Opening error but not AB caused

If you're not using Avant Browser 2012, but need assistance, please post here. Don't forget to search Old Topics first, though, please!

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Opening error but not AB caused

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:46 pm

IE8-11.7 build 46SR
Shut down normally last night. Opened up this morning, screen spent a long time at Applying Your Settings then a completly wrong (i.e old windows screen/only Recycle Bin shortcut/same on Guest screen also)screen showed. Restart x3, same thing each time. Let it open its own way then Sys Restore got me back on track.
Is this a Local Profile folder or perhaps Pre-fetch error? I run PiriformCcleaner(v2.24.1010)at the end of each session. Its done this before but would correct after Restart. Very frightening now.
Last edited by kudos on Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved post to correct forum section
Love,Light and Peace
ian

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Opening error but not AB caused

Post by kudos » Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:08 pm

Sounds like a corrupted user profile. Are there any message in the Windows Event Logs? Any chance of a screenshot if it happens again? Try this to see if it helps: MS Fix It
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Opening error but not AB caused

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Sat Jul 17, 2010 12:53 pm

All started normaly this morning.
Event Logs for start-up yesterday:
1508-Windows was unable to load the registry.Detail-The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process. For C:\Documents and Settings\User Name\ntuser.dat
1502-Windows cannot load the locally stored profile.The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process
1515-Windows has backed-up....
1511-Windows cannot find the local profile and is logging on with a temporary.....

Have not tried MSFix-it yet. Wanted to show the above first.
Love,Light and Peace
ian

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Opening error but not AB caused

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Sat Jul 17, 2010 1:28 pm

May be relevant:

Local Disc (C:) >Documents and Settings
File: Administrater
File: All Users
File: Guest
File: Ian(my user name)
File: Ian(my user name)IanBFCD*******
File: Temp
File: Temp IanBFCD*******
File: Temp IanBFCD*******000 then sequentialy thru to File 016

Some of these are empty files.
2nd and 4th have an ntuser file
This is 24 files all told.
Love,Light and Peace
ian

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Opening error but not AB caused

Post by kudos » Sat Jul 17, 2010 3:10 pm

Hmm, corruption and locked files galore!
Firstly try the Fit It mentioned.
Secondly run chkdsk on your drive:
- in a command prompt type chkdsk c: /f (press enter)
- type Y when asked if you want to run it at system restart
- reboot your computer and see if any errors occur in the scan
- repeat the process until no errors are found
Then run a HiJackThis scan on your computer and post the results log here.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Opening error but not AB caused

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:13 pm

Thank you, Kudos.

Ran MSFixit twice. All l know is that all screen icons got moved.Nothing else showed wrong.
Ran chkdsk c: /f 3 times because the final screen only showed for a couple of seconds, not long enough to read it.
Ran Hijackthis. File attached.
I`d be quite happy to get rid of anything to do with Outlook/Win Messenger/Media Player/AVG Grisoft.
but all that may be for another time.
kudos-hijack-17th july10.txt
(6.12 KiB) Downloaded 1494 times
Love,Light and Peace
ian

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Opening error but not AB caused

Post by kudos » Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:29 am

Thanks - sorry for the late reply.

There is a process that I am not familiar with. If you don't know it either then I recommend that you select it for fixing:

Code: Select all

O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [F.lux] "C:\Documents and Settings\IAN SMITH\Local Settings\Apps\F.lux\flux.exe" /noshow
I cannot see any other suspicious items, but there are some invalid entries, so I recommend the following:

- Download and install UPHClean from Microsoft

- Download and install SubInACL from Microsoft.

- Execute the following commands from an admin level command prompt:

Code: Select all

cd /d "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\"
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=S-1-1-0=F
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=S-1-1-0=F
subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=S-1-1-0=F
subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive%\ /grant=S-1-1-0=F
- CCleaner - Run the cleaner component with all items selected
- CCleaner - Run the registry component and fix all issues
- In a command prompt type the following:

Code: Select all

netsh winsock reset
netsh winsock reset catalog
netsh interface ip reset %TEMP%\resetlog.txt
netsh interface reset all
netsh firewall reset
If any of the items fail, can you perform them in Windows Safe Mode.

Otherwise, you may have to create a new user profile any copy your settings over. I'll talk you through that later if needed.

Sorry for the lengthy post - just wanted to cover all bases.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Opening error but not AB caused

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:26 pm

Hi Kudos, Trust you had a good weekend.

Here is the link for F-lux: http://www.stereopsis.com/flux/ Its a little thing for darkening the monitor screen according to daylight/lighting-up time hours. You can enter you Lat and Longtitude if you like but it should do it automatically. I recommend it.

I will work thru the steps you have given me and revert.

Thank You
Love,Light and Peace
ian

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Opening error but not AB caused

Post by kudos » Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:40 pm

Thanks for the link - I need is a window in my padded cell to appreciate it!
Good luck with the instructions - just ask if you need help.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ReleaseRoderick
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:38 pm
Windows Version: WinXP Pro
Avant Version: AV11.7build46forever
IE Version: IE.8
Location: 4000 holes in Blackburn,Lancashire

Re: Opening error but not AB caused

Post by ReleaseRoderick » Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:24 pm

Downloaded and ran all as you suggested. Had learn and understand so ran it again.
Upon Restart l had the wrong Profile load and had to do SysRestore.
Then download UPHclean and SubInACL again. (uphclean.exe running in task manager)
I realise now that another file(in Doc and Settings) is made each time l`ve opened up and the wrong Profile etc...

I`m going to have to hold off for a while because l will be in a bad position if l lose this computer right now. Its not your info, its me trying to do it!
I will get back asap.

Thank you for your kind assistance to date.
Love,Light and Peace
ian

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users