Make ALT+ENTER-behaviour customizable

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

nirwana
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 11:40 pm
Avant Version:

Make ALT+ENTER-behaviour customizable

Post by nirwana » Thu Oct 31, 2002 11:48 pm

It's nice that AB uses the CTRL+ENTER to create a http://www. .... .com-adres. I also found in the changelist that ALT+ENTER is now supported. It as a .Net-extension to the addressbar.

But how many .Net-websites does one person visit ? Why not make this .Net customizable ? For example one should be able to change it to .org. Or in my own case: I am Dutch and most websites here have a .nl-suffix. So I would set this setting (when introduced) to .nl

That would make:
CTRL+ENTER: add http://www. and .com
CTRL+ENTER: add http://www. and .nl

Would sound really nice (and easy to implement) to me....

Greetings,

Martijn

Neken
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 8:54 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: UK

Re: Make ALT+ENTER-behaviour customizable

Post by Neken » Fri Nov 01, 2002 12:01 am

I like that idea. .co.uk for myself :)

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri May 21, 2004 3:33 pm

IconBoy wrote:There is one main reason why I like MyIE2 (over AB) so am wondering with all the changes of late if AB can do this:

If I enter bbc and then press Ctrl+Enter, the url changes to www.bbc.com
In MyIE2, If I enter bbc and then press Shift+Ctrl+Enter, the url changes to www.bbc.co.uk. MyIE2 allows customization of keys to accomplish this.

I know it is possible to use shorctuts like uk %s and then it will do the same, but can AB allow me to change which keypresses I can use to allow for my own "add-ons" to the end of URLs e.g. co.uk for Shift+Ctrl+Enter, .org for Ctrl+Alt+Enter etc?
Another request for this feature was posted in a different thread.

I would also like to add support for this. It would be nice.

DJSolo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 12:53 am
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: 2.0
IE Version: 6.0

Post by DJSolo » Mon Jun 07, 2004 2:14 am

I would like this feature as well since I visit a few .de sites regularly.
"House is Food and You Need It." - Jungle Brothers

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:42 am

Thy this
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:05 am

SweetLou wrote:Thy this
That would be a work around until this is implemented.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Oct 10, 2004 1:34 pm

anton11 wrote:first of all, i'm new to this browser and i think it's one of the best.
just one question, can i change the ctrl+enter auto copmlete from http://www.something.com to http://www.something.co.il?
Another request for this.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Dec 08, 2004 3:38 pm

quickmick wrote:I like AB very much (also wrote one of it's first translations to german :wink: - but still I rather use Crazy-browser as the most used feature for me is the
URL-completition via SHFT+Enter or ALT+Enter, which I define for me in Crazybrowser as www. + .de or www. + .at

For me it's no useful solution to type in a letter first as abbreviation for .de-completition as described here...

Thanks for adding that possibly soon :D

mikkk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 2:27 pm
Avant Version:

Domain completion.

Post by mikkk » Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:37 pm

Hi.
Ive looked at the Requests List and didnt find my request.

Domain completion could be very comfortable feature.
What is Domain completion?
CTRL+ENTER auto adds http://www to the beginning and .com to the end.
ALT+ENTER auto adds http://www to the beginning and .net to the end.

That's the default, it would be nice if AB had the feature to change what each combination does and add new combinations.

Thanks.

Mike B.

Since this request has already been added to the Master Request/Suggestion List, I've merged this post with the appropriate thread. - hornakapopolis

User avatar
mpegjunkie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:14 pm
Avant Version:

<Ctrl>+<Enter> for adjustable TLDs

Post by mpegjunkie » Mon Jun 06, 2005 4:25 pm

It's no more a thread for the wish list, I define it as a bug: Users should be able to tell AB how to autocomplete the URL.

Users from all countries except USA more often open URLs from their country than .com sites.
So the program should offer what to do when the user presses <Ctrl>-<Enter>.

<Ctrl>+<Enter>: http://www.%s.de
<Shift>+<Enter>: http://www.%s.com
<Alt>+<Enter>: http://www.google.de/search?q=%s

would be an ideal configuration for me. But just let the user tune his AvantBrowser to his needs.

Almost all other browsers offer these configuration techniques. If AB had this feature, it would outcompete all others.

MysteryFCM: Since this is not a bug and is a feature that has already been requested, I have merged it with the appropriate thread

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:09 pm

Yes, it may be a bug in your eyes but a feature missing in a program isn't a bug, it's just a feature that hasn't been put in.

Do I go to Mozilla and say, "FireFox has a bug. It's missing IE's rendering engine," or do I go to Red Hat Linux and say, "You are missing a GUI like Windows so that's a bug," no, I don't.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:17 pm

Merged with "Make ALT+ENTER-behaviour customizable"

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:24 pm

_DrDrrae_ wrote:Do I go to Mozilla and say, "FireFox has a bug. It's missing IE's rendering engine," or do I go to Red Hat Linux and say, "You are missing a GUI like Windows so that's a bug," no, I don't.
Well, technically, there's no way for us to know that for sure. ;)

We'll have to take your word on it.

Personally, I like the reasoning. For everyone who has freezing problems, I consider it a feature, not a bug... therefore, quiot complainging about features!

(We can delete the Bug Reports forum now. ;))

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:37 pm

hornakapopolis wrote:Personally, I like the reasoning. For everyone who has freezing problems, I consider it a feature, not a bug... therefore, quiot complainging about features!

(We can delete the Bug Reports forum now. ;))
ROFLMFAO! Image

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:48 pm

Horni, that's not what I said. :?
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:56 pm

I was referring to the original post.

Manfredo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 6:41 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Manfredo » Mon Jul 11, 2005 6:45 pm

Good day folks

I am a new user to AB. I 've been using CrazyBrowser and lately Firefox. I do need the domain name completion, this is one of the reasons for me to decide for the browser to be used here. This tip with the quick search workaround is nice, but the developer of AB has never replied to this request ?
regards

Manfredo

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:29 pm

Manfredo wrote:but the developer of AB has never replied to this request ?
He doesn't respond to most of the posts. He does have the Master Request List to look off of.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

rkd
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 5:23 pm
Avant Version:

Auto-filling URLs

Post by rkd » Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:45 am

When you hit Ctrl-Enter if auto fills in the http://www.?????.com parts for you - an adjustable option to have a few more settable key combos do countries/.orgs/.nets, etc. might be a handy feature.

Since this request has already been added to the Master Request/Suggestion List, I've merged this post with the appropriate thread. - hornakapopolis

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Re: Auto-filling URLs

Post by SweetLou » Fri Oct 07, 2005 10:03 pm

rkd wrote:When you hit Ctrl-Enter if auto fills in the http://www.?????.com parts for you - an adjustable option to have a few more settable key combos do countries/.orgs/.nets, etc. might be a handy feature.

Since this request has already been added to the Master Request/Suggestion List, I've merged this post with the appropriate thread. - hornakapopolis
Though, this could be handy, Avant already has that capability. Just use the quick search feature. Fish_the_cat explains how he does it in http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 5304#35304
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

Post Reply