avant causes an enormous interrupt rate

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

RoMa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:49 am
Avant Version:

avant causes an enormous interrupt rate

Post by RoMa » Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:08 am

i just began trying avant and there is one thing i really dislike about it: while avant is running the hardware interrupt rate increases enormously (on my machine from approx. 150 to 1150 irq/sec).
I guess the reason for that is that avant is calling

timeBeginPeriod(1);

to set the resolution of the hardware timer to 1 millisecond.

Of course these additional 1000 irq/sec entail a lot of overhead and i don't see any reason why this timer resolution should be necessary (other browsers don't need to do that).

I hope that someone can give me an insight why i should tolarate a software that behaves like that on my computer.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Re: avant causes an enormous interrupt rate

Post by jis » Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:39 am

How did you measure the hardware interrupt rate increase?
Avant user since the year 2003.

RoMa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:49 am
Avant Version:

Post by RoMa » Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:45 am

'Process Explorer' from http://www.sysinternal.com. it shows exactly the same interrupt rate behavior when i execute a little selfwritten program that essentially does nothing more than:

void main()
{
timeBeginPeriod(1);
Sleep(10000);
timeEndPeriod(1);
}

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:50 am

RoMa wrote:'Process Explorer' from http://www.sysinternal.com. it shows exactly the same interrupt rate behavior when i execute a little selfwritten program that essentially does nothing more than:

void main()
{
timeBeginPeriod(1);
Sleep(10000);
timeEndPeriod(1);
}
about process explorer showing the interrupt rate..which column or setting are you talking about? I can't see it..
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

RoMa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:49 am
Avant Version:

Post by RoMa » Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:56 am

Row: Interrupts
Column: Context Switch Delta

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:05 am

RoMa wrote:Row: Interrupts
Column: Context Switch Delta
I find it now, thank you.
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Re: avant causes an enormous interrupt rate

Post by jis » Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:22 am

RoMa wrote:i just began trying avant and there is one thing i really dislike about it: while avant is running the hardware interrupt rate increases enormously (on my machine from approx. 150 to 1150 irq/sec).
While avant is running the hardware interrupt rate increases on my machine from approx. 116 to approx. 1065 irq/sec.
Avant user since the year 2003.

RoMa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:49 am
Avant Version:

Post by RoMa » Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:05 pm

I have been able to verify that Avant causes this high interrupt rate by calling timeBeginPeriod(1).
I have done so by programming a little executable, which injects a tiny dll into the avant process. All this dll is doing is calling timeEndPeriod(1).

Code: Select all

BOOL APIENTRY DllMain(HANDLE /*hModule*/,
					  DWORD ReasonForCall,
					  LPVOID /*pReserved*/)
{
    switch (ReasonForCall)
    {
		case DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH:
			timeEndPeriod(1);
			break;

		case DLL_THREAD_ATTACH:
		case DLL_THREAD_DETACH:
		case DLL_PROCESS_DETACH:
			break;
    }
    return TRUE;
}
When that was executed, the interrupt rate is normal again and Avant is runnung normally :D

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:11 pm

RoMa wrote:I have been able to verify that Avant causes this high interrupt rate by calling timeBeginPeriod(1).
I have done so by programming a little executable, which injects a tiny dll into the avant process. All this dll is doing is calling timeEndPeriod(1).

[snipped]

When that was executed, the interrupt rate is normal again and Avant is runnung normally :D
If possible, could you send me a copy of the file so I can put it in the archive for others to use please?

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:53 pm

How does one incorporate this file?

Sara :)

RoMa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:49 am
Avant Version:

Post by RoMa » Fri Jan 28, 2005 8:07 pm

@MysteryFCM
I don't think that my little tool is suitable for most users, since the injecting technique i am using requires admin privileges :(
I think the more reasonable solution would be to fix avant's code.
Of course i don't have the slightest idea if and when that will happen.

But if you still want that tool, you can have it. Do you?

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Jan 28, 2005 8:10 pm

Twould be nice :wink: (to allow others to use it, could you also include a readme.txt file with instructions on installing/injecting it?).

avant [AT] it-mate [DOT] co [DOT] uk

Cheers :)

_WW_
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:52 am
Avant Version:

Post by _WW_ » Sun Feb 13, 2005 2:23 pm

So...has anything ever come from this?
....WW (5.1)

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Sun Feb 13, 2005 4:30 pm

Not AFAIK (can't remember receiving an e-mail from Roma myself)

Julian
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:17 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: London, UK

Post by Julian » Tue Feb 22, 2005 12:26 pm

Has anyone tested build 131? Does it still increase the interupt rate? This seems so basic that I'm suprised not to get some feedback from the developer on this.

- Julian

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:46 pm

Julian wrote:Has anyone tested build 131? Does it still increase the interupt rate? This seems so basic that I'm suprised not to get some feedback from the developer on this.

- Julian
I am running Avant build 131 and unfortunately the hardware interrupt rate is still approx. 10 times higher as compared with state without Avant running.
Avant user since the year 2003.

Julian
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:17 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: London, UK

Post by Julian » Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:45 pm

Hey, sorry to keep posting this, but I have a reason this time. I noticed a huge speed increase in going from build 153 to 157. I wondered if the interupt rate issue was fixed which might explain a lot of the speed increase. Could some kind person with the necessary software run a quick check and let us know if the issue is fixed in build 157 (or any later build, 159 is actually the latest as I write this). Thanks.

- Julian

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:21 am

Julian wrote:Hey, sorry to keep posting this, but I have a reason this time. I noticed a huge speed increase in going from build 153 to 157. I wondered if the interupt rate issue was fixed which might explain a lot of the speed increase. Could some kind person with the necessary software run a quick check and let us know if the issue is fixed in build 157 (or any later build, 159 is actually the latest as I write this). Thanks.

- Julian
According to the changelog of builds 157-159
Improved Browsing Speed.

Improved Stability.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Julian
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:17 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: London, UK

Post by Julian » Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:57 am

I read the change log. Improved browsing speed doesn't necessarily mean he fixed the interupt issue. Improved speed could have been achieved by tweaking algorithms anywhere for computational efficiency, reducing memory overhead, or a combination of both.

I am still very interested to know if the interupt issue was fixed. It could be my imagination, but I have the impression that my whole machine runs faster now, which would suggest that fixing the interupt issue was one of the enhancements made to increase the speed.

- Julian

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:52 pm

Julian wrote:I am still very interested to know if the interupt issue was fixed. It could be my imagination, but I have the impression that my whole machine runs faster now, which would suggest that fixing the interupt issue was one of the enhancements made to increase the speed.
Julian, I am running Avant build 159 and unfortunately the hardware interrupt rate is still approx. more than 10 times higher as compared with state without Avant running.
Avant user since the year 2003.

Locked