Deletion confirmation appears under menus

Help issues and Bug Reports for the current version that have been corrected can be found here. Only staff members may move threads to this forum.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
Paparazzi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 11:09 am
Avant Version:

Deletion confirmation appears under menus

Post by Paparazzi » Wed Sep 27, 2006 8:36 am

Sorry if this has been mentioned before ...

Try deleting a bookmark by right clicking ... either from the Links bar or the the Bookmarks Menu. The Confirmation menu goes into the background ... and if the drop down is 2 columns wide, one would never know that the confirmation menu is lying behind ... waiting to be clicked! In the meantime, nothing else works ... meaning one cannot go to another window or click another bookmark or do anything as AB is waiting for the confirmation!

Oopps ... forgot to mention ... its AB 11 build 5

Cheers

I've changed the name of this post from Deleting Bookmarks! to Deletion confirmation appears under menus. - hornakapopolis

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:45 am

I know I had that back in the Alphas, but I don't have it with Build 5.

There was a silent update for 5, I wonder if it fixed this. Can you try to re-download Avant?

mlfinch
Fan
Fan
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 9:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: El Cajon, CA

Re: Deleting Bookmarks!

Post by mlfinch » Wed Sep 27, 2006 2:44 pm

It is back with the silent update. Haven't installed Build 6 yet so hopefully it is still there.

Paparazzi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 11:09 am
Avant Version:

Re: Deleting Bookmarks!

Post by Paparazzi » Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:51 am

Just checked this on build 6 and the problem still exists!

gint
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:32 pm
Avant Version:

bookmark deleting bug

Post by gint » Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:52 pm

When deleting a bookmark through right click menu the confirmation prompt remains somewhere in the background, disables confirmation by mouse and requires to use Enter key.

Since this already was reported, I have merged this post with the appropriate thread. I have also moved this to comfirmed bugs section. -bigC

BobF
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:34 am
Avant Version:

problem deleting bookmarks if

Post by BobF » Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:49 am

Hi,

i'm using the AB 11 build 21 (the same in previous AB 11 builds).
In the Avant Browser option -> miscellaneous , enable -> "Use IE favorites as bookmarks".
When you now try to delete a Bookmark from the Boomarks list, the "Confirm File Delete" screen is set behind the bookmarks. (it's hide).
This doesn't occurs if the "Use IE favorites as bookmarks" is disabled !
There the "Confirm File Delete" windows comes in front.


This occurs on different systems (winxp Sp2)..

Please fix this.

many thanks and rgs Bob

batagy
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 11:52 pm
Windows Version: WinXP SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: IE8.0
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: problem deleting bookmarks if

Post by batagy » Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:59 pm

Yeah I experienced this same bug also.
Since the confirmation dialog appears behind the IE favourites, it's not possible to click it. It's possible only escape with the escape button.
XP SP2 IE6.0 SP1 here.
Avant 11.0 build 21, also was in previous versions.

Paradisonoot

Re: problem deleting bookmarks if

Post by Paradisonoot » Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:48 am

The confirmation-window will pop up when you hit your windows Start-button.

User avatar
scubamaster
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Florida, USA

Re: problem deleting bookmarks if

Post by scubamaster » Sat Oct 21, 2006 1:16 pm

This has been reported and confirmed in this thread:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=16301

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz; 4GB RAM; Nvidia GeForce 8600GT w. 280.26 driver
Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit SP1 (all patches)
Avant: V2011 b30 - (IE Favorites - No On-Line Storage)
IE V9.0.8112.16421-Upd 9.0.2; Java: 1.7.0.147; Flash: V10.3.183.5
Windows Security Essentials V2.1.1116.0

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:02 pm

I've merged BobF's thread with the one referenced by Scubamaster

sparadise
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 2:59 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Deletion confirmation appears under menus

Post by sparadise » Sat Oct 28, 2006 8:42 pm

One way around this problem is to just hit the Y key and Enter and the favorite will be deleted. Steve P

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Deletion confirmation appears under menus

Post by jis » Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:20 am

Avant user since the year 2003.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:24 am

This problem should be fixed in build 35.

Moved to Resolved -bigC

Post Reply