Avant Browser 10.0 Beta 012

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Compared with 9.02, how do you feel Avant Browser 10.0 Beta 012?

Fast and Stable
18
72%
Fast, but not stable
2
8%
Stable, but not fast
4
16%
Not fast, and not stable
1
4%
 
Total votes: 25

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Avant Browser 10.0 Beta 012

Post by Anderson » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:14 pm

http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1422 ... abbeta.exe

1. Display a list of links, when open or recover last time saved web pages.
2. Auto-Upgrader. In future, if [Auto-Upgrader] is Enabled, Avant Browser will automatically download necessary new files, don't need to download whole installation file.
3. Fixed the bug of Refresh on right-click menu
4. Improved Blocked URL Info Window.
5. Improved Zone Icon Display.
6. Fixed a bug that Floating toolbars appear even when the AB Options dialogue is in the way.
7. Fixed a bug that "Save HTML...." doesn't work for the forum
8. Some other minus polishes.

Now I am going to prepare the language files for translation and then release Avant Browser 10 Final.

If you think you find a bug, I would greatly appreciate if you could report it here ASAP. Please report the detail of the bug, i.e. The URL you have problem with, how to duplicate it, ... etc.

Thanks,

Anderson
Last edited by Anderson on Tue Oct 05, 2004 7:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
writerguy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 6:29 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Springfield, Missouri

Post by writerguy » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:41 pm

Hey, I've used the 10 beta build 12 file you've linked us to above repeatedly -- and each time, the installer and the completed "About" information tells me I've installed 10 beta build 11.

Are you sure that's the build 12 installer? Or is there something I'm doing wrong? :shock:

Gary Speer

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Avant Browser 10.0 Beta 012

Post by bigC » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:48 pm

Cool =D>
Anderson wrote:2. Auto-Upgrader. In future, if [Auto-Upgrader] is Enabled, Avant Browser will automatically download necessary new files, don't need to download whole installation file.
Hmm, interesting. Anderson if I have "Notify me of new versions" & "automatically upgrade new version" checked will Avant notify me before it does anything? Basically will it ask me if I want to auto upgrade?
Anderson wrote:6. Fixed a bug that Floating toolbars appear even when the AB Options dialogue is in the way.
Yay! :)
Anderson wrote:Now I am going to prepare the language files for translation and then release Avant Browser 10 Final.
And skins? Will we get the new skin factory before 10 goes final
Anderson wrote:Thanks
No thank-you

gfd
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 5:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by gfd » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:49 pm

writerguy wrote:Hey, I've used the 10 beta build 12 file you've linked us to above repeatedly -- and each time, the installer and the completed "About" information tells me I've installed 10 beta build 11.

Are you sure that's the build 12 installer? Or is there something I'm doing wrong? :shock:

Gary Speer
Same here first time, but now I'm installing beta 12 correctly.
ImageImage

duke duke
Fan
Fan
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 5:23 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The ATX

Post by duke duke » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:50 pm

I'm getting beta 11 from the link also.

duke duke

duke duke
Fan
Fan
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 5:23 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The ATX

Post by duke duke » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:53 pm

Getting beta 12 now

duke duke

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:55 pm

writerguy wrote:Hey, I've used the 10 beta build 12 file you've linked us to above repeatedly -- and each time, the installer and the completed "About" information tells me I've installed 10 beta build 11.

Are you sure that's the build 12 installer? Or is there something I'm doing wrong? :shock:

Gary Speer
It works for me. Did you uninstall the last build first? Did you install 12 in the same place as 11? Try uninstalling & delete the avant browser directory found here and re-install.

User avatar
writerguy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 6:29 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Springfield, Missouri

Post by writerguy » Sun Oct 03, 2004 5:45 pm

Ah. I tried the link again and it DOES download the 10 beta build 12 now. Just installed it. Looks good so far. Thanks.

Gary Speer

User avatar
writerguy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 6:29 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Springfield, Missouri

Post by writerguy » Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:00 pm

So far, it looks pretty good. I've been browsing sites like mad and haven't seen the no-loading-gif problem I thought I might have had in build 11.

I took the survey above, and indicated I don't find build 12 quite as fast as 9.02, but it certainly seems stable.

Gary Speer

Coolnat2004
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 623
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 6:54 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NKY
Contact:

Post by Coolnat2004 » Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:34 pm

Another awesome build! I especially like the list of pages when you start it up.

However, I am still having trouble with printing pages. If you look at the print preview, it cuts off half of the page and prints like that as well:
Image
This has been a problem for a long, long time. I've checked my margins and such, but nothing helped. Even switching to landscape gave me the same image, cut at the same place.

Actually, this seems to only happen on some pages (Since it is fine on msnbc.com), but it still cuts off when it reaches the right end of the page (Normal, but frustrating) and will not print table backgrounds.

I request this:
-> Fix printing function on pages like this forum
-> Print table backgrounds (Just table BGs, not page BG)
-> Resize webpage to fit width of page

xtra
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:40 pm
Avant Version:

Post by xtra » Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:44 pm

I can't activate the Google and Flashget toolbars. They are not show in the toolbars menu. Please, include them. Thanks

starbuck
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 5:10 am
Avant Version:

Post by starbuck » Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:50 pm

Found a strange bug:
With popup blocker enabled, go to http://www.cnn.com, then click on any of the top stories, then click the back button.

It looks like it's trying to navigate back to a blocked popup or something?
If you disable popup blocker you can navigate back just fine.

User avatar
writerguy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 6:29 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Springfield, Missouri

Post by writerguy » Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:06 pm

starbuck wrote:Found a strange bug:
With popup blocker enabled, go to http://www.cnn.com, then click on any of the top stories, then click the back button.

It looks like it's trying to navigate back to a blocked popup or something?
If you disable popup blocker you can navigate back just fine.
I just did that with no problems at all. Sorry I couldn't recreate the bug or confirm it. :D

Gary Speer

User avatar
writerguy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 6:29 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Springfield, Missouri

Post by writerguy » Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:20 pm

Ah, I just found another site where the small-gif loading problem showed itself in build 12 -- Wilder Security Forum, http://www.wilderssecurity.com . Most of the small gif files down the lefthand side of the forum front page took TWO "reloads" to get them to show for me.

Anybody else have the problem?

Gary Speer

starbuck
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 5:10 am
Avant Version:

Post by starbuck » Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:21 pm

Sorry guys. The problem was the ad blocking component of mcaffee internet security. It must be switched off in order to work with this version of avant.

User avatar
reiba
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 9:26 pm
Windows Version: WinXp Prof. SP3 all upd.
Avant Version: AB 11.6. b16
IE Version: IE 7.0 all updates
Location: Muttenz BL, Switzerland

Error: English »Page« instead of German »Seite«

Post by reiba » Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:21 pm

Hi,
I take the chance to ask for one small correction.

I use the German translation for AB. And I have been using AB since Version 7. But since then, whenever I print out of AB, it says (on the right upper side) »Page 1« instead of German »Seite 1«.
IE is correct in this!

Could you please correct this? Thanks!

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:24 pm

writerguy wrote:Ah, I just found another site where the small-gif loading problem showed itself in build 12 -- Wilder Security Forum, http://www.wilderssecurity.com . Most of the small gif files down the lefthand side of the forum front page took TWO "reloads" to get them to show for me.

Anybody else have the problem?

Gary Speer
Tried it a couple of times... all after closing and re-opening Avant and found no problems loading them here.

Also, I'm not sure if it was in Beta 11, but I kust noticed that the Send a Page has been fixed.

Great work, Anderson!

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Post by robc » Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:26 pm

starbuck wrote:Found a strange bug:
With popup blocker enabled, go to http://www.cnn.com, then click on any of the top stories, then click the back button.

It looks like it's trying to navigate back to a blocked popup or something?
If you disable popup blocker you can navigate back just fine.
I'm having all kinds of weird problemswith cnn.com, mainly with images not showing with the popup blocker on; in this case, each refresh brings a different result: most refreshes don't change anything, sometimes I get a "not found" error on a popup but the main page doesn't continue loading; also, whenever some images don't display, refreshing the page doesn't help, while choosing "show picture" from the context menu does display the image. This is happening from build 11, in the same conditions where IE and Avant 9.02.101su7 work flawlessly. If the popup blocker is off, no problems arise; note also that it's enough for the blocker to be on, even if there are NO entries in the black list.

duke duke
Fan
Fan
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 5:23 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The ATX

Post by duke duke » Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:36 pm

"Send A Page" is not working for me with Windows XP SP2.

duke duke

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:37 pm

xtra wrote:I can't activate the Google and Flashget toolbars. They are not show in the toolbars menu. Please, include them. Thanks
Tools > Avant Browser Options > Miscellaneous check "enable google toolbar." Flashget isn't supported yet.

Post Reply