Refresh function for favicons

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, Developer, AvantGuard

matsuda0707
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 9:02 am
Avant Version:

Refresh function for favicons

Postby matsuda0707 » Fri Aug 31, 2012 11:39 pm

As you know, recently Microsoft and Google have changed their company logos, so I tried to refresh favicons for them.
But the stored favicons are not changed, and so I must clear all favicons!
So please add the features to refresh favicons for every visits (favicons is renewed at evry visit) for such pages.

P.S. I found that when I visit your home page (http://www.avantbrowser.com/), and the newest release avant version is shown in the left bottom (download 2010 Build 122, 9.15.2010 in Japan). Version information is comletely wrong! (the downloaded file is the newest one)
This is seen in other languages also!

User avatar
mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3 x86 + all updates
Avant Version: 2013 Ultimate Build 23 & Build 115 (USB)
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: IE8 + all patches and updates
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Refresh function for favicons

Postby mbrazil » Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:13 am

matsuda0707 wrote:As you know, recently Microsoft and Google have changed their company logos, so I tried to refresh favicons for them.
But the stored favicons are not changed, and so I must clear all favicons!

The favicon handling in Avant 2012 does definitely need work, and Anderson is aware of it. Here's a workaround you can use when you want to refresh the favicon for a particular site in the Bookmarks without using Clear Website Icons :

1. With the Sidebar visible and the Bookmarks shown in the Sidebar, temporarily drag the bookmark you want to refresh from wherever it is in the Sidebar, and drop it on whichever folder you have set as the Root of Bookmarks Bar (Links if you've never changed it). The new icon should now be shown for the bookmark.

2. Drag the bookmark back to where it was or wherever you want it.

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Refresh function for favicons

Postby AXEMAN » Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:47 am

Yup that will work bro. :thumbup:

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4123
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Refresh function for favicons

Postby xiaobing » Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:22 am

This feature had been recorded here: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=31143

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4123
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Refresh function for favicons

Postby xiaobing » Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:15 am

Add the option to reset favicon in 2013, please try 2013 beta 2


Return to “Avant Browser Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users