Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Help issues and Bug Reports for the current version that have been corrected can be found here. Only staff members may move threads to this forum.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Sun Feb 21, 2010 1:01 pm

Hello!
Since I installed build 46, a strange and annoying thing happens.
Whatever I enter in the searchbox, as soon as I press Enter or click on the world icon, it resets itself to "cane" (dog, in italian). This is not the first entry (alphabetically) on search chronology, but it was the first word I entered to test the Avant search toolbar when I switched from Google Toolbar with build 43.

Thank you!!!

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Sun Feb 21, 2010 2:11 pm

I can't edit messages, so I'll just add that I modified the strings in options to have the search performed on Google.

Anyway, the behaviour is this:
I enter the word in searchbox.
After confirming (pressing ENTER or world icon), it switches rapidly to "cane", then to the word I entered, then back to "cane" and it performs the search with it.

Images, groups, categories and news work fine.

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:01 pm

Other update (why this orum has no "EDIT" function? :-D).
My Avant version is 11.7 build 46 SR1.

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:22 am

PLease help. I removed Google Toolbar because Avant had problems with its latest version and now I cannot use built-in feature either. :-(

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by kudos » Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:49 am

Maybe your Avant configuration files are corrupted.
Close Avant then copy/paste the following into a windows command prompt:

Code: Select all

cd /d "%appdata%\avant profiles\.default" && xcopy /i conf.* "conf %DATE:/=% %TIME::=%" && del conf.*
Press enter to backup your files, then restart Avant and try again.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:13 am

Hello and thank you for the answer. Unfortunately, it didn't work.
I deleted manually .default folder and even the one associated with my account, since the string you provided did not work, possibily becausa I use Italian version of XP and the path is C:\Documents and Settings\[NAME]\Dati applicazioni\Avant Profiles

ANyway, the problem is still there. :-(
By the way, I've tried deleting all search terms using the Avant function and it deletes all of them EXCEPT "cane" so the issue keeps occurring.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by kudos » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:26 am

The environment variable %appdata% works with all languages, that's why I use it instead of a full path. Did you copy the full text including the double quotes?

Can you look in the Avant installation folder and check if there is a folder in there named .default - if so then rename/delete that too.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:33 pm

Hi!
I don't know what to say. I've tried your string and it told me that 0 elements were moved.
I've been in the folder and did the work manually.

As I wrote in previous message, I deleted both ".default" and personal folders but the problem is still there and even deleting search keys did not work since "cane" is not being deleted.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by kudos » Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:04 pm

OK, no saved settings, are you starting with a shortcut?
Let us confirm in batch file format:

Code: Select all

taskkill /F /IM avant.exe
rd "%appdata%\Avant Profiles\" /s
rd "%ProgramFiles%\Avant Browser\.default\" /s
"%ProgramFiles%\Avant Browser\avant.exe"
Save the above text as a .cmd file and then double click it.
Make sure you have backed up ALL of your Avant settings beforehand.
The problem still exists? If so can you post a screenshot.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:22 pm

Hello and first of all thanks for the support.

Even this time I had to modify the batch you provided, because it couldn't find these:
rd "%ProgramFiles%\Avant Browser\.default\" /s
"%ProgramFiles%\Avant Browser\avant.exe"

Anyway, i ran it but the problem is still there.

I cannot provide a screenshot, 'cause it would be useless. I'd need to make an .avi to show the problem, but I'm not capable and I think it couldn't be posted here.

Anyway, the behaviour is this:
I enter the word in searchbox (ie: "try").
After confirming (pressing ENTER or world icon), it switches rapidly to "cane" (the first term I ever entered in the searchbox the first time I used it), then to the word I actually entered, then back to "cane" and it performs the search with it.

Another thing. After deleting my profiles and logging in back to my account, the searchbox "chronology" (the words shown in the combo if I click on the arrow) is empty. Anyway, as soon as I try a search, it shows the problem.

Sorry, I don't understand what you mean when you say "are you starting with a shortcut?".

THank you again!

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:36 pm

OK, I made an AVI and I'm posting it on Youtube. It will be ready in half an hour.

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:56 pm

Hello again!
Here's the link:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZOdPu8QG1vg

Thanks!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by kudos » Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:09 pm

Thanks.

Please make sure that your setting is correct.

Tools >> Avant Browser Options... >> Search Engine >> Standard Search
Strumenti >> Opzioni Avant Browser... >> Motore di ricerca >> Ricerca


It should be:

Code: Select all

http://www.google.it/search?q=%s
Make sure it is NOT:

Code: Select all

http://www.google.it/search?q=cane
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:28 pm

HAHAHAHA!!!
I feel so stupid, now...
^__^

Thank you very much, that was the problem.
;-D

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by kudos » Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:37 pm

That's good. Not stupid but wiser now! I wonder what files you were deleting??...
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
ElimGarak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:01 pm
Windows Version: XP Pro SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 46 SR3
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: Italy

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by ElimGarak » Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:54 pm

^__^

Don't know. Isn't configuration stored on webserver? That could be the reason why they were reloaded every time.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant searchbox resets after installing 46

Post by kudos » Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:56 pm

Only if using online storage - but you did not say that you were - and we deleted the settings folder so Avant would not know to log into it.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Post Reply