11.6 build 04, please test

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by Sara » Sat Dec 15, 2007 10:43 pm

I won't test a beta until I have the option of turning off the download manager.

Sara :?

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by bigC » Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:07 am

Sara wrote:I won't test a beta until I have the option of turning off the download manager.

Sara :?
You can turn it off... that option was added in build 2,
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 91#p138591

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by Sara » Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:13 am

#-o

OK, I downloaded it. Two things:

When it re-opened it brought up a page calling it a release version http://www.avantbrowser.com/CheckUpdate ... ation.aspx

This may be why folks are getting the "New Version" pop-up.

How do I disable the D/L manager. I found iy under Tools, but I can't find the "Off" button. The first version I tested IE's manager came up too, so I had a choice, I see none here.

Sara :(

One more thing. Has anyone else noticed, instead of an "Avant Browser" taskbar button, the button in the taskbar now is the same as the active tab?
button.jpg

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by Sara » Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:35 am

bigC wrote:
Sara wrote:I won't test a beta until I have the option of turning off the download manager.

Sara :?
You can turn it off... that option was added in build 2,
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 91#p138591
zmy "Capture the Download" Option is unchecked and I still get the DM.

Sara :?

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by statm1 » Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:53 am

I think its built into Avant itself to display on that page whatever version you just installed. And it doesnt distingquish between a beta and a stable release.

As for the DM, when I uncheck "Capture the Download", the only thing that comes up is IE's download window. But there isn't away to turn IE's window off if you click cancel on Avant's DM if you have "Capture the Download" checked.
Image
-- Matt --

Wr2r
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:38 am
Avant Version: 11.5 Build 20

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by Wr2r » Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:02 am

It's ok.... the download manager is fine

although it makes no difference to me~ the AdBlock still hasn't been improved~ lol

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by Sara » Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:06 am

Now it's working (or not working, in my case) I guess I had to run it checked once.

Sara :D

Anyone else have the Taskbar button problem I mentioned?

Wr2r
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:38 am
Avant Version: 11.5 Build 20

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by Wr2r » Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:30 am

Oh, the downloader works quite well (?)
anyway, that's good to have such thing~ lol~~
Sara wrote:Anyone else have the Taskbar button problem I mentioned?
no.... ?

User avatar
nashwan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:52 pm
Avant Version:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by nashwan » Sun Dec 16, 2007 3:22 am

Really Great, =D>

I use AB since Nov 21 2004, and tell now am I really very surprised from this great program.
Now is work more than Browser, too many Programs in One :o
( Broser, Add blocker, Download manager, Image and Screen Cupter ..... ets ) :o

Thank you very much :)

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by André » Sun Dec 16, 2007 3:26 am

Anyone else have the Taskbar button problem I mentioned?
Well, yes. But I don't see it as a problem. That's the way it should be.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
Noyb
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 6:48 pm
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro - up to date
Avant Version: 11.7 B23
IE Version: I.E. 7
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by Noyb » Sun Dec 16, 2007 3:31 am

DrDrrae wrote:
Anyone else have the Taskbar button problem I mentioned?
Well, yes. But I don't see it as a problem. That's the way it should be.
I don't have the beta, but IE does that, and I don't really like it, for some reason.
Intel Pentium M 1.73 GHz processor, Intel Pentium 4 Duo-core 3 GHz
1 GB RAM
Windows XP Home, Pro - Service Pack 3
Avant Browser 11.7 Build 23
Internet Explorer 7
AVG Antivirus Free Edition 8.0
Windows Firewall

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by André » Sun Dec 16, 2007 3:35 am

It makes more sense if you use different windows instead of or together with tabs. Sometimes I have two or three windows open with a bunch of tabs in each one. It helps to distinguish between them.

IE, Firefox, Opera, Safari (I believe), and probably many more all do this.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:23 am

...but, I think bigC's suggestion is best.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by Sara » Sun Dec 16, 2007 5:17 am

DrDrrae wrote:
Anyone else have the Taskbar button problem I mentioned?
Well, yes. But I don't see it as a problem. That's the way it should be.
Did you look at the picture? I'm talking the Windows taskbar here, not Avant's. It's never been that way before!

Sara :shock:

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by addonsfan » Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:08 am

statm1 wrote:I think its built into Avant itself to display on that page whatever version you just installed. And it doesnt distingquish between a beta and a stable release.
"Congratulations, you have latest released Avant Browser(11.6 build 04) installed."
I think this is exactly what is causing the problem, but is the beta buils 2, it didn't detect an update. So that's kinda strange.
Sara wrote:Anyone else have the Taskbar button problem I mentioned?
Not really a problem, although I do think it should be an option. If you make it a suggestion I would support it.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by Sara » Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:33 am

It is a change, tho?

Sara

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by addonsfan » Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:35 am

yes... I think it was added on beta 4.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by statm1 » Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:59 am

Well my taskbar favicon doesn't change.. It stays at the Avant logo the whole time in Build 4.
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:35 pm

As long as the icon is still there (which I don't think Sara said was changing, statm1), I don't see the hurt in it showing the selected tab.

I remember somebody requested that a long time ago.

User avatar
G3n7r0
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:15 pm
Windows Version: Win7 64-bit
Avant Version: Latest
Default engine: IE10
IE Version: IE10
Skin: MonaiXP

Re: 11.6 build 04, please test

Post by G3n7r0 » Sun Dec 16, 2007 7:43 pm

Jasmine wrote:Improved Download Manager
Fixed the error that cannot switch focus to the page from address bar
Ok, this has been fixed the focus is no longer on the address bar, but the new page still opens up in the foreground for me despite the option to open new pages in the background. This happens if I use File-New-blank page/homepage or the 'new window' button in the standard buttons toolbar HOWEVER new page opens up fine in the background if I use the appropriate mouse gesture so I'm guessing those parts of code (for opening new pages) are somehow separate.
And on the mouse gestures topic, has anyone else noticed that the 'Open last closed window' mouse gesture does not work? It sure doesn't for me.

And yeah one more thing I noticed, for some reason while trying to open a fifth tab, a new empty line (toolbar) for tabs appeared putting the fifth in the lower toolbar. This happened only once and I closed the fifth one immediately, forgot to take a screenshot ;).

Avant 11.6b04 with MonaiXP skin on IE7, WinXP SP2.
Who monitors the birds?

Locked