window. The former appears only in cases where IE7 is installed. As for the latter, well, I use itmyself all the time!

User avatar
thelyonsking
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Huber Heights, Ohio

Re: Remove - "Open in New Tab"

Post by thelyonsking » Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:20 pm

I'm still not getting you... I have that option and it works fine...Image

Using Avant 11 b 25 with IE7
In His Grace,

Greg Lyons

Philippians 4:13- For I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me...

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:22 pm

Weird :?
I have it grayed out and I don't have the word "Link".
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Paparazzi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 11:09 am
Avant Version:

Re: Remove - "Open in New Tab"

Post by Paparazzi » Sat Nov 11, 2006 6:17 am

Yeah ... really weird! I don't have that word "Link" either and the Open in new tab is greyed out for me as well!

@thelyonsking ... could you tell us what happens when you click on "Open in new tab" and what happens when you choose "Open in new window" ... whats the difference?

Are you by chance using some custom langauge file?

User avatar
thelyonsking
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Huber Heights, Ohio

Post by thelyonsking » Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:59 am

Hmmm.. They actually behave the same... I had assumed New Window would open in a new Browser Window. I actually had not tried that one. No custom add ons that I am aware of :-) I had uninstalled Avant before installing IE7 just because I wanted to do some clean up at the time. I then reinstalled Avant. Not sure if that would have anything to do with it...
In His Grace,

Greg Lyons

Philippians 4:13- For I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me...

boknows20
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 6:02 am
Avant Version:

Re: Remove - "Open in New Tab"

Post by boknows20 » Tue Nov 14, 2006 6:07 am

IE7 blows it up. Open in new tab worked until I installed IE7 an hour ago.


Please leave it and fix it.

simv
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 9:39 am
Avant Version:

Re: Remove - "Open in New Tab"

Post by simv » Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:35 am

boknows20 wrote:IE7 blows it up. Open in new tab worked until I installed IE7 an hour ago.


Please leave it and fix it.
same here.... its greyed now.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:51 am

IE6 had just the "Open in New Window" option.
Avant Browser always used it to open a new tab.;)
"Open in New Tab" is an option just for IE7.

boknows20
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 6:02 am
Avant Version:

Re: Remove - "Open in New Tab"

Post by boknows20 » Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:45 pm

Figured that out about 2am. Thanks!

Tzvi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 8:04 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Remove - "Open in New Tab"

Post by Tzvi » Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:11 pm

Ok, I discovered something interesting. There is an option in IE7 to disable tabs. If you do that you no longer get the "Open in a New Tab" option in IE. It still appears in Avant Browser. I think there is a flag that needs to be set in the rendering engine to disable it. So by the look of things it is possible to remove the grayed out item, but Avant Browser would need to somehow tell the rendering engine to do it. I have no idea how to do it on our own in Avant Browser.

Anybody want to take a shot of this? Maybe I am wrong and there is a way to do it ourselves.

--Tzvi

paokun
Fan
Fan
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 10:58 am
Avant Version:

Re: Remove - "Open in New Tab"

Post by paokun » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:15 am

Tzvi wrote:Ok, I discovered something interesting. There is an option in IE7 to disable tabs. If you do that you no longer get the "Open in a New Tab" option in IE. It still appears in Avant Browser. I think there is a flag that needs to be set in the rendering engine to disable it. So by the look of things it is possible to remove the grayed out item, but Avant Browser would need to somehow tell the rendering engine to do it. I have no idea how to do it on our own in Avant Browser.

Anybody want to take a shot of this? Maybe I am wrong and there is a way to do it ourselves.

--Tzvi
i can confirm it, i dont think it would take a lot of tiem to solve it.
Image

214
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:43 pm
Avant Version:

Post by 214 » Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:59 pm

Well, any headway on this issue? It's driving me crazy! ;)

I did a search of the registry and turned up nothing on this topic... but there were many other lines in the MenuExt listing.

Using 10.2 build38 and W2k3 server...

THANKS to Anderson for making a browser that beats anything out there!! (& for ORCA too!)

Kryz
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 11:57 pm
Windows Version: 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2014 build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10.0.9200.16635 64bit
Skin: Aero Glass

Post by Kryz » Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:05 am

abfan123 wrote:Weird :?
I have it grayed out and I don't have the word "Link".
The word "link" comes from the fact that he selected an image that was also a hyperlink. That's why there's also Save Picture As... and all that.

For me it's also a bit of an annoying thing - just installed IE7 and noticed it. The only reason it's a problem for me, is because opening a link in a new window by going to the second option in the right-click-menu is such a habit that it's strange everytime to have to choose an option one step lower. And I'd rather not get used to this new situation, because at work I won't have IE7 for at least 38 years, and Mozilla, which I use for some specific sites, also has the option on the second line in the menu.

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Nomenclature clash ... "Tab" versus "Window&q

Post by notestracker » Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:53 am

Paparazzi wrote:Exactly ... Open in New Tab is different from Open in New Window. The former appears only in cases where IE7 is installed. As for the latter, well, I use it myself all the time!
Quite a few months ago -- maybe even before IE7 betas came out -- I suggested/requested that Avant Browser should refer to "windows" as "tabs" to keep AB's nomenclature in line with that used by the other tabbed browsers (such as Firefox).

They refer to "tabs" as being the multiple pages all open at once in the current "window" whereas AB refers to multiple "windows" all open at once in a [an instance of] an "Avant Browser". And we have in the file menu list the option to open a "New Avant Browser" (which the others would refer to as opening a "new window").

Don't say I didn't try to warn you all a long time go! Now we have the nomenclature difference shoved in our faces with this peculiar greyed out "Open in New Tab" behaviour making its presence felt after you install IE7 sitting right next to Avant Browser's "Open in New Window" with both terms meant to signify the same thing.

Apart from the greying out issue, I reckon it's time for AB to change over to the commonly-accepted terminology. It's a bit of a pain, but I think it needs to be done to avoid further confusion.

I for one cannot afford to force IE7 to stop using tabs, since I need most definitely to keep using IE7, if for nothing else so as to explicitly ensure that my products work properly in the IE7 environment.
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

Post Reply