A Tips page

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Speed up dobe Acrobat Reader

Post by Sara » Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:31 pm

Scrolin said:
I've installed the Acrobat Speedup utility which stops the reader loading all the plugins up front making it initialise very much faster.

It won't cure the 'lockup', but does stop it being a problem

You can download it from http://www.tnk-bootblock.co.uk/prods/misc/
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 5535#65535

Sara :D

inuyasha320
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NY
Contact:

Post by inuyasha320 » Thu Feb 10, 2005 2:15 am

Many of you may have problems with all of the banner and it's not been blocked on certain web sites




So to solve this problem, I have blocked all the banner ads and made sure that the web sites was still displayed probably


And after that, I posted my ad block list file on my web site


Here is a direct link to the air reared that is on

http://mysite.verizon.net/vze2241e/id20.html



And if you use Firefox days also a ad filter file for you too


PS for avant browser, scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page.[/code]
This is my anime wallpaper website. updated on 8/9/05 at 2:08 AM
(updated adblock files for avant browser and firefox added)
http://mysite.verizon.net/vze2241e


Image

User avatar
six.pack
Fan
Fan
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 11:36 am
Windows Version: XP SP2
Avant Version: no beta version
IE Version: IE 6.0
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Most Useful Tips

Post by six.pack » Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:49 pm

You can close a window by clicking the tab button with the Middle mouse button, double-clicking the tab button with the Left mouse button, or clicking the tab button with the Left mouse button while holding down the CTRL key.


"or clicking the tab button with the Left mouse button while holding down the ALT GR key".

Maybe it is a good tip for lefties. :)

Speaking as a leftie I thank you! I also merged this post with out "Tips" thread to keep things organized. Sara :D

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:59 pm

Good tip, but "Most Useful"? :D
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon May 09, 2005 3:50 pm

For those wishing to permanently remove the Links folder from the favourites;

http://www.theeldergeek.com/remove_link ... orites.htm

Mak0y
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:22 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Mak0y » Fri Aug 05, 2005 5:40 pm

If you want to open a link that is not clickable like avantbrowser.com or:

Code: Select all

www.avantbrowser.com
you can select the text and drag it to the leftmost of the browser, then release. It will open in another window. Try selecting it from the right to the left.

<--- this sense

:arrow: 8)

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:25 pm

Come accross a website thats disabled the right click menu?, there are two options for you;

1. Disable Javascript (Tools > Disable Scripts)

This is the most convenient option as all you need to do is click "Disabled Scripts" then refresh the page.

2. Grab the ScriptKiller Favelet

This is a small Javascript favelet that when clicked, disabled all scripts within the current webpage, including the Javascript that disables the right click context menu.

http://www.codehouse.com/javascript/fav ... ipt_killer

NB: As mentioned on the authors webpage, this disables ALL scripts and all code outside of the <html></html> tags, this has the power to render some pages to function incorrectly.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:55 pm

BTW, AdMuncher has a setting that disables the right click block-- http://www.admuncher.com/

Sara :)

User avatar
sam8988378
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:01 pm
Windows Version: Win 10 home, 64 bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016, build 12
Default engine: haven't set the default
IE Version: Microsoft Edge
Skin: none yet
Location: Portland OR
Contact:

Post by sam8988378 » Tue Jul 11, 2006 7:00 pm

Hi :)
First, I want to say thank you for the reg files. I just installed them today.
However, as usual, after the fact, I wondered if these were dependent upon having internet explorer's sp2 installed, and the reg files just allow access to it's functionality.
I don't have any sp's installed (way back when I knew even less than I know now, I deleted gui.txt from my win xp OEM home. My friend's exhusband fixed it by transplanting his xp pro, which turned out to be bogus. Disability doesn't allow for extra expenses like buying a real xp pro, and I don't have the storage to move everything off my hard drive, reformat -even if I knew how- back to xp home). So it isn't just a matter of stubbornness or I'd rather spend the money on ipod toys.

So will the reg files have any affect if sp2 isn't installed? I've manually updated .dll's from the sp2 windows update installation (which wouldn't install). Or should I just return the reg to its previous state?


xp pro no sp's
avant & orca browsers
NAV, McAfee security center, dsl
adaware & adwatch


DrDrrae wrote:Do you want IE's security features added in XP SP2 to work in Avant? Try these reg files at the following address.
Important: Always Backup Your Registry Prior To Editing Anything.
http://www.drdrrae.com/avant/sp2/index.php

At that site, you will find a few premade regs, and an uninstall reg.

The major feature at that site is the abilty to create custom regs. You can add only the features that you want.
A man may smile and bid you well yet wish you to the devil
But when a good dog wags his tail you know he's on the level
-anonymous

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Tue Jul 11, 2006 10:02 pm

sam8988378 wrote:So will the reg files have any affect if sp2 isn't installed?
No, I wouldn't think so.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: A Tips page

Post by MysteryFCM » Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:39 pm

Unfortunately bigC is correct - without SP2, the reg files won't have any effect.

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:39 pm

Yes, the reg updates only enable Avant to access SP2 functions that are installed, it doesn't install them.

Are you absolutely sure you can't install SP2? As I understood, this download was available even to users of pirated copies of XP. I think all security-critical downloads are available to everyone, because it's in the interest of legitimate users that unpatched copies aren't out there spreading viruses.

Alternatively, there's the option here to download a copy of SP2 that can be burned to a CD. If someone can do that for you, you should be able to install it without trouble.

I strongly urge you to get this fixed. SP2 is pretty much vital for security.
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

Locked