Memory access error

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Memory access error

Post by AlvinPing » Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:29 am

First time seeing this error. Websites would load in the address bar to about 99% and never complete, so I quit Orca only to find this pop up. (see pic)

http://i33.tinypic.com/124dnxc.png

Latest version orca, win XP pro.
-Alvin

User avatar
sulpherdragon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 9:51 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2013 Build 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version:
Skin:
Contact:

Re: Memory access error

Post by sulpherdragon » Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:32 am

Sounds like you might have ran out of memory.
How much ram do you have?

It could also be the workings of a debugger or malware.
Or it could simply be as you suspect, a problem with Orca.
Image

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Memory access error

Post by AlvinPing » Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:44 pm

On that computer I have 1.25GB installed. Definitely not malware (I do scans at least once a week) but I think I may have figured it out: I had Firefox Portable open in the background, which may have caused some conflicts. But as far as I know, the portableapps run in their own space and shouldn't interfere, but I don't know enough about their memory mapping to draw any conclusions.

I haven't reproduced it yet so maybe it was just a fluke ;-)
-Alvin

Nomikos
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:12 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11
IE Version: 7.0

Re: Memory access error

Post by Nomikos » Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:35 pm

Like you, AlvinPing, I am only guessing. When you close down Orca normally, there is a delay as it writes information to the hard drive - usually, the last websites visited. If that process were terminated before the program shutdown completely, you might get that error - particularly since you said that one website was not fully loaded when you shutdown Orca. It may only have meant that last website could not be written to a temp file so that it could be brought back up when you restarted Orca.

User avatar
sulpherdragon
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 9:51 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2013 Build 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version:
Skin:
Contact:

Re: Memory access error

Post by sulpherdragon » Tue Sep 09, 2008 1:22 am

That was a ram error. Nothing to do with hdd.

And it could easily have been firefox portable requesting memory that it thought was its own, or even reallocating orcas for itself. The portable apps guys kinda want you to only use their stuff. Thats the attitude I find from them anyway.
Image

flavionoschese
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:26 pm
Windows Version: xp sp3
Avant Version: 11715
IE Version: 7

Re: Memory access error

Post by flavionoschese » Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:38 pm

I got the same problem with my Orca since days ago.
I'm using Orca 1.1RC3.

On the other hand, when I use Avantbrowser 11.715 (with Iexplorer7), it works slow but fine.

I don't have memory problems with the other heavy programs that I use.

I think it's a problem that began with RC3 version.

Regards,


Flávio

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Memory access error

Post by ftboomer » Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:43 pm

Here is my thread on the same issue:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 75&t=25002

I went back and installed (in a different directory) Beta 3 (pre-RC) (last in this list) and it works fine

http://avant.it-mate.co.uk/?c=Download& ... owser/Beta
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory access error

Post by kudos » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:07 am

Hi guys. I have been looking into this and I may have a workaround.
Can you add the following lines to .default\mozdata\UserData\prefs.js and restart Orca.

Code: Select all

user_pref("browser.safebrowsing.enabled", false);
user_pref("browser.safebrowsing.remoteLookups", false);
You can also enter the settings into the about:config page.
You must be running Orca 1.1 rc3 or newer for this to work.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory access error

Post by kudos » Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:07 am

Oops, I forgot - you also need the following too:

Code: Select all

user_pref("browser.safebrowsing.malware.enabled", false);
Also, these prevent huge downloads to the UserData folder thereby speeding up Orca considerably.
To save space, you can delete urlclassifierkey3.txt and urlclassifier3.sqlite from the UserData folder.

Please let me know if they fix the problem and I shall submit a bug ticket.

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Memory access error

Post by ftboomer » Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:31 pm

OK, I did all 3 (in about:config) and the browser would never open past the start-up page. Tried to open an additional 10 pages and it froze. Took out the last entry (malware), that one scared me anyway. Now things seem to be running smoothly on beta 3 RC3. Thanks, I'll report back after a bit more testing.
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory access error

Post by kudos » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:09 pm

Glad that it worked. If you delete the files mentioned (urlclassifierkey3.txt and urlclassifier3.sqlite from the UserData folder) then you should find that the freezing stops.

Rather than use the built-in safe browsing (which downloads huge files from google daily and has been criticized by many Firefox users), you can use Web Of Trust which has been reported as working in Orca.

I also recommend updating to Orca 1.1 rc3 sr1 which seems a lot more responsive.

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Memory access error

Post by ftboomer » Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:09 pm

OK, I started locking up again. Went in an deleted the 2 files you mentioned and I'm surfing again. I'll report back after a while
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory access error

Post by kudos » Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:42 pm

Although Orca works well with most of the computers I manage, there was one that was misbehaving like yours. Since the fix that I suggested to you, it has not crashed in 6+ hours of use (not bad for beta software!). Here is the step-by-step process of what I did:
  • Update to Orca 1.1 RC3 SR1
  • Go to the Orca Profiles folder (in %appdata% for XP)
  • Rename the folder .default to .default.bak and make a new empty .default folder
  • Copy (if required) the following setting files from .default.bak to .default folder:
    conf.dat, conf\conf.dat, bookmarks\bookmarks.dat
  • Create the folder: .default\mozdata\UserData
  • Copy the attached file to .default\mozdata\UserData\prefs.js
  • Delete the .default.bak folder
  • Launch Orca
This ensures that all the unneeded files are removed.
If this does not work Kev, then I am out of ideas :-(

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Memory access error

Post by ftboomer » Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:01 pm

OK done, we'll see what happens. Thanks
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory access error

Post by kudos » Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:31 pm

I just had it crash on a site with lots of ads.
By unchecking the following options it is now ok:

Popup Blocker - Display the URL of blocked popup windows
AD Blocker - Display the URL of blocked ADs


Maybe it is a coincidence but worth noting.

Ericf
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 6:50 am
Windows Version: XP Pro
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: 8

Re: Memory access error

Post by Ericf » Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:28 pm

"Update to Orca 1.1 RC3 SR1"

Is this the update of 21 January please.......if not, where do I find this update?

Thanks

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory access error

Post by kudos » Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:34 pm

It is the update released on 24th January - see this topic

flavionoschese
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:26 pm
Windows Version: xp sp3
Avant Version: 11715
IE Version: 7

Re: Memory access error

Post by flavionoschese » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:06 pm

Dear sirs,

I reinstalled Orca 1.1RC1 over Orca RC3 and everything is working fine, now.

I don't have memory problems anymore with OrcaRC1.

There is something wrong at Orca RC3 that I got on 25th of January.

Regards,


Flávio

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Memory access error

Post by kudos » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:28 pm

Hi Flávio. Did you follow my instructions from my previous postings? I have opposite results: RC3 and RC3 SR1 work for me but the earlier versions don't!

Ericf
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 6:50 am
Windows Version: XP Pro
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: 8

Re: Memory access error

Post by Ericf » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:58 am

Reply 12 on this tread does seem to clear up all the niggly memory problems.

The only further point I can make is that it is not clear on the Orca website that there is a revision Orca 1.1 RC3 SR1, and this was not documented there in the update history!

Spped also seems to have improved!

Locked