Page 10 of 12

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:01 pm
by gary100856
:?:

re - Similar Websites bar. I turned it (back) on, but it stays blank for the most part - how does it work? For example when I am on this page (Avant Forum) I get a list things like Add-ons Mozilla Opera etc, but when I am at the New Scientist or the Scientific American sites there is nothing (although when I tried the bar the first time, several days ago, it then gave a bunch of similar sites for these two)

Also, I put the Similar Websites bar at the bottom of the page. The menus of similar sites still try to drop down so most of them are missing off the bottom of the screen

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:03 pm
by hornakapopolis
Yes.

and also, I have 116. Is that what the thread should read?

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:52 pm
by crom

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:09 pm
by gary100856
well, this may not be the place but ... regarding the Similar Websites bar

when I restarted Avant I found it began to list more things especially for Yahoo and Hotmail and some newspapers, and Avant some others, but still nothing for New Scientist and Sciam or Discover magazine, either. That was with version 115

Now I upgraded to 117. There are now lists for New Scientist, Sciam, and Discover, but nothing for the newspapers (International Herald Tribune and Toronto Globe and Mail) , and the the list for Yahoo is mainly in Cyrillic which would be great if I read Russian.

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:14 pm
by HarryP
For me, the new 117 works fine. No problems!

Good job , Anderson.

This might be a new final version! :)


HarryP

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:17 pm
by gary100856
ok ... now, I have restarted once again (testing how the Similar Websites bar works at the bottom of the page in version 117 - it is still off the page) and with the restart all pages mentioned earlier now have lists on the similar sites bar and they are all in English. Interesting - I still wonder how it works, but at least now it is working on all pages.

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:02 pm
by robc
Anderson, everything seems to work fine for me with b117, BUT... wouldn't it be possible to fix that long-standing bug of the floating picture toolbar overwriting existing files? [-o< It would be enough to check if a file with the same name already exists, or, better, automatically attach "something" (an auto-incremented number, for example) to differentiate the current file being saved from any already existing, speeding up the process.

Good job

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:18 pm
by abfan123
Very nice
And now the Secunia vulnerability is totally fixed
In the previous build (116) it still worked but it's appeared in the Secunia tab
Now it even not appear :-)
Well done!

Re: Recently opened pages

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:57 pm
by gfd
nimmer_dk wrote:Hi,

It seems that the number of recently opened pages is very reduced in the latest beta builds (from 112 and up, I think). Is this on purpose or is it a bug?

nimmer
True, hadn't noticed it. It's very useful to have a long list, so if it's possible, then I'm all for making it customizable :)

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:05 pm
by Sara
OK, it happened again! To be clearer--it's not the download box that disappears when you close the browser, the box that come ups next flashes for a half sec (when you click "run" in the download box--the security warning?) and after that nothing--I had to go to the file in Windows Explorer to install 117.

Sara :?

I re-ran it with the browser left open and the Security warning came up normally. When I clicked run the installer launched without warning me to close the browser.

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:06 pm
by hornakapopolis
Okay... I've had that happen, too, eveer since installing SP2... but I've also had the Download Complete box disappear.

And I just downloaded 117 and had it happen again, too.

Hmm

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:32 pm
by abfan123
Download part is completely internet explorer
It seem to be a bug in Internet Explorer (It happened to me several times with Internet Explorer)

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:48 pm
by bigC
Yeah, me too. I started the dl, shut AB & when I clicked run it just closed & the installer didn't start. Thats on XP SP2.

Edit: Just tried again, 117 seems fine. IE is also fine.

Mouse over menu (FLASH)

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:52 pm
by justafreak
I noticed with Build 117 the Flash menu doesn't work anymore. Anyone else have this problem??

~Steve

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:56 pm
by gfd
I noticed with Build 117 the Flash menu doesn't work anymore. Anyone else have this problem??
True, it's not working for me either. Don't know since when, though, since I have almost forgotten about it. (it's enabled)

Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:07 am
by Sara
Flash Menu?

SaraImage

Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:10 am
by justafreak
Sara wrote:Flash Menu?

SaraImage
Yeah the option to moouse over pictures selected text and the one I use flash movies. The menu gives the option to open file in the flash player or email it to someone as well as save the file to disk. It's a great feature if you collect flash files like me :)

~Steve

Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:14 am
by bigC
I can't seem to get it to show either.

Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:04 am
by Sara
Thank you! I keep it turned off, so I forgot it's there.

Sara :)

Posted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:20 am
by justafreak
Your welcome. I love that feature. I collect the Foamy cartoons from illwillpress.com.

~Steve