New Default Search Engine

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
Bax
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:33 pm
Avant Version:

New Default Search Engine

Post by Bax » Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:53 pm

I would like to have Info.com as my default search engine in Avant. I don't see how to do that. When I go to the Search engine area it is populated with Avant and Google choices. It will not let me add my choice. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Bax

gary100856
Fan
Fan
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:50 pm
Avant Version:

Post by gary100856 » Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:06 pm

Same question I asked a few days ago and I am sure others in the past - cannot be done as of now
Avant 10.1 build 17
XP pro, IE 6
Kerio Firewall

Bax
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:33 pm
Avant Version:

Gary, Thanks

Post by Bax » Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:14 pm

Thanks. I won't waste any more time on it.

Bax

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:22 pm

Thats one very nice search engine ;) (am adding it to the new version of the AB Extension Pack as I write this)

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:12 pm

In the meantime, have you tried a Quick Search entry?

http://web.info.com/infocom.us/search/web/%s

Bax
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:33 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Bax » Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:25 pm

Denny,

I can't visualize how to use your quick search suggestion. Is there some way to automate it? I wouldn't want to type the whole string each time?

Bax

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:27 pm

Added to v1.1.0 (see the AB Extension Pack thread via the link mentioned above)

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:34 pm

Bax wrote:Denny,

I can't visualize how to use your quick search suggestion. Is there some way to automate it? I wouldn't want to type the whole string each time?

Bax
See: http://avant.it-mate.co.uk/ab_help/pgFe ... Search.htm

Locked