Page 1 of 1

WOAR :) - I like it - Questions

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:05 am
by curry
dudes you are f**king awsome :thumbup:
I downloaded Orca yesterday and wooohoooo :)
runs perfect here, no problems at all (till now)

but i have some questions i did not found in the forum yet:
the installdir is some kind of "wussy" i mean in Avant's is

<dir> .default
<dir> Lang
<dir> res
<da> Avant.exe
<da> default.skn
<da> kpp.wav

and thats it ... Orca is ... ok it is a beta ...but erm whats about all the dirs? the .dlls ....
will in future it be as in Avant!? or is it how the Firefox engine is build?!

uh and what is the "chrome" one for?!

however i liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiike, rock on :mrgreen:

Re: WOAR :) - I like it - Questions

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:08 pm
by statm1
Avant doesn't come with an engine since it uses the engine from whatever version of IE you have installed.. But, Orca comes with its own engine, yes Firefox's engine, called Gecko. But no the amount of files that come with Orca will not be changing.. They are all needed for Orca to function correctly..

Re: WOAR :) - I like it - Questions

Posted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:38 pm
by andy2004
just installed the new orca browser 1.1 beta 4, and I love it, it feels exactly the same as avantbrowser which i've been using since version 9, i think, I just have 1 small question, where do the temporary internet files get stored. I go through a lot of pages with pictures and html, and i like to keep some of those when i come across a cool pic or some feature on a website i think is cool and think how did they do that, so i can maybe modify for my webpage and so read the html to look to see how they did it.

Re: WOAR :) - I like it - Questions

Posted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 8:24 pm
by andy2004
erm, cant see the edit command so i guess i need to reply in a new one,
ok found the cache, but could someone please tell me where the cache size is hidden so i can changet the size of it. from whatever size it is

Re: WOAR :) - I like it - Questions

Posted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:43 pm
by bigC
andy2004 wrote:erm, cant see the edit command so i guess i need to reply in a new one,
ok found the cache, but could someone please tell me where the cache size is hidden so i can changet the size of it. from whatever size it is
IYou probably can change it under about:config. Type about:config in the address bar to get there. I think you want the browser.cache.disk.capacity entry.

Re: WOAR :) - I like it - Questions

Posted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 10:58 pm
by statm1
I believe Orca's temporary internet files are in whats called a SQLite file. It doesn't get stored like IE's does. Its in the Orca Profiles folder in Appdata or Application Data depending on your operating system. Orca Profiles\.default\moz\UserData .. I dont know much about SQLite so can't really give you anymore info than that..

Re: WOAR :) - I like it - Questions

Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 11:13 am
by andy2004
Thank you, changed the cache disk size and i found the cache folder i can use mozillacacheview to see the files and move them when i need now.