LastPass Support

Help issues and Bug Reports for the current version that have been corrected can be found here. Only staff members may move threads to this forum.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
Cary
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:36 pm
Windows Version: XP & Vista
Avant Version: Always Up-to-date
IE Version: 8

LastPass Support

Post by Cary » Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:43 pm

Because of some limitations with RoboForm supporting anything above and beyond IE & FF based browsers, I am looking to switch to LastPass. It is a fantastic and well thought out application. What's the chance of you working with them to get support included in Avant?

Cheers...

Moved to AB Discussion. -DrDrrae
Cheers...


Cary

Recent convert from RoboForm
LastPass is RoboForm on steroids!!! Check it out!

User avatar
Cary
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:36 pm
Windows Version: XP & Vista
Avant Version: Always Up-to-date
IE Version: 8

Re: LastPass Support

Post by Cary » Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:53 pm

Well, after posting this I started configuring Avant a bit. And guess what? LastPass showed up in the Plug-ins. After activating them, I have full LastPass functionality inside Avant! One more reason to switch from RoboForm. LastPass works for IE, FF, Avant, Chrome! Going to try Opera now, but at this point I think I am a LastPass convert!!!

Cheers...
Cheers...


Cary

Recent convert from RoboForm
LastPass is RoboForm on steroids!!! Check it out!

bigbearmike
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:45 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

Re: LastPass Support

Post by bigbearmike » Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:48 pm

I have the same problem - anybody any idea what "configuration" needs to be made to get the LastPass plugin to show?

bigbearmike
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:45 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

LastPass Plugin

Post by bigbearmike » Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:54 pm

I've installed LastPass, and imported all my login/password data from RoboForm.

I have both IE8 and Firefox installed (with both of which LastPass works fine) but my preferred browser of choice is Avant.

The plugin icon does not show in Avant - and I just can't seem to find a way to make it do so. I'm mystified.

Help? Advice? Please!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: LastPass Support

Post by kudos » Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:06 pm

Enable within options: Tools >> Avant Browser Options >> Add-ons >> IE Plug-ins ENABLE LastPass Toolbar
To show the toolbar: View >> Toolbars >> LastPass Toolbar



Merged Similar Posts - kudos
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

bigbearmike
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:45 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

Re: LastPass Support

Post by bigbearmike » Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:02 pm

SUCCESS!!

Thank you - I'd seen the items "LastPass" and "LastPass Fill Forms" and I'd checked those - but I didn't notice the item "LastPass Toolbar" further down.

My bad! - May I serve as an example to orhers! LOL

bigbearmike
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:45 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

Re: LastPass Support

Post by bigbearmike » Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:30 pm

Ooooops!!

I spoke too soon.

Yes, that procedure makes the toolbar appear - but it's unusable since, the instant I change tabs, the LastPass icon disappears, leaving an empty and useless toolbar.

Anyone any advice?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: LastPass Support

Post by kudos » Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:52 pm

Looks like something is broken in LastPass v1.50. I just tried with v1.40 (available from https://lastpass.com/releases/) and it seems to work fine with multiple tabs, but I haven't done a thorough test...
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

bigbearmike
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:45 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

Re: LastPass Support

Post by bigbearmike » Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:17 pm

Unfortunately, I seem to be stuck in the middle of this one. You say LastPass (or at least 1.5) is 'broken' - whereas LastPass say that the previous version didn't work with Avant either, because AVANT is 'broken'!!!

Which sort of leaves me with nowhere to go - I either have to do without LastPass or without Avant.

The latest answer I got from LastPass was ..
"I'm saying Avant is fundamentally broken, and we don't know how to deal with their browser. To sum up LastPass' point of view:

Deleting every addon and then re-adding every add-on with every tab switch is horribly inefficient and we don't know why they'd do something so obviously disadvantageous to their customers. This is the slowest possible way we could possibly think to implement a tab browser, IE for all it's faults is orders of magnitude faster.

If they'd like to work with us to fix it we'd be happy to do so."


Personally I can see no alternative but to put up with RoboForm until I have time to transfer all my bookmarks and links over to Firefox where I CAN use LastPass - but surely there must be a lot of other users out there facing the same problems?

Disappointing.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: LastPass Support

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:15 pm

When I said "broken", I was not implying blame but stating incompatibility. Sorry if I upset anyone!

I found the discussion on the LastPass forum - you (bigbearmike) must be pensbury.

Unfortunately Anderson (Avant's sole developer) is the only one who can comment on the un/loading plugins situation, but I'm sure that he's busy working on Avant v12 for now.

Were you able to test with an older version? My quick test showed that switching tabs in Avant v11.7.26 with LastPass v1.40 worked correctly. If you can confirm it too then maybe both sets of developers could find a common ground for working on a fix.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

bigbearmike
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:45 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

Re: LastPass Support

Post by bigbearmike » Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:21 pm

I'll try. Then report back.

Let's hope. :)

bigbearmike
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:45 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

Re: LastPass Support

Post by bigbearmike » Sun May 03, 2009 12:40 pm

OK tried it .. ..

I uninstalled LastPass 1.5 and installed 1.46 - no difference!

I uninstalled LastPass 1.46 and installed 1.40 - success, up to a point. The LastPass toolbar AND icon remain when switching tabs - but logs out so I have to re-login every time I change tabs. Not sure if I'll get used to it, or it'll drive me mad. Let's see.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: LastPass Support

Post by kudos » Tue May 05, 2009 9:44 am

Have you passed the info on to the LastPass developers?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

bigbearmike
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:45 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

Re: LastPass Support

Post by bigbearmike » Wed May 13, 2009 9:24 pm

I hadn't (having been away from home for a while) - but, I have now.

polocanada
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 10:08 am
Windows Version: vista
Avant Version: 11.7.30
IE Version: 8

Please fix Lastpass.com functionality

Post by polocanada » Sat May 30, 2009 10:27 am

I know there is a blame game between Lastpass and Avant about who's fault is it. Both. Lastpass added functionality and rendering it disfunctional completely in Avant (verison 1.4 worked with limitations) and Avant has a strage way of loading and unloading add-ons with every opened tab. So that even I managed to run Lastpass 1.5 in Avant 11.7 (IE 8.0), it works till a new tab is opened. Then both the lastpass page dies as well as the button. That's something Avant needs to fix. Here is a screenshot: http://i44.tinypic.com/wt9mpk.jpg. Thanks.

Merged. Please search before posting. -DrDrrae

jockgabb
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:03 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: LastPass Support

Post by jockgabb » Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:46 am

Followed your instructions and looks as though its working, LastPass that is, now I can go on using Avant, Thanks.

jockgabb
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:03 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Re: LastPass Support

Post by jockgabb » Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:14 am

Spoke too soon, like other post as soon as changed Tab it disappeared.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: LastPass Support

Post by kudos » Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:29 pm

The last version of LastPass that was compatible with Avant is version v1.40 but unfortunately they have removed it from their website - you probably have to request it from them (unless anyone else reading this post has a copy and would share it).
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: LastPass Support

Post by pkchu520 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 6:42 am

I updated to the latest build 12 and LastPass plugin icon is missing. I found out the LastPass Toolbar option is not found here:

Tools >> Avant Browser Options >> Add-ons >> IE Plug-ins ENABLE LastPass Toolbar

Please help.
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2017 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 10

User avatar
pkchu520
Fan
Fan
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:38 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 built latest
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal

Re: LastPass Support

Post by pkchu520 » Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:00 pm

Why am I not getting any support from Avant Staff? I used to get help from Xiaobing but even she doesn't response anymore. Is she still with Avant?
Pablo
Avant Browser Ultimate 2017 build latest
Default rendering engine: IE11 standard
IE version: IE11
Windows version: Windoes 10

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users