Searching Google from address bar

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
sanitysama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:41 am
Avant Version: 11.5 b20

Searching Google from address bar

Post by sanitysama » Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:02 am

I don't seem to remember having to set anything up like in Avant. Trying to search within the address bar just doesn't seem to work in Orca for me.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Searching Google from address bar

Post by statm1 » Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:13 pm

It might be using some settings from IE to work like it does in Avant. But using the most recent version of Orca that has been released.. If you type "g search term" into the address bar, it will work just fine.. Where g is for google.. and search term is whatever you want to search for and of course without the quotes.
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11320
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Searching Google from address bar

Post by hornakapopolis » Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:10 pm

Yeah... just to be clear, the about:config entry doesn't affect the search from the address bar (which sort of surprises me) and the Enable Avant Browsing Error Page setting in Orca's options doesn't, either (which doesn't surprise me).

It looks like Quick Search, like statm1 suggested, is the only way to go right now.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Searching Google from address bar

Post by statm1 » Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:51 pm

Well you can always just use the search box.. That works exactly like Avant.
Image
-- Matt --

sanitysama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:41 am
Avant Version: 11.5 b20

Re: Searching Google from address bar

Post by sanitysama » Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:39 am

Yeah I've just been used to using ctrl+N and just typing my search query in like I've been doing for years. I can just use the g+query quicksearch thing, just have to get used to it again.

kthx

Locked