v11.6 beta 09 and addons

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by kudos » Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:35 pm

When I installed v11.6 beta 09, my conf file became corrupted. So I deleted the config dir and reset all of my preferences. But I find that this version does not allow me to add IE addons - I only use iespell though.

Going back to previous builds works fine though. Any ideas.

Also, how do I turn off the log file in this build - it creates avant.log in the program dir.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:37 pm

I'm not sure about the log file, but if it's an issue you want to continue with, please post another topic.

Beta/Build 9 does allow Add-ons. I'm using them right now.

Is your list completely empty or is Avant not allowing you to select their check boxes?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by kudos » Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:43 pm

Yes, build 9 does allow addons if previously installed from another build.

The issue is that with build 9, all of my IE addons are listed correctly, but I cannot enable any more.

Hence, when I wanted to add iespell, I went back to build 4, added iespell, then build 9 uses it correctly.

Try disabling all of your addons in build 9, then restart Avant and try to enable them again. The check mark appears in the box, but no addons loaded. Go back to options and check marks are gone.

Now tested on two WinXP SP2 pc's.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Apr 02, 2008 6:02 pm

Still no problems here, but that's on Vista Home. I'll have to wait until this evening to test it on XP. Maybe someone else can verify in the meantime.

Is Google toolbar installed on those two machines?

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by André » Wed Apr 02, 2008 6:34 pm

It works correctly for me.

IE 7
XP Pro SP3 build 3311
AB 11.6 Beta 9
Latest version of IESpell
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:48 am

No additional toolbars (Google, etc) installed.

IE 7
IE Pro 2201
XP Pro SP2
AB 11.6 Beta 09
Latest version of IESpell

No firewalls, anti-virus, etc.

Both machines fine with 11.6 build 04.
Thanks for helping with this so far guys.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by hornakapopolis » Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:54 am

Well, no problem for me here at home on XP SP2, either.

Hopefully, someone else will come along that can confirm the issue.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:43 pm

Did you try it with a clean install of Avant 11.6b09?
Remember to delete your configuration files too.

As I said, if an addon is enabled by 11.6b04 then it remains enabled for 11.6b09.

andy2004
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:58 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by andy2004 » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:16 pm

I dont usually use the addon's but i just installed a couple of addons like adblockpro and flashget download all files from links etc, but I to am having the same problem, i select the addon's by putting a tick in the box, i click apply, close the window, close avantbrowser completely, restart avantbrowser and the ticks are gone.
oops wrong section should have posted in IE-plugins can someone deleted this post
Using XP pro with service pack 2, avantbrowser 11.6 build 9 beta

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:20 pm

Thanks for posting confirmation - I was begining to doubt myself.

Use the workaround (enabling with 11.6b04) to allow 11.6b09 to use the addons.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 03, 2008 8:02 pm

The bug still exists in v11.6 beta 11.

andy2004
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:58 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Re: v11.6 beta 09 and addons

Post by andy2004 » Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:02 pm

just downloaded beta 11 and still the bug. the tick removes itself

Locked