Unable to Render my ISP's Web Page

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Unable to Render my ISP's Web Page

Postby tomhuynh306 » Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:30 pm

When I try to access my ISP's web page with Avant browser, I get the following error:

ADODB.Command error '800a0d5d'

Application uses a value of the wrong type for the current operation.

/default.asp, line 105

This also happens in Internet Explorer 6.0 on the same computer with Avant Browser installed.  When I run Mozilla to access the web page, I do not get this error.  If I access this page on another computer with IE that has not had Avant Browser installed, the page renders fine.
tomhuynh306
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: Texas
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Unable to Render my ISP's Web Page

Post Reply #1 by T-PO » Fri Mar 07, 2003 12:12 am

What happens if you install AB on the other computer (on which the page works under IE)?
T-PO
User avatar
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 1:44 pm
Location: Oisterwijk, Netherlands
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Unable to Render my ISP's Web Page

Post Reply #2 by tomhuynh306 » Fri Mar 07, 2003 2:29 am

Same problem.
tomhuynh306
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: Texas
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Unable to Render my ISP's Web Page

Post Reply #3 by benny » Fri Mar 07, 2003 2:59 am

can we have the website that is causing the problem?
Floyd B. Henderson
Windows Me, IE6 SP1, AB Latest
AMD-k6 500 Mhz, Memory 183.51 MB
benny
User avatar
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 5:41 am
Location: A beautiful mountain valley.
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Unable to Render my ISP's Web Page

Post Reply #4 by tomhuynh306 » Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:14 pm

tomhuynh306
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: Texas
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Unable to Render my ISP's Web Page

Post Reply #5 by Jay » Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:44 pm

Works for me. Maybe your isp was offline for awhile?
Jay
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Unable to Render my ISP's Web Page

Post Reply #6 by Jay » Fri Mar 07, 2003 8:50 pm

Hey, I realize that wasn't a very helpful reply. I went to your ISP's webpage and found the following info in their FAQs:
How secure is Wireless Network?
Network security is provided through the use of Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum (DSSS) RF techniques. DSSS is a highly secure, FCC approved communication technique for the ISM band. In addition, RADIUS authentication of end user modems at start up and regular challenges prevents unauthorized access of the system. Additional system security is provided through the use of firewalls and application layer encryption where necessary.
So I am guessing, and it is only a guess, that it has something to do with their security checks not being happy with Avant although I can't understand why. Why don't you call your ISP support and see if they can help?
Jay
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Unable to Render my ISP's Web Page

Post Reply #7 by Jay » Fri Mar 07, 2003 10:40 pm

Geez, I have just spent an hour reading about SQL servers and ADODB. There is a lot of info on Google about this error message. I have two suggestions that might work. Shut down your browser and empty the cache and then try connecting again. 2ndly, and this is kind of extreme, but it fits the info on the error message, (The following info was given in regards to user agent problem)

If you want to remove it then open REGEDIT and traverse to the following hive:  
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\User Agent\Post Platform  
and delete the String Value: Avant Browser avantbrowser.com]  
you will need to repeat this every time you upgrade/reinstall the browser as it is recreated each time  

 

Thanks to auroras for this info about user agent and how to change it.
Jay
Offline
Fan
Fan
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:42 am
Avant Version:
Top


Return to Archives



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

ABPro style designed by Statm1