Avant Browser

Avant Browser community forum
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:31 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
Poston: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:26 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Texas
Avant Version:
When I try to access my ISP's web page with Avant browser, I get the following error:

ADODB.Command error '800a0d5d'

Application uses a value of the wrong type for the current operation.

/default.asp, line 105

This also happens in Internet Explorer 6.0 on the same computer with Avant Browser installed.  When I run Mozilla to access the web page, I do not get this error.  If I access this page on another computer with IE that has not had Avant Browser installed, the page renders fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #1 on: Fri Mar 07, 2003 12:12 am 
Offline
Fan
Fan
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 1:44 pm
Posts: 148
Location: Oisterwijk, Netherlands
Avant Version:
What happens if you install AB on the other computer (on which the page works under IE)?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #2 on: Fri Mar 07, 2003 2:29 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:26 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Texas
Avant Version:
Same problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #3 on: Fri Mar 07, 2003 2:59 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 5:41 am
Posts: 38
Location: A beautiful mountain valley.
Avant Version:
can we have the website that is causing the problem?

_________________
Floyd B. Henderson
Windows Me, IE6 SP1, AB Latest
AMD-k6 500 Mhz, Memory 183.51 MB


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #4 on: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:14 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:26 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Texas
Avant Version:
http://www.purelyonline.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #5 on: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:44 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Posts: 107
Avant Version:
Works for me. Maybe your isp was offline for awhile?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #6 on: Fri Mar 07, 2003 8:50 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Posts: 107
Avant Version:
Hey, I realize that wasn't a very helpful reply. I went to your ISP's webpage and found the following info in their FAQs:
How secure is Wireless Network?
Network security is provided through the use of Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum (DSSS) RF techniques. DSSS is a highly secure, FCC approved communication technique for the ISM band. In addition, RADIUS authentication of end user modems at start up and regular challenges prevents unauthorized access of the system. Additional system security is provided through the use of firewalls and application layer encryption where necessary.
So I am guessing, and it is only a guess, that it has something to do with their security checks not being happy with Avant although I can't understand why. Why don't you call your ISP support and see if they can help?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #7 on: Fri Mar 07, 2003 10:40 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Posts: 107
Avant Version:
Geez, I have just spent an hour reading about SQL servers and ADODB. There is a lot of info on Google about this error message. I have two suggestions that might work. Shut down your browser and empty the cache and then try connecting again. 2ndly, and this is kind of extreme, but it fits the info on the error message, (The following info was given in regards to user agent problem)

Quote:
If you want to remove it then open REGEDIT and traverse to the following hive:  
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\User Agent\Post Platform  
and delete the String Value: Avant Browser avantbrowser.com]  
you will need to repeat this every time you upgrade/reinstall the browser as it is recreated each time  

 

Thanks to auroras for this info about user agent and how to change it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group