Page 1 of 1

Problems with Acrobat?

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2004 5:26 pm
by BPlenge
Since updating Advant Browser to Build 118 whenever I click a link to a PDF document I get several a pop up boxes saying, Acrobat, Internal Error. I went to Adobe and downloaded the newest Acrobat Reader figuring that maybe reinstalling Acrobat would fix the problem. It didn't.

I would consider this an Acrobat issue, except it was working properly before I upgraded Advant to Build 118 and am wondering if anyone else if having the same problem.

Best,
Bill

More info

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2004 5:53 pm
by BPlenge
Been playing with trying to get Arobat working again and noticed something odd. Though I've installed the new Acrobat Reader (v6.01) Advant is still trying to run the old version (V3)

Anyone know how I can tell Advant to use V6.01?

Best,
Bill

Re: Problems with Acrobat?

Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 12:02 pm
by perd
BPlenge wrote:Since updating Advant Browser to Build 118 whenever I click a link to a PDF document I get several a pop up boxes saying, Acrobat, Internal Error. I went to Adobe and downloaded the newest Acrobat Reader figuring that maybe reinstalling Acrobat would fix the problem. It didn't.

I would consider this an Acrobat issue, except it was working properly before I upgraded Advant to Build 118 and am wondering if anyone else if having the same problem.

Best,
Bill
I had the same probem and after I read the temp error.txt file that was created, it said that it was an incompatability error. Thinking this was odd, because I can run the reader by itself without problems, I got to thinking. A while ago, I read somewhere that to help with the image loding (it appears in this forum many times), that I should run the program (Avant) in Windows 98 compatability mode. I did this, and my image loading problem was gone, but then came the Acrobat problem you mentioned. Switched back to running normally and the problem was gone, but the image loading thingy was back...........sigh!

Proud owner of:
PIII550
512
WinXPSP1

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 4:06 pm
by jdmatl
Ditto. Same problems here. Acrobat doesn't work either! :(

Re: Problems with Acrobat?

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:26 pm
by crom
This problem was discussed lots of times...i.e.:
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=5209
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=4861
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=4699

Anyway...
perd wrote:A while ago, I read somewhere that to help with the image loding (it appears in this forum many times), that I should run the program (Avant) in Windows 98 compatability mode. I did this, and my image loading problem was gone, but then came the Acrobat problem you mentioned. Switched back to running normally and the problem was gone, but the image loading thingy was back
That's it!
I can confirm that AdobeReader does not work with AB, when the latter's set - using XP - to Win98/Me compatibility mode. (Switched back to "normal" mode -> pdf files have opened again since then)
And that's a pity, since running AB that way, most times really solved the image loading problem.. :(

The error window coming out is like the following:
Image
(The instruction at ... referenced memory at ... Memory could not be written)

(thread made sticky)

Re: Problems with Acrobat?

Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:38 pm
by Geff
I was about to download AB but have come across these problems with Acrobat Reader. What is the outcome. Will Acrobat work with AB or not.

I have Win XP - IE 6 and Acrobat Reader 5

I f all else fails and thngs go wrong can I just uninstall and put things back to the status quo

Cheers
Geff :?:

Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 4:38 pm
by SweetLou
Yes, of course you can uninstall and everything go back to normal. There is a folder that is not removed when you uninstall, this is used to keep settings and preferences so they are not lost during upgrades but it can easily be deleted. Also, I've been having problems running in 98 mode and pdf's. I installed an older version of Acrobat reader, 5.5 and everything is fine. I don't know if I just got lucky or not.
Just wondering also, if you don't have Acrobat open in the browser but as a seperate app, does it still freeze?

Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 6:05 pm
by hornakapopolis
Nope... at least mine doesn't.

But, then again, I never had a problem with freezing while loading them in browser, but it would take forever... way too long (and I'm not sure if I tried it with Reader v6)

But, ever since I've been opening them outside of the browser, everything works fine for me. (Avant 9 Beta 9, Reader 6, XP, not running in compatibility mode)

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:31 pm
by hornakapopolis
From above, the only things that have changed for is I'm now running 9.02 Beta 018. Everything is now working fine... opening PDFs inside the browser and out.

Previously, I had slow downs in IE, too. They are now gone and it doesn't take nearly as long to open the PDFs.

Outside of Avant, I did install SP2 for Windows and have had to repair my IE since then. I also re-downloaded Reader 6. Personally, I think it was one of these changes that fixed it, rather than Avant.

reverting post to normal status - this is no longer sticky

hornakapopolis

Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 6:52 pm
by davell
Hi,
I finally solved my acrobat/avant problem by doing a manual uninstall of acrobat. The
automatic uninstall left files all
over the place.
The manual uninstall takes about
ten minutes, but it's worth it.
First uninstall acrobat with the contol panel install/uninstaller.
Then go to the adobe web site > select search > select tutorials from the list on the left side > type 'uninstalling' > scroll down the page and find the doc that covers removing your version of acrobat from your operating system. Do the manual uninstall, restart your computer and then go to the adobe web site and get the latest version for your operating system. Davell

Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 7:10 pm
by SweetLou
I have recently saw a page about a bug in acrobat freezing browsers. I should have saved that page or the link. I found this on adobe's site but don't know if this is the problem or not. http://www.adobe.com/support/techdocs/2d7a.htm

Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 7:10 pm
by davell
Please ignore. I added what was here to my original post.

Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 7:25 pm
by davell
Hi SweetLou,
The problem with the linked Adobe techdoc page is that solution number 2 really needs to be a manual uninstall (the automatic control panel uninstaller didn't work for me).
Davell

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 5:00 am
by rancid
think i'm having similar problem acrobat...

my acrobat 5 won't launch in AB... tried the same url (which displays pdf document) on IE 6 and it worked ok...

so now i'm confused... should i reinstall my acrobat 5??...

thanks !!

:D :D

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 6:25 am
by davell
Hi rancid,
Since IE opens pdf's, your security setting is probably not
causing the problem.
See my first post, to see what I did to get acrobat working with avant.
I'm not going to point a
finger, because I think they both
are to blame (ok that's two fingers).
Davell

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 6:43 pm
by Sara
rancid wrote:think i'm having similar problem acrobat...

my acrobat 5 won't launch in AB... tried the same url (which displays pdf document) on IE 6 and it worked ok...

so now i'm confused... should i reinstall my acrobat 5??...

thanks !!

:D :D
Why not uninstall 5 completely (see above) and download 6.01? I've never had a problem with XP--for that matter it ran fine when I had 98 as well--but I reformatted my drive when I first installed XP and then downloaded Acrobat.

Sara :D

Sara

Posted: Tue May 04, 2004 9:34 pm
by rcasula
Don't know if this is any help but...

Acrobat is very promiscuous. It likes to copy bits of itself all over your system! In particular it likes to install it's Netscape-compatible plugin (nppdf32.dll) into every plugin folder it finds.

If you've had different version of Reader installed at different times you may find you have various versions of the plugin.

I found that when I wanted PDFs to open OUTSIDE the browser (whether it's IE or AB), turning off the "Display PDF in browser" option in Reader Preferences didn't work. Sure it didn't open the PDF in the browser, but it also didn't open it anywhere else - IE/AB just displayed a placeholder (like you get while the browser is downloading an image). I tracked this down to the fact that IE (or AB) was trying to use the Netscape plugin.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled Reader and still it insists on installing the Netscape plugin into C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins.

The only way I could get the behaviour I wanted (click on a PDF link on a web page and Reader opens as a separate application with the document loaded) was by manually removing the plugin:

Delete the file "nppdf32.dll" from C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS

Remove the following keys from the registry:

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Plugins\Extension\.pdf
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Plugins\MIME\application/pdf

If you do a quick search of the Internet you find quite a few people with similar problems; but nothing official from Adobe! It's weird. But certainly for me turning the "Display PDF in browser" off does not work properly unles the plugin is manually deleted! Crazy.

Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 6:27 am
by rancid
ok... thanks all.. will try reinstalling and see if it works... sigh...

:cry: :cry:

Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 1:31 pm
by hornakapopolis
maoten wrote:i notice evey time i try to open PDF files on avant it hang up and i have to close it down
plz help :)