Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by abfan123 » Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:52 am

Last edited by abfan123 on Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

shun5
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 5:46 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by shun5 » Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:16 am

abfan123 wrote:No known changelog yet
Download:
http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1422 ... abbeta.exe

Fast speed

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by robc » Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:48 am

Windows "system" buttons are again customizable: nice addition!
Image formerly known as Image

josephrot
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:52 pm
Windows Version: XP SP1 SP2 SP3 Vista
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 19
IE Version: IE 6 and 7 Firefox
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by josephrot » Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:16 pm

But are the memory management / resources previous-problems at least started to being addressed...

Most all end-users would seem that to be upper-most on their minds.


- The looks are nicer, icons and other visual details...some nice touches in ease of use too. Again, with AB 11.5...this is what IE7 should have been...not the dire mess that it, and Vista, have become.

- One last question seems answered...that being that AB 11.5 will recognize existing AB 11 Builds, and merely seamlessly update them as in the past.

If AB Beta 3 seems really stable, may be time to update our AB 11 Build 46's to it.
Last edited by josephrot on Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Computers are perfect! Absolutely nothing can guo wonge...
Those are NOT bugs in this software - Only Undocumented Transient Features

djsolidsnake86
Fan
Fan
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:24 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Italy

Post by djsolidsnake86 » Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:21 pm

i have this suggest for the compact mode
Image
it's possible? i think that is better

User avatar
fullbug
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 3:22 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post by fullbug » Fri Apr 27, 2007 3:47 pm

To be honest, I still like the last versions of 10. or whatever the first version was that introduced Autofill, maybe thats 11.0, I have tried the new builds including this one and dont like the layout, still sticking with the old version....If it aint broke....

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:03 pm

fullbug wrote:To be honest, I still like the last versions of 10. or whatever the first version was that introduced Autofill, maybe thats 11.0, I have tried the new builds including this one and dont like the layout, still sticking with the old version....If it aint broke....
Actually, now that we have our toolbar icons back and it shuts down when it's supposed to, I like this build, PB3.
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by Sara » Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:43 pm

The system buttons are back, but they are still wedded to the tabs bar. I want to be able to move them back to where they were in the menu bar. They were slidable in the menu bar before!

Sara :(

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by ftboomer » Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:52 pm

Sara wrote:The system buttons are back, but they are still wedded to the tabs bar. I want to be able to move them back to where they were in the menu bar. They were slidable in the menu bar before!

Sara :(
True, that was better
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
KY Dave
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 1:53 pm
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro, Vista, Win 7
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46SR
IE Version: 8.0.7600.3865
Location: Burkesville, KY
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by KY Dave » Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:04 pm

Sara wrote:The system buttons are back, but they are still wedded to the tabs bar. I want to be able to move them back to where they were in the menu bar.
I agree, this has caused me to use the SHOW WINDOWS TABS ON TOP option, so I don't have to go to the bottom of the screen each time I close a window.

If I go to the bottom of the screen with the mouse, I might as well double click the tab, so then the CLOSE Button becomes worthless.
KY Dave

Family Blog

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Fri Apr 27, 2007 8:16 pm

If its just the close you want Dave... you could use this add-on,
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 401#122401

Thanks for making the buttons customizable again Anderson. Having then movable would be cool too though...

User avatar
petergus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 3:55 am
Windows Version: XP PRO SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 31
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Sweden, Enkoping
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by petergus » Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:20 pm

Very nice GUI. :)

But still no way to disable the built-in RSS engine and no
toolbar buttons for manage AD blocker, ActiveX blocker,
Script blocker and Java Applets blocker.

And no support for IE7 zoom.

//Peter

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by Sara » Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:55 pm

Not to belabor the point, but the tabs bar needs all of it's space, while my menu bar is 2/3's blank. Also, if you're going to include the "New" icon in with the system buttons it sshould be optional. I like mine where it's always been and I see no reason to have it twice.

Sara

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by bigC » Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:58 pm

Sara wrote:Also, if you're going to include the "New" icon in with the system buttons it sshould be optional.
It is.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by Sara » Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:04 pm

Ahhhh! Thank you!
I haven't gotten used to usibg View-> Customise Buttons for something in the Tabs bar--like I said earlier--not intuitive. Everything else in the Tabs bar is controlled under Tools->Avant Browser Options.

User avatar
Ma®©uS
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 1:10 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 [Home Premium]
Avant Version: 2010 [1]
IE Version: 8.0
Location: UK

Post by Ma®©uS » Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:15 pm

Where did the "Search" button go from the Standard Buttons - its been there for years, and I used it daily.. why remove it?

And confirmations still appear in the top right rather than in the center..

Sriubol
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:31 am
Windows Version: Vista ULTIMATE SP2
Avant Version: Avant 11.7 Build 46
IE Version: 8.00.6001.18904
Location: THAILAND

Post by Sriubol » Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:46 pm

- When drag link to adress bar, it's not automatic open as old version
- defualt skin make slowly open page
- "open all link in tthis folder" command make slowly open page too

I want integrate google engine in AB because it's popular and more people will be choose AB

web:

Code: Select all

http://www.google.co.th/search?hl=en&q=
Images:

Code: Select all

http://images.google.co.th/images?hl=en&q=
Groups:

Code: Select all

http://groups.google.co.th/groups?hl=en&q=
Directories:

Code: Select all

http://www.google.com/search?q=en&q=
News:

Code: Select all

http://news.google.co.th/news?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&q=

User avatar
fullbug
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 3:22 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by fullbug » Sat Apr 28, 2007 3:45 am

Sara wrote:The system buttons are back, but they are still wedded to the tabs bar. I want to be able to move them back to where they were in the menu bar. They were slidable in the menu bar before!

Sara :(
That was the biggest reason why I switched back to the old version, I should have mentioned that in my last post....I like sliding it a little to the left and closing my pages that way....Picture file

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: Avant Browser 11.5 Public Beta 3

Post by Sara » Sat Apr 28, 2007 6:19 am

Exactly! But while we are in beta I'll keep up-to-date so I can continue to be PITA! :twisted:

Sara :D

BTW, even though I'm not fond of the menu bar icons, the System ones are a great improvement over the black ones!
Last edited by Sara on Sat Apr 28, 2007 8:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
nibs
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:39 pm
Avant Version:

Post by nibs » Sat Apr 28, 2007 8:36 am

In Vista Ultimate Avant always asks to be default browser at launch even though I set it to be default under options > files & protocols

Locked