New Version: Avant Browser 10.0.121

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:40 am

lykovaa wrote:Got build 107.

Concerning close, minimize buttons etc. for the tabs (not for the main windows) - their tooltips are still improperly displayed with squares instead of letters (Russian, in my case).

Thanks.
May I know the version of your windows, language of your system. and language of your Avant Browser?

pydon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 2:44 pm
Avant Version:

Post by pydon » Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:28 pm

Avant Browser 10 build 107
WinXP SP2
French


The translators have a problem with the windows titles, because the text keys ("Caption=...") do not work. This means that all the windows titles, like "Customize Buttons", "Keep Avant Browser Alive and Powerful", Avant Browser Options" or "Add feed" do not work. We cannot translate it, it stays in English. We just need the new keys. :wink:

It worked with the build 101. I haven't tested the 103rd.


edit: It works with the 108. :wink:
Last edited by pydon on Sat Jan 22, 2005 1:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

HarryP
Fan
Fan
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:29 pm
Windows Version: WIN 7 SP1 home premium
Avant Version: 2011 beta 18
IE Version: IE9
Location: south germany
Contact:

Post by HarryP » Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:36 pm

robc wrote:
robc wrote:I'm getting a □ instead of those characters.
The Groups issue is somewhat more complicated than that. It appears that some extended characters DO appear correctly, for example alt+255 and alt+249 (just a random test), while accented vowels do not; àèìòù display as □, while ü displays as a Japanese character :-s
The build 107 works fine, but the problem with ü,ö,ä... is still there!


WIN_XP_SP2
Avant 10.0 built 107
Avant language: german


HarryP
Image

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:30 pm

build 108:
http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1459 ... /avant.exe

Fixed most of reported display issues.
shiojapan wrote: 3. About the Groups problem, Japanese letters look like squares. And a bracket to close is added at the tail of each existing group name. If I try to remove the bracket using "Rename", the group are duplicated into ten or so.
Can you properly create new groups in Japanese and properly edit them?

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Post by robc » Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:26 pm

Anderson wrote:build 108:
http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1459 ... /avant.exe

Fixed most of reported display issues.
I must be in the (all - most) result set :wink: for I'm still experiencing the group problem and the favorite icon problem with some extended characters, just as I reported before; it's actually not so much of an issue now, since I haven't many group items with those characters, and I can always rename them to something else - but still I'm sorry that the problem has not yet been sovled. I'd like to know if people using AB in languages that use accented vowels - Italian and French, for example - are experiencing the same or not, it might be of help.
Image formerly known as Image

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:49 pm

Anderson wrote:build 108:
Can you properly create new groups in Japanese and properly edit them?
I cannot properly create new groups with accented vowels under Czech locale nor edit them. It seems to me that Avant saves new group name and group item name in plain code page 1250 (default code page in Czech locale), but beside this it seems to me that Avant needs all information in groups.dat coded in UTF-8.

Is this the missing clue for you?
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
shiojapan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 3:48 pm
Windows Version: 7 Ultimate 64bit
Avant Version: 2010 Build 107
IE Version: 8
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Post by shiojapan » Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:40 am

Hi Anderson,

I installed the newest beta on another PC.
---
AB 10.0 build 108
Windows XP SP2
Japanese
---
Anderson wrote:build 108:
Can you properly create new groups in Japanese and properly edit them?
I should say no... The group file may become broken while I test some cases. And it seems that Interface Language influences the behavior.

(1) While Interface Language is Japanese

1. I can't open any groups. If I select "Open All Links in This Group", nothing happens.

2. The tooltip hints which appear when I point the "Open All Links in This Group" are scrambled.

3. Japanese letters of History in side panel are OK.

(2) After I change Interface Language to English

1. I can open groups.

2. The tooltip hints which appear when I point the "Open All Links in This Group" are OK.

3. Japanese letters of History in side panel are scrambed.


Regardless of Interface Language, some unnecessary brackets in Group names are still there. The tooltip hints of Favorites and Feeds in side panel are OK. Thank you!

Coolnat2004
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 623
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 6:54 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NKY
Contact:

Post by Coolnat2004 » Sat Jan 22, 2005 3:25 am

108 still working fine for me, English XP Home.

BTW, If Japanese was a foreign language at my school, I'd be all over that just because Japan is so cool. :wink:

User avatar
lykovaa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 4:12 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by lykovaa » Sat Jan 22, 2005 4:38 am

Anderson wrote:
lykovaa wrote:Got build 107.

Concerning close, minimize buttons etc. for the tabs (not for the main windows) - their tooltips are still improperly displayed with squares instead of letters (Russian, in my case).

Thanks.
May I know the version of your windows, language of your system. and language of your Avant Browser?
Windows XP SP1 English Corporate + Russian MUI. Avant is Russian.
But it happens to work now in build 108. Thanks.

Got another problem. Nearly critical and very annoying, as for me.
When I type a URL in address bar in Avant Browser, I get a dropdown list with the history of URLs I visited before. And the list in Avant Browser is very short. IE works fine.

An example would be the best to understand the problem.
When I type "forum.ava" in Avant Browser address bar, I get a dropdown list with:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com

and that's all. And when I type "forum.ava" in IE (6.0.2800), I get:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/posting.php
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/posting.p ... te&p=66868
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/posting.p ... ply&p=9423
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewforum.php?f=6
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewforum.php?f=7

etc. Many lines, which are very usable.

This problem seems to exist since build 103 or so.
Anton Lykov, Russian translator for Avant Browser

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Sat Jan 22, 2005 5:25 am

http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1459 ... /avant.exe

Hi, Everybody,

Please test the above version, build 109.

The groups bug should be fixed in this version, please double check.
Please also check the History feature.

Please let me know if you find anything that doesn't work, please also report your system version, system language and Avant language.

Thanks,

Anderson

User avatar
lykovaa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 4:12 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by lykovaa » Sat Jan 22, 2005 6:05 am

Anderson,

the problem I reported two messages above in this forum thread still persists in build 109.

Seems to me, that it's pretty important to fix it before the next public non-beta build is done.
Anton Lykov, Russian translator for Avant Browser

User avatar
wilson389
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 8:01 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Hong Kong, China

Post by wilson389 » Sat Jan 22, 2005 6:22 am

Anderson:
Newbie here! Tried build 109, everything is fine and nice. Though the popup blocker should strengthen a bit. 8)

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:06 am

Hi Everybody, please test build 110 to see if there is still any Encoding problem.

http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1459 ... /avant.exe

Thanks
lykovaa wrote:Anderson,

the problem I reported two messages above in this forum thread still persists in build 109.

Seems to me, that it's pretty important to fix it before the next public non-beta build is done.
It's not a problem, it's my decission.

IE has a bug that cannot delete all history completely sometime. Because of this bug, you will still get auto-drop-down URLs after clear all records.

I choose to display fewer URLs, but keep your privacy. You know, sometime, it's annoy that you cannot hide URLs you visited in your system.

Anderson

Jannik
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 9:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Germany

installer corrupted

Post by Jannik » Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:12 am

The installer of Build 110 seems to be corrupted. Can't install it. Please repair!

Thanks for your great job, Anderson!

Jannik

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:14 am

Same problem here. How was the wedding?

Sara :D

User avatar
xbox
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 3:35 pm
Avant Version:

Post by xbox » Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:34 am

Yes same problem for me.

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:57 am

yes, the installer's definitely corrupted..also, it's 'just' 926,4KB..
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

FDisk80
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:42 am
Avant Version:

Post by FDisk80 » Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:12 am

crom wrote:yes, the installer's definitely corrupted..also, it's 'just' 926,4KB..
Ditto :shock:

martymcr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 2:03 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Cheshire, UK

Corrupt Download?

Post by martymcr » Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:33 am

10.0.103 appears to be corrupt - I've tried clearing my cache etc. and re-downloading but the file won't install.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Corrupt Download?

Post by jis » Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:39 am

martymcr wrote:10.0.103 appears to be corrupt - I've tried clearing my cache etc. and re-downloading but the file won't install.
Don't you mean version 10.0.110?
Avant user since the year 2003.

Locked