cursor in textbox after alt-tab

These archives contain old topics that were moved here to prevent clutter in the forums. These threads may still contain some useful information.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
tbsmith
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 4:03 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

cursor in textbox after alt-tab

Post by tbsmith » Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:32 pm

When I'm typing in a textbox, and switch to something else with alt-tab, I'd like the cursur to be where it was when I alt-tab back. But instead the cursor goes away and you have to click in the textbox where you want to type every time.

-Thanks
-Todd
Todd B Smith

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:45 pm

This has recently been added to Avant. Do you have the latest version?

There have been a few times for me when I can't see the cursor, but when I start typing or pasting it is there.

Since this feature has been added, I'm moving this from Requests to Help.

hornakapopolis

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:31 pm

hornakapopolis wrote:This has recently been added to Avant. Do you have the latest version?

There have been a few times for me when I can't see the cursor, but when I start typing or pasting it is there.
Latest build 165 and this bug is still there! Maybe it occurs only with specific settings...

Hornakapopolis, read my reply - here, please.

tbsmith, do you have that problem also with build 165?

Some help, you can "activate" cursor with: press F7, F8 or mouse scroll up/down (above tab bar)...

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:26 am

huh... am I the only one this is working for?

I can ALT+TAB out and return to Avant and it works fine. Maybe there's a "bug" on my system?

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:27 pm

hornakapopolis wrote:huh... am I the only one this is working for?

I can ALT+TAB out and return to Avant and it works fine. Maybe there's a "bug" on my system?
What is your OS and SP ? My - Win XP SP1.

Any other users with this problem/bug?

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:36 pm

I think it must be a "bug" on my system. I have it one my work computer running XP SP2, but not on my home computer running the same.

I've moved this back to Requests since it really hasn't been added.

hornakapopolis

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:03 pm

Added from another topic, because it's important...
hornakapopolis wrote:That's odd because I'm not having the problem when switching out of Avant. I've noticed that sometimes the cursor doesn't blink, but continuing to type or paste works fine.

Have you tried that or just stopped when not seeing the cursor?
The cursor doesn't blink.
Paste works.
Continuing to type doesn't work.

But if I switch the tabs - press F8, F7 - then it works - cursor is blinking.

Edit: also in the build 158

BTW I'm not sure, but I think this is more bug than request since it works good after pressing F7 and F8...


Windows XP SP1, NIS, Spybot, Avant 10.0 build 165

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Fri Jun 24, 2005 7:43 pm

Dreamer wrote:But if I switch the tabs - press F8, F7 - then it works - cursor is blinking.
Therefore I think it could be easy to fix, Anderson, please try... Thanks.
Dreamer wrote:Windows XP SP1, NIS, Spybot, Avant 10.0 build 165
Also on Windows XP SP2, Avant 10.1 beta 8 :(
Dreamer

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon Jun 27, 2005 12:31 am

In the meantime, try tabbing out of the text box and tabbing back.

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:13 pm

hornakapopolis wrote:In the meantime, try tabbing out of the text box and tabbing back.
OK, another solution but...

- if I press Tab and Shift+Tab, cursor is at the end of text

- if I press F7 and F8, cursor is exactly at the same place as before

...therefore, again, I think, it could be easy to fix, it is very annoying :(

BTW I think it's a bug, not request, since it works when I switch to another tab and back (F7, F8).

I added some bbcode to your last sentence so that it would show the 8 and the ) instead of a smiley. - hornakapopolis
Dreamer

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Fri Jul 22, 2005 8:47 pm

Deamer, I'm trying to add this to the Poll, but I don't understand it. Can you put it in one sentence?

Sara :?

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:05 pm

Sara wrote:Deamer, I'm trying to add this to the Poll, but I don't understand it. Can you put it in one sentence?

Sara :?
OK, "Avant lose focus when switching to another application (program/window) and back"

Please edit if needed, my english is not the best. Thanks.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:31 pm

Got it! Thanks!

Sara :D

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:17 pm

Fixed, thank you very much Anderson. :D
Dreamer

BugByteMan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:39 pm
Avant Version:

Post by BugByteMan » Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:05 pm

This is much improved - Still one important bug:

Clicking on the ACTIVE tab removes the focus ...

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:18 pm

BugByteMan wrote:This is much improved - Still one important bug:

Clicking on the ACTIVE tab removes the focus ...
Confirmed.

Anyway, you could start a new topic, since main bug of this topic has been fixed.

Or, any moderator could split these last two posts to new topic.

Locked