New Bug Poll

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked

What's bugging you about 10.1 builds 20+?

Poll ended at Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:13 am

Avant doesn't honor EDITABLEREGION < div > tags' interpretation of hard returns
0
No votes
RSS not working with squid proxy and authentification enabled
1
3%
XPPro and Exception EOleException in module avant.exe errors
0
No votes
RAM Usage
5
16%
Avant turns the URL for the shortcut into lowercase
3
10%
When you enter Full Screen mode and then exit Full Screen mode, the Avant window resizes itself
1
3%
"Avant Service" Errors
0
No votes
Avant loses focus when switching to another application (program/window) and back
5
16%
Browsing of FTP sites incorrectly unlinked by AB
1
3%
Submit" buttons on forms STILL not working with AvtiveX disabled!
1
3%
Avant no longer permits "Back" button for Acrobat (New with Build 30)
4
13%
Problems with MS Outlook Webmail and GMail
5
16%
Problems with MS Outlook Webmail and GMail
5
16%
 
Total votes: 31

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

New Bug Poll

Post by Sara » Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:13 am

OK, fresh start. I've relisted the bugs I had saved in Clip-ip--I may have missed a couple, let me know. I'll let this run for a month and then refresh again.

Sara :)
Last edited by Sara on Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:07 am, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11319
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon Oct 10, 2005 10:23 am

Aren't the "exiting in 2003" and "loses focus" items fixed? I think the "loses focus" issue is only in the current Beta of Orca.

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:19 pm

Not only are none of these bugging me, I don't even understand some of them! What's that first one about?
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:25 pm

Sergei wrote:Not only are none of these bugging me, I don't even understand some of them! What's that first one about?
In some WYSIWYG editors,New line is replaced by <DIV> tag in Avant Browser but it suppose to be <P> tag.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:51 pm

Ouch...
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

User avatar
habs
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 1:45 am
Avant Version:

Post by habs » Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:56 pm

I am curious why this bug is not listed in your poll. This BUG has been present in Avant for almost TWO years without resolution! :roll:

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Post by robc » Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:36 pm

I'd say because it has never been considered really as such, as it was explained in the thread you mention: you are supposed to lose some functionality if you disable a component; also, if you remember, you were almost alone in experiencing this bug, so it's obvious that bugs afflicting many users have the precedence over other such as this.

According to you, then, I should ask why the COM issue I am still experiencing is not listed also... but the answer is simple, I was completely alone in getting it, nobody (myself included) could find the reason why it happened, I've figured out a workaround, so it's just as if it didn't exist. When all other more important bugs will have been solved, possibly these will be taken care of also, we'll see.
Image formerly known as Image

User avatar
habs
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 1:45 am
Avant Version:

Post by habs » Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:12 pm

robc wrote:I'd say because it has never been considered really as such, as it was explained in the thread you mention: you are supposed to lose some functionality if you disable a component
Then please explain why, when I disable ActiveX in IE, Maxthon, and in all of Avant Browser's competitors, that I can still submit information on web forms? ONLY in Avant does this broken behavior exist, so therefore, it is a BUG that needs to be resolved.

Now, granted, I may be one of the very few people who have complained about this, but I would think that after bringing this issue to Anderson's attention in countless threads and posts for two years, that something, anything would be done about this. Instead, I have received nothing but silence from Anderson and scorn from other Avant users for continually bringing up this issue.

Believe me, I want nothing more than to be able to use Avant Browser. However, until this BUG is fixed, I will continue this crusade, by myself if necessary, until the developer fixes it!
According to you, then, I should ask why the COM issue I am still experiencing is not listed also... but the answer is simple, I was completely alone in getting it, nobody (myself included) could find the reason why it happened, I've figured out a workaround, so it's just as if it didn't exist.
But this situation is different, because it is a confirmed, reproducible behavior that results in the same broken behavior each time -- therefore, by definition, it is a BUG. A BUG that, in my opinion, needs to be fixed because I (along with other security-minded individuals) always want to be prompted if entering information into an insecure web form, but choose to have ActiveX disabled.
When all other more important bugs will have been solved, possibly these will be taken care of also, we'll see.
Perhaps, but based on the past track record, I am not optimistic that this will be fixed anytime soon. :roll:

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:35 pm

habs,
I don't think that this bug should be urgently fixed since a simple workaround is available.
Just rename avant.exe to iexplore.exe and that's it.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11319
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:23 pm

habs wrote:...and scorn from other Avant users for continually bringing up this issue.
Commenting solely as myself and not a representative of the forum...

Pul-leaze :roll:

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:57 am

hornakapopolis wrote:Aren't the "exiting in 2003" and "loses focus" items fixed? I think the "loses focus" issue is only in the current Beta of Orca.
Are they fixed?

Habs, please note that your complaint has been noted in the Poll.

Sara :)

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11319
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:14 am

Well, since 3 people have voted on the focus issue, I guess not. However, I haven't had the focus bug since a fix was first mentioned quite some time ago.

Still don't have it. I know Orca does, though. Weird :?

I thought someone had posted that Build 30 fixed the exiting in 2003 bug.

Actually, here's the post. I guess it was 28.

Maybe we should add that some pages need refreshed before displaying properly due to the new Ad Blocker. We had a post about a user's banking website doing it and My Yahoo does it for me.

User avatar
habs
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 1:45 am
Avant Version:

Post by habs » Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:31 pm

Sara wrote:Habs, please note that your complaint has been noted in the Poll.

Sara :)
Thank you, Sara. :)

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:41 am

hornakapopolis wrote:Well, since 3 people have voted on the focus issue, I guess not. However, I haven't had the focus bug since a fix was first mentioned quite some time ago.

Still don't have it. I know Orca does, though. Weird :?

I thought someone had posted that Build 30 fixed the exiting in 2003 bug.

Actually, here's the post. I guess it was 28.

Maybe we should add that some pages need refreshed before displaying properly due to the new Ad Blocker. We had a post about a user's banking website doing it and My Yahoo does it for me.
Done and done! I had the same problem with needing to refresh pages and was blaming it on my ISP!

Sara :)

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:08 am

I just re-added the webmail issue--it disappeared! Gremlins again!

Sara :twisted:

dragoneyezed
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 8:32 pm
Avant Version:

Poll Closed?

Post by dragoneyezed » Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:03 pm

With the most recent update of Avant browser, I'm having several of these listed problems as well as losing all of my recently viewed pages (and the history) when the browser crashes, which hadn't happened with any regularity until now.

Mythox
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 12:57 am
Avant Version:

Re: New Bug Poll

Post by Mythox » Fri Apr 14, 2006 9:01 pm

could you please add the text size changing bug? I'm pretty sure it's not a mouse-driver specific issue and that it only happens to avant browser (see my post in the bug report for details). Thanks.

leckig
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 12:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: columbus ohio

Post by leckig » Sun Sep 03, 2006 12:39 pm

what about the google and space key bug? this is probably the most annoying. Also, the popup blocker eating OPEN IN NEW WINDOW tabs.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:25 pm

leckig wrote:what about the google and space key bug? this is probably the most annoying. Also, the popup blocker eating OPEN IN NEW WINDOW tabs.
This poll is rather outdated. The google bug is fixed in AB 11, see the beta forums...

Locked