Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by Anderson » Fri May 18, 2007 8:09 am

Hello Everybody,

I just polished 11.5, fixed a few bugs:
http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1422 ... abbeta.exe

Now it's skinable. But old skin file must be updated by the new skin maker:

http://www.avantbrowser.com/release/skins.zip

Just open and save....

Thanks,

Anderson

Psykocyber
Fan
Fan
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:04 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3, Vista SP1, Win 7
Avant Version: V11.7 B21
IE Version: IE7 & IE8
Location: Denmark

Post by Psykocyber » Fri May 18, 2007 11:21 am

Found a bug, when I use the Search field and lets say I search on "Avant Browser" on Google. I always use shift+enter to open af new tab and it works, the problem though is that sometimes focus is still on the tab I used when I searched.
I have uploaded two pictures of it. I don't know if it's clear enough.
http://picasaweb.google.com/peter.oe/AvantBrowser

Also the brown color in the address bar when you load the page is nasty. The blue was nice.
Danish translator of Avant Browser, Folder2MyPC, Folderico & Google

User avatar
blitzmaster
Fan
Fan
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:13 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x86
Avant Version: 11.7 build 26
IE Version: IE 8
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by blitzmaster » Fri May 18, 2007 11:55 am

just installed it!

thanx! i hope its a big improvement from the last beta version!
By Any Means Necessary!

User avatar
ADukes
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 635
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:53 am
Windows Version: Windows XP Pro SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 19
IE Version: Internet Explorer 7

Post by ADukes » Fri May 18, 2007 12:06 pm

Last edited by ADukes on Sat May 19, 2007 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks Anderson for checking out my AB 11.0 feature request list,
now it's time to go on with 11.8:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=16116
Image
Windows XP SP2, IE7, AB 11.7 build 19

pglpla
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 11:27 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by pglpla » Fri May 18, 2007 12:28 pm

This is my first post in the forum, and before any other thing I wish to thank you for your great work.

There is an issue in AB11.5 that is so important for me that I had to roll back to 11.0:

The NEXT/PREVIOUS/CLOSE/... buttons are now docked to the tabs bar, so unless I don't show this last (I like to keep all in one single line) I haven't any chance to place them as in 11.0.
Many others have pointed up this issue: see http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=19305. I know that I can use the keyboard to navigate between tabs, but I would prefer to have the buttons back.


I really hope this will be fixed in the next RC or in the final version

Sincerely

Paolo
Last edited by pglpla on Fri May 18, 2007 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by ABman » Fri May 18, 2007 12:35 pm

I quite like the brown in the address bar.

djsolidsnake86
Fan
Fan
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:24 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Italy

Post by djsolidsnake86 » Fri May 18, 2007 1:51 pm

and i have this request
http://img299.imageshack.us/img299/1910/immaginero5.jpg

bug
sometimes when i drag & drop an internet link, it's not open

User avatar
daveshrop
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:12 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: 8
Location: UK

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by daveshrop » Fri May 18, 2007 2:29 pm

Like the brown progress bar too.Its warmer somehow

User avatar
fuzzylogic
Fan
Fan
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by fuzzylogic » Fri May 18, 2007 4:56 pm

Two things. One a bug and the other a change from 11.0b46

The Google Toolbar search problem is still there from the previous beta. If I open a new blank window and then type some text in the Google Toolbar (4.0.1601.4978) and hit enter the results are returned in a different window. In 11.0b46 the results were returned in the current blank window. This is very annoying as the other window happened to have my radio station playing.

Also in 11.0b46 the small navigation bar (cascade, minimize, restore, next, previous, etc.) is now attached to the tab bar and is not placeable. I wish to move it elsewhere and this doesn't appear to be possible.

System is Windows XP Pro SP2.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Fri May 18, 2007 6:01 pm

Psykocyber wrote:
Also the brown color in the address bar when you load the page is nasty. The blue was nice.
You can change the bar color in the new Skin maker. So far that's all I've figured out. :lol:

Sara :)

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by statm1 » Fri May 18, 2007 6:09 pm

Well, 1 thing with RC1 and one for the new skin maker.

1, Opening any of my old skins in the new skin maker and clicking save isnt letting me use it in RC1..

2, im still seeing slow page load times when compared to the first beta 4 build that was released. But, im not going to revert back to b4 im going to stick it out in rc1..

EDIT: And a third thing I just noticed. In options when I click to have Avant open all the url files. When I click apply and close it unchecks.
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by Sara » Fri May 18, 2007 6:45 pm

The system buttons still aren't movable even tho the new Skin Maker shows the old ones at the top right.

Sara :(

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri May 18, 2007 8:28 pm

I think those are for Compact mode, aren't they?

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by robc » Fri May 18, 2007 8:39 pm

Skin Maker issues (or more likely requests ;-) )

1. tab buttons are not skinnable (except by choosing the preset Visual Styles)

2. menus are not skinnable or at least selectable from a list of possible backgrounds (and thus, for example, we're stuck with the "striped" background in Crystal instead of the standard Windows menu background)

3. using a bitmap (either stretched or tiled) for the top background, upon first setting the skin is correctly flat, but upon restarting Avant the toolbars show a light border all around them - not around each toolbar, only the rectangle surrounding all toolbars, between the title bar and below the tab buttons. This renders impossible using a "flat" skin with the same color as the title bar as in IE7, for example. What's weird is that the problem arises after closing and restarting Avant, both in Skin Maker and the first time the skin is chosen inside Avant, the light border doesn't appear.
Image formerly known as Image

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by statm1 » Sat May 19, 2007 5:15 am

Well apparently there was a silent update. And my page load speed problem has been fixed. My old skins dont work yet though whether thats a problem with Avant or the Skin Maker i have no idea..
Image
-- Matt --

Bubbibubbi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 6:50 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by Bubbibubbi » Sat May 19, 2007 6:30 am

I'm now using the RC1, but i'm still having a big problem with this one..

On the old versions, when i wanted to open a picture on a new tab, i'd just had
to left-click and hold, and drag the mouse down to the tabs, and it
would open that picture in a new window..

But now it just goes totally crazy..

Just try and go to http://www.avantbrowser.com/
and left-click on this image:
Image
and drag the mouse down/up to the tabs..

That should open that picture in a new tab..
But check out what it does..

Actually, just try it with the picture i have in this post..
It opens about 28 new tabs..

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat May 19, 2007 7:08 am

Is it me, or is it doing some sort of "Open all links.." thing when dragging the image?

Bubbibubbi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 6:50 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by Bubbibubbi » Sat May 19, 2007 7:26 am

I'm not really sure what it does..
But what it opens isn't links..

It's html codes..
scripts and such..

Which ofcause it can't open.
This is how it looks for me when i drag the image in my last post:
Image
Click for lager version...

Psykocyber
Fan
Fan
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:04 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3, Vista SP1, Win 7
Avant Version: V11.7 B21
IE Version: IE7 & IE8
Location: Denmark

Post by Psykocyber » Sat May 19, 2007 8:35 am

I can confirm that, but the exact tabs are different.
Danish translator of Avant Browser, Folder2MyPC, Folderico & Google

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 RC1

Post by ABman » Sat May 19, 2007 9:07 am

A bit OT but. I've never understood why people like using drag-and-drop. I hardly ever use it, definitely not when using a browser or windows explorer. I find it's easy to make mistakes and sometimes I then wonder what happened.
I find mouse clicks and cut/paste much better.

Locked