Page 1 of 1

My invisible browser!

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:45 am
by hvanderh
Upgraded to the latests version - 11.7 and now have an 'invisible' browser. It shows in the taskbar and you see a flash when clicking on it, but the window itself is invisible.
Help please - What can be wrong?

Re: My invisible browser!

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:46 am
by kudos
Which version did you upgrade from / to?
Do you have a multi-monitor setup and it is trying to show on another monitor?
Does the old version still work (if you kept a copy)?

Re: My invisible browser!

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:46 am
by hvanderh
Old version was 11.0.0.0
Yes I do have two monitors, but it doesn't show on either of them.
The old version still seems to exist in the Avant Browser folder. The browser was open while upgrading (as I just had downloaded it). The install program closed it.
The only Avant.exe in the folder is the old one!

Re: My invisible browser!

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:47 am
by kudos
Please fully close Avant manually before attempting the update.
Sometimes the auto-close function fails when updating.
You can use this command in a command prompt to quit it:

Code: Select all

CODE: SELECT ALL
TASKKILL /F /IM Avant.exe

Re: My invisible browser!

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:47 am
by hvanderh
Thanks for your help, closed the browser and upgraded - works now as I can see the browser window
Next I wanted to reply to you using Avant, but now can't enter my username or password. Can't do any data entry on any webpage, tried Google - same issue.

Re: My invisible browser!

Posted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:52 am
by André
This is a separate issue so I've copied it to Avant Browser Help under the title Text input not working. and moved this topic to Avant Browser Resolved Issues since this one has been resovled.