WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
fochtmanv
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:01 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2015 build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Italy

WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by fochtmanv » Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:00 pm

Windows Media Player Plugin For Firefox does not work with Orca Browser it works with Firefox just fine. Is there some way to make it work or is there another Media Player that I should download.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by kudos » Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:27 pm

Is it listed under Tools -> Mozilla Addons -> Plugins?

It should show: Windows Media Player Plug-in Dynamic Link Library (Npdsplay dll)

What's the best way to test it?

fochtmanv
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:01 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2015 build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Italy

Re: WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by fochtmanv » Sun Jan 18, 2009 2:45 pm

Thanks Kudos I went into the Mozilla addons - plugin site, all the plugs listed there were to be Disable only. I did not see any for windows media plugins. I downloaded NPDSPLAY.DLL to programs files orca browser file but the windows media player still did not work. Its my understanding that Orca uses the same browser as Firefox and my windows media player works fine with Firefox.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by kudos » Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:40 pm

fochtmanv wrote:all the plugs listed there were to be Disable only.
Did you enable it?

The file should be in the Windows Media Player folder, on my XP computer the file is located at: "c:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\npdsplay.dll"

It should have been installed by Windows Media Player as standard.

I found a test page to see if it works: http://home.att.net/~cherokee68/wmvtest2.html

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by kudos » Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:52 pm

I just noticed that you are using Vista. In which case, take a look here: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Windows_Media_Player

It mentions installing np-mswmp.dll (direct link: http://port25.technet.com/videos/downlo ... plugin.exe)

Unfortunately I do not have Vista so I cannot confirm.

PS - In the tools menu, make sure that nothing is blocked/disabled.

fochtmanv
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:01 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2015 build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Italy

Re: WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by fochtmanv » Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:20 pm

I tried everything that you suggested. I had already downloaded WMP firefox plugin from Port25.technet.com and I enabled all the plugins listed in tools Mozilla addons. You mentioned to make sure in the tools menu that that nothing is blocked/disabled. Did you mean in tools Mozilla addons or some where else in tools. I downloaded Firefox browser and it works fine but for some reason Orca does not.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by kudos » Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:55 pm

fochtmanv wrote:You mentioned to make sure in the tools menu that that nothing is blocked/disabled. Did you mean in tools Mozilla addons or some where else in tools.
The main menu in Orca, there are things like "Disable Videos", "Disable Sounds", etc.
fochtmanv wrote:I downloaded Firefox browser and it works fine but for some reason Orca does not.
I'm sure that a Vista user will post an answer soon.

HotPepper
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:23 am
Windows Version: Vista
Avant Version: none
IE Version: 7.0

Re: WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by HotPepper » Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:03 pm

Hi,

I am Vista user too and have exactly the same problem. It's not possible to get it work! Kind of strange....

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by kudos » Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:29 pm

What exactly happens? Follow this link and tell me what you see. Does the embedded Windows Media Player object appear but the file does not play? Or does the player not appear at all?

If the player appears, right click it and see what version is listed under 'About'. If it is version 6.x then try the tip here which involves importing a registry file (I guess you may need to be an admin). Also check if 'Error Details' is shown too.

Also, have you tried running Orca as administrator - I hear that Vista has all sorts of security that may cause embedding issues.

fochtmanv
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:01 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8.1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2015 build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Italy

Re: WMP Plugin for Firefox does not work with Orca

Post by fochtmanv » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:07 am

Thanks for all the advise you gave me, I finally got it to work. I had to uninstall WMP Plugin for Firefox and reinstall it about three times then cut and paste it to Orca Plugin file and it worked. Windows firewall might be part of the problem as a box came saying that the firewall was stopping some of the functions but so far it did everything that I wanted.

Locked