AB 11.5 PB1 - Won't shut down

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

AB 11.5 PB1 - Won't shut down

Post by ftboomer » Wed Apr 25, 2007 3:19 pm

New Avant will not exit. Anyone else getting this? Whether I use the file>Exit or X out, Avant 11.5pb1 wil not shut down. Only shuts down with Task Manager .

Same issue on laptop & desktop. Both using XP Pro with all updates.
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
KY Dave
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 1:53 pm
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro, Vista, Win 7
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46SR
IE Version: 8.0.7600.3865
Location: Burkesville, KY
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Wed Apr 25, 2007 6:29 pm

I had the same problem, but ended up re-installing the beta and when I shut it down, I waited about 45 seconds the first time and it finally quit. The following times I shut down AVANT, it exited and completely shut down in about a second.

Maybe, we didn't give it long enough the first time to clear all the internet clutter?
KY Dave

Family Blog

User avatar
blitzmaster
Fan
Fan
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:13 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x86
Avant Version: 11.7 build 26
IE Version: IE 8
Location: Manila, Philippines

Re: AB 11.5 PB1 - Won't shut down

Post by blitzmaster » Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:23 am

i had the same problem..it hung up when i was in yahoo games! it was not responding and it didnt exit whe i tried to closed it...so i went to task manager and shut it down!

im running vista ultimate 32bit. :D

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Post by Jasmine » Thu Apr 26, 2007 7:37 am

Hi, there.
So..eh..Do you guys mean Avant takes no action to exit or The Avant.exe doesn't disappear in task manager?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Diogenes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 7:06 pm
Avant Version:

Program not closing

Post by Diogenes » Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:07 pm

Hi, Yes, the same problem here.

Will not shut down when exiting the program (close). avant.exe is still in Task Manager. The only way close Avant is to kill the process to shut the program down.

I have Windows XP SP2 with all updates and security patches.

BTW, Like the new modifications!

User avatar
KY Dave
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 1:53 pm
Windows Version: XP Home, Pro, Vista, Win 7
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46SR
IE Version: 8.0.7600.3865
Location: Burkesville, KY
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:26 pm

Jasmine wrote:Hi, there.
So..eh..Do you guys mean Avant takes no action to exit or The Avant.exe doesn't disappear in task manager?
During my experience...

AVANT disappeared from the screen when I clicked the X to close directly, but the TASKBAR ICON stayed visible for a minute or longer. I then had to use TASK MANAGER twice to kill the AVANT.EXE process.

It hasn't happened again though.
KY Dave

Family Blog

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:32 pm

I did a reload on my laptop but it didn't help. Now I'll do a complete uninstall\reinstall to see what happens
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:39 pm

No luck. Still won't shut down after a reinstall. Oh well. That along with the missing Previous\Next tab and close tab buttons will force me back a release.
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

Psykocyber
Fan
Fan
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:04 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3, Vista SP1, Win 7
Avant Version: V11.7 B21
IE Version: IE7 & IE8
Location: Denmark

Post by Psykocyber » Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:48 pm

Doesn't happen here.
Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit
Danish translator of Avant Browser, Folder2MyPC, Folderico & Google

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Post by Pip » Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:48 pm

I also have installed the Public beta and although it looks good, it also refuses to shut down from anywhere except the Task Manager. I will leave it this way a while to see what happens after a reboot.
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: AB 11.5 PB1 - Won't shut down

Post by ftboomer » Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:48 pm

Reloaded 11.0 build 46 and it works like a charm, plus i have my toolbar icons back.
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

avuser
Fan
Fan
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:15 pm
Avant Version:

Post by avuser » Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:28 pm

Try renaming "asvc.exe" to something else and see what happens...
XP Pro + SP2
AMD XP 2000+
768 MB RAM
IE 6.0.2900.2180

User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Post by ronnycopeh » Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:21 pm

I can confirm, I couldn't even right click, so I went back to 11. build 46. to many problem with beta. I did try renaming and nothing help but to get rid of.

avuser
Fan
Fan
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:15 pm
Avant Version:

Post by avuser » Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:43 pm

ronnycopeh wrote:I can confirm, I couldn't even right click, so I went back to 11. build 46. to many problem with beta. I did try renaming and nothing help but to get rid of.
It seems that you have more than one issue, like enabled Add-ons, but I am not sure. Try disabling some of the Add-ons if possible.
XP Pro + SP2
AMD XP 2000+
768 MB RAM
IE 6.0.2900.2180

User avatar
ronnycopeh
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:07 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 build 3
IE Version: 8
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Post by ronnycopeh » Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:46 pm

don't have any add ons, just the same problems everyone else seem to be having with exiting avant after install the latest beta

User avatar
Chef_Garry
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 7:58 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Calgary Canada
Contact:

Post by Chef_Garry » Thu Apr 26, 2007 5:16 pm

well not everyone. its working fine for me - I wonder what's causing the difference.

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Thu Apr 26, 2007 5:20 pm

avuser wrote:Try renaming "asvc.exe" to something else and see what happens...
No difference
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:37 am

Fixed in PB3. Works great now
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

Locked