b131 mouse right-button doesn't work

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

xtra
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:40 pm
Avant Version:

b131 mouse right-button doesn't work

Post by xtra » Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:39 am

After installing the new version (131), the mouse right-button menu is not shown anymore.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: b131 mouse right-button doesn't work

Post by abfan123 » Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:46 am

xtra wrote:After installing the new version (131), the mouse right-button menu is not shown anymore.
mouse right button menu=right click?
Hmm
Very weird
Is that with all sites?
(Some websites have right click protection)
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: b131 mouse right-button doesn't work

Post by MysteryFCM » Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:53 am

abfan123 wrote:mouse right button menu=right click?
Yes (aka the context menu)

xtra, can you give an example of a site it does not work on please?

xtra
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:40 pm
Avant Version:

Post by xtra » Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:35 am

The context menu doesn't work at all in every site I visit, including this one.
There are still two more (very old) problems that I reported before:
- The address bar doesn't get updated with the URL of the current site
- The Back and Forward buttons don't have the small downward arrow next to them, which means that I can't navigate directly to a backward/forward page.

My OS is Win2K with IE 5.00.3700.1000 (SP4)

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:37 am

xtra wrote:The context menu doesn't work at all in every site I visit, including this one.
There are still two more (very old) problems that I reported before:
- The address bar doesn't get updated with the URL of the current site
- The Back and Forward buttons don't have the small downward arrow next to them, which means that I can't navigate directly to a backward/forward page.

My OS is Win2K with IE 5.00.3700.1000 (SP4)
IE 5.0 is a very old browser
Why don't you update to 6 or at least 5.5?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

xtra
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:40 pm
Avant Version:

Post by xtra » Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:57 am

I can't. I'm a web developer and I need to be sure that my sites support older browser versions.
Is there any way of downloading an older version? This is getting worse, I suddenly lost control over the browser, twice... no focus, no mouse responding, even in the taskbar. I had to kill it using the task manager...
I rebooted, but the problem persists. sorry...

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:04 pm

It is recommended to use IE 6 and at least 5.5. Somethings won't work properly with 5.0. If you want to keep 5.0, I would recommend upgrading to 6.0, then download and install 5.0 and 5.5 for site testing. If you are unsure of how to do this, you can do a google search or try the instructions at Webmaster World's forums http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum21/6561.htm
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

xtra
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:40 pm
Avant Version:

Post by xtra » Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:10 pm

I'll see what I can do. Thanks.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Thu Feb 17, 2005 2:20 pm

SweetLou wrote:or try the instructions at Webmaster World's forums http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum21/6561.htm
status: Either we require login from users from your ISP because of abuse, or the thread is marked members only. Please login and then back up to view.
:wink:

webwilli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 3:21 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by webwilli » Thu Feb 17, 2005 5:08 pm

same here @some sites. IE6

won´t work here: http://www.planet3dnow.de/vbulletin/sho ... did=205614

after 3-4 pages-reload it works... :(

Kid_Rock
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 9:08 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Kid_Rock » Thu Feb 17, 2005 6:31 pm

I had another mouse problem. On certain sites I was unable to middle-click to open a link in a new window. Reverted back to build 126 for now.

dmilner
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 6:50 pm
Avant Version:

Post by dmilner » Thu Feb 17, 2005 6:53 pm

I'm also experiencing this problem. After I middle-click on a link, none of the links on the page work...and nothing happens when I right-click.

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Thu Feb 17, 2005 7:10 pm

MysteryFCM wrote:
SweetLou wrote:or try the instructions at Webmaster World's forums http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum21/6561.htm
status: Either we require login from users from your ISP because of abuse, or the thread is marked members only. Please login and then back up to view.
:wink:
How odd, something like that happened to me also, but if I Google "Install multiple IE" I will get a link about 7 links down and can get to that page from Google.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

User avatar
mkk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 3:34 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Gefle, Sweden
Contact:

Post by mkk » Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:40 pm

I get this here too. On some pages right-click or middle-click won't do anyhing with a link. In fact in a perticular place (forum on driverheaven.net) not even left-click will open a link. I would suspect something related to java-script or similar, seeing as it varies so in between pages. And I carelessly deleted the previous version as I installed 131, so I'll be hoping for an update soon. ;) (I'll search the forum to see if there are alternates for older versions)

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:43 pm

Look here for older versions:

http://avant.it-mate.co.uk/default.asp?c=Download

Sara :)

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:49 pm

I had a similar situation today. I couldn't right click on certain links. I was in this forum, and links to topics, I couldn't not middle mouse click or right click. If I middle clicked on a different link, like one to the main page, it would go there. But, after doing that, I had no history, I couldn't go back. But, after I shutdown and restarted everything has been fine. I waiting to see if this happens again. Using 10.0.131.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

User avatar
mkk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 3:34 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Gefle, Sweden
Contact:

Post by mkk » Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:04 am

Edit: nah, it returned eventually though only after a long time of browsing. Before it did I started getting problems with marking text on pages, in a very erratic fashion that couldn't be dependent on how a page was coded. I'll just declare myself out of luck with this one and run 126 until the next. No problem really. :wink:

old text: Just maybe I might have found a partial factor. I have been running with the Internet Explorer .exe file renamed to something else for added system security, and when naming it back to iexplore.exe the problem seems to have ceased. I haven't tested more than maybe 15min yet, but it seems like it could be helping on this system for whatever the reason. (a quick test with renaming the file again and rebooting also made the problem re-appear) I'll keep running 131 to see if I notice anything else.
Sara wrote:Look here for older versions:
http://avant.it-mate.co.uk/default.asp?c=Download
:)

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:32 am

mkk wrote:Before it did I started getting problems with marking text on pages, in a very erratic fashion...
Do you mean highlighting text with the mouse? I'm having that issue, too, if you are. It only started for in Build 131. And it is erratic. I can't highlight text on one page, but then click a link and can highlight fine when it loads the new page. (Actually, it happened reading page one and page two of this thread.)

User avatar
mkk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 3:34 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Gefle, Sweden
Contact:

Post by mkk » Fri Feb 18, 2005 3:18 am

Yes that was it. The same page open on two separate tabs could have the problem with highlighting text on one tab but not the other. Just a symptom of the program not operating well at that very moment for whatever reason, I guess. Haven't seen anything similar in previous versions.

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:00 pm

Happened again to me while on this forum. The right mouse button was working, then it stopped. Once I closed Avant and reopened it, the right mouse button worked fine. Same with the middle mouse button. I did have Avant open for quite a few hours at the time.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

Locked