My invisible browser!

Help issues and Bug Reports for the current version that have been corrected can be found here. Only staff members may move threads to this forum.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
hvanderh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:13 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest
IE Version: n/a

My invisible browser!

Post by hvanderh » Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:45 am

Upgraded to the latests version - 11.7 and now have an 'invisible' browser. It shows in the taskbar and you see a flash when clicking on it, but the window itself is invisible.
Help please - What can be wrong?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: My invisible browser!

Post by kudos » Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:46 am

Which version did you upgrade from / to?
Do you have a multi-monitor setup and it is trying to show on another monitor?
Does the old version still work (if you kept a copy)?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

hvanderh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:13 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest
IE Version: n/a

Re: My invisible browser!

Post by hvanderh » Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:46 am

Old version was 11.0.0.0
Yes I do have two monitors, but it doesn't show on either of them.
The old version still seems to exist in the Avant Browser folder. The browser was open while upgrading (as I just had downloaded it). The install program closed it.
The only Avant.exe in the folder is the old one!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: My invisible browser!

Post by kudos » Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:47 am

Please fully close Avant manually before attempting the update.
Sometimes the auto-close function fails when updating.
You can use this command in a command prompt to quit it:

Code: Select all

CODE: SELECT ALL
TASKKILL /F /IM Avant.exe
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

hvanderh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:13 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest
IE Version: n/a

Re: My invisible browser!

Post by hvanderh » Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:47 am

Thanks for your help, closed the browser and upgraded - works now as I can see the browser window
Next I wanted to reply to you using Avant, but now can't enter my username or password. Can't do any data entry on any webpage, tried Google - same issue.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: My invisible browser!

Post by André » Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:52 am

This is a separate issue so I've copied it to Avant Browser Help under the title Text input not working. and moved this topic to Avant Browser Resolved Issues since this one has been resovled.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

Post Reply