2 site related problems

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
LRa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:07 am
Avant Version:

2 site related problems

Post by LRa » Thu Aug 05, 2004 7:28 am

I just upgraded to the new version and I'm still having the same problems I had with the previous one.
First on some sites the browser keep reloading the page, and on some search sites when I hit the search button the browser minimizes itself.
How do I resolve this?
Thanks

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Thu Aug 05, 2004 7:37 am

It might help if you can tell us which sites you have these troubles.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

LRa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:07 am
Avant Version:

Post by LRa » Thu Aug 05, 2004 7:51 am

SweetLou wrote:It might help if you can tell us which sites you have these troubles.
This one keeps reloading http://www.huji.ac.il/
This one minimizes the browser http://www.xdccspy.com/

Logan
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:31 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Logan » Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:38 am

Don't know about the first site but the second one set off my antivirus.

LRa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:07 am
Avant Version:

Post by LRa » Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:48 am

Logan wrote:Don't know about the first site but the second one set off my antivirus.
For the first site wait for it to load and then wait 2-3 seconds and it will automatically reload again.

Logan
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:31 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Logan » Thu Aug 05, 2004 9:51 am

LRa wrote:
Logan wrote:Don't know about the first site but the second one set off my antivirus.
For the first site wait for it to load and then wait 2-3 seconds and it will automatically reload again.
I waited almost 30 sec and no reload on the first page but that is besides the point. I merely wanted to warn about the virus alert on the second site.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:25 am

I'm not getting a reload on the first site either. Is the entire page going blank when it reloads or are you just hearing the "click" that it's reloading?

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:32 am

WIth Flash disabled, I get the reload in a couple of seconds. With Flash enabled, I still get the reload but it takes much longer, maybe up to a minute before the reload happens.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

LRa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:07 am
Avant Version:

Post by LRa » Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:27 pm

SweetLou wrote:WIth Flash disabled, I get the reload in a couple of seconds. With Flash enabled, I still get the reload but it takes much longer, maybe up to a minute before the reload happens.
I got flash enabled...
I don't hear a click, few seconds after the page loads it goes grey(the background color) and loads again.

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Sat Aug 07, 2004 9:02 pm

Sorry for the long delay, I was out of town and could not access the web. Yeah, that is the same as me. I have no idea why it is doing this though and cannot find away to stop it. Anyone else have any ideas?
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

LRa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:07 am
Avant Version:

Post by LRa » Sat Aug 07, 2004 9:55 pm

SweetLou wrote:Sorry for the long delay, I was out of town and could not access the web. Yeah, that is the same as me. I have no idea why it is doing this though and cannot find away to stop it. Anyone else have any ideas?
Using IE for specific sites :cry:

LRa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:07 am
Avant Version:

Post by LRa » Sat Aug 28, 2004 9:37 am

Ok, I now have some update.
I found out that this site http://www.huji.ac.il/ keeps reloading only if I move the mouse, that is when the site loads but I'm not touching anything it will not reload for as long as I don't move the mouse.
Any ideas?

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Sat Aug 28, 2004 7:18 pm

Weird. I'm guessing it's the page that's doing it. There might be some code that shouldn't be there causing it.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

LRa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:07 am
Avant Version:

Post by LRa » Sat Aug 28, 2004 7:38 pm

_DrDrrae_ wrote:Weird. I'm guessing it's the page that's doing it. There might be some code that shouldn't be there causing it.
Thing is that it works fine with internet explorer.

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Sat Aug 28, 2004 8:21 pm

For me the Hebrew University site works fine. this could have something to do with my using the new beta version.

The other one does try to refresh a couple of times. This appears to have something to do with the banner ad server trying to give me a nasty cookie.
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

Locked