Page 1 of 1

English Language

Posted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 5:39 am
by dmarsh51
I'm an Americanl living in Thailand. When I downloaded Avant I didn't see any listing for "languages", so everything is in Thai. How can I change my browser to English??

Re: English Language

Posted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:53 pm
by statm1
In the tools menu you will see Interface Language. Hover over that and then select english. I don't know why it would not be english by default.

Re: English Language

Posted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:57 pm
by bigC
Tools is the 6th menu from the left.

Re: English Language

Posted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 8:18 pm
by André
Avant will use the default language of the operating system as it's interface language. For example, if you are using an Italian version of Windows, even if you have it set to English, Avant will use Italian as the interface language.

Re: English Language

Posted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 6:36 am
by statm1
I wasn't aware of that..

Re: English Language

Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:46 am
by aymenbnr
i have 11.7 and i don't see this problem,which version you are using?

Re: English Language

Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:31 pm
by ABman
André wrote:Avant will use the default language of the operating system as it's interface language. For example, if you are using an Italian version of Windows, even if you have it set to English, Avant will use Italian as the interface language.
I don't understand this.
I have an English version of Windows and in Control panel > Regional Language Options I have English.
If I set Option > Interface Language to e.g. French then all the menus etc. are in French.
This is what I would expect.
What is the point of this option if it doesn't take any notice of it?
Can you clarify what you mean? Thanks.

Re: English Language

Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:49 pm
by André
Way to dig up a year and 3 months old thread but anyway...

If you have and Italian version of Windows, for example, and have Windows set to display English instead of Italian, Avant will use Italian by default. Obviously you can change this but the default is the version of Windows you have installed.

Re: English Language

Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:56 pm
by ABman
OK

Re: English Language

Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:46 am
by statm1
In other words ABman, when you install Avant it will default to your Windows language. Avant isn't supposed to override your choice to change languages specifically for Avant after installation.

Re: English Language

Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 7:30 pm
by thedizzydiver
I live in Egypt and I bought my laptop here with Windows installed so my copy is in Arabic. I understand what I have to do but can't do it because I don't understand the Arabic.

Please can someone tell me what the words "tools" and "interface language" look like in Arabic so I can reset my browser to something I can understand.

Thank you.

Re: English Language

Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 9:33 pm
by bigC
bigC wrote:Tools is the 6th menu from the left.
interface language is always in english.

Re: English Language

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:57 pm
by sweetyk2
Iam still unable to see it in english version

Re: English Language MENU's

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:31 am
by thaikarl
sigh. i speak english only. i am in thailand. so many programs ignore my windows settings and give me thai menu's etc.
everybody keeps saying "tools menu, sixth from the left" but come on! i don't have a "tools" menu, i have icons, and everything that drops down from them is in thai language.

i see "green arrow, dimmed right arrow, double arrow (refresh??), a house, a clock with and arrow around it, a blue arrow pointing to upper left. clicking around in any of these does all sorts of things that i can't follow - because anything that appears is sin thai.

i know you advanced users out there think this is a simple and obvious question, but it's NOT. so please, if you reply give *detailed* response so the rest of us can follow it. simply saying "go to the tools menu, choose english" doesn't work, is wrong, there is no f*ing tools menu! english as a choice doesn't appear anywhere i can see it.

else, i'll just have to trash this browser and look elsewhere for an alternative.

thanks.

Re: English Language

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:37 pm
by brawnymike
You are describing a toolbar (which traditionally contains icons and, perhaps, some words); those trying to help you are directing you to the menu bar (traditionally words only, although the latest menu bar starts with the "online storage" icon [globe with diskette in front of it]).

On that menu bar (which should appear at top of screen, above any toolbars), the fifth word after the online storage icon is "Tools". Therefore, the fifth word on your thai menu bar should be the thai equivalent for "Tools". Selecting that word should drop-down a menu. On that revealed menu, in the 11th position, should be "Interface Language". (On my American English version of the Tools menu, the first 7 items are followed by a line/break, followed by 4 more items--the last being "Interface Language"--before the next line/break.)

I hope this helps.

Re: English Language --> solved

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:30 am
by thaikarl
@brawnymike Thank you so much! that worked! i didn't even know that the thai script in the upper right side of the window was a menu bar. upper-right is not traditional placement for a menubar. thanks for the hand-holding. i was liking Avant- what i could use of it, now i'm all creamy. 'ppreciate it.