Avant Browser 10.0 beta 010

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Avant Browser 10.0 beta 010

Post by Anderson » Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:06 pm

Hello,

Sorry for the slowness in finishing this beta version. I am taking classes, which make me very busy.

http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1422 ... abbeta.exe
Main Updates in Avant Browser 10.0 beta 010:

1. Improved Popup Blocker, more popups will be catched.
2. Improved Floating Bar, less resource will be used for it.
3. Fix the bug of high CPU usage on large page, like http://kevinrose.typepad.com/allthegmail.html
4. Improved RSS Parser.
5. Auto-Detect RSS Feed, and parse it automatically.
6. Cleaned up options Window
7. Avant Error Page is optional, you can disable it from Options->Misc.->Enable Avant Browsing Error Page.
8. Fix the bug that cannot start in Limited User Account.

I hide the skins menu. Skins will be available in the final release.

This version is close to a final release. If you find any bug or have any suggestion, please don't hesitate to tell me. I will try my best to satisfy you.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Anderson
Last edited by Anderson on Tue Oct 05, 2004 7:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser 10.0 beta 010

Post by TomServo » Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:28 pm

Anderson wrote:
1. Improved Popup Blocker, more popups will be catched.
2. Improved Floating Bar, less resource will be used for it.
Getting better. :)
Anderson wrote: 3. Fix the bug of high CPU usage on large page, like http://kevinrose.typepad.com/allthegmail.html
Yep, pages that have caused issues before are loading up much better now.
Anderson wrote: 4. Improved RSS Parser.
5. Auto-Detect RSS Feed, and parse it automatically.
6. Cleaned up options Window
Have to check that out still.. but I am not much of an RSS user.
Anderson wrote: 7. Avant Error Page is optional, you can disable it from Options->Misc.->Enable Avant Browsing Error Page.
8. Fix the bug that cannot start in Limited User Account.
Well, #7 will make the "tin foil hat brigade" happier now.. they will need to invent something new to be paranoid about :wink: :lol:

Have to admit.. for a while it didn't bother me.. then it did start to get annoying just because it added an extra click or two to get back wo where I was.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:34 pm

But we like our tinfoil hats. Can we still wear them if we want? :(
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:47 pm

After installing beta 10, I'm still getting Beta 006 in the About screen, is this just an oversight?

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:55 pm

Tried reloading\re-installing several times to no avail. I finally went into my Avant Browser folder and deleted my "AVANT.EXE" file, re installed 010 and now it works. Not sure where it was sending the exe file, but it was not overwriting the 006 file. And no, I didn't change any of the default paths during the install.

TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Post by TomServo » Thu Sep 23, 2004 6:05 pm

Change your DL string to this: http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/142207-E5ZB/

THAT will DL the correct file... don't ask why.. it just does. :?
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Thu Sep 23, 2004 6:23 pm

Hey Tom Servo, I was able to download the correct file, it was just not installing properly.

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Thu Sep 23, 2004 8:10 pm

Hey ftboomer!

Welcome to the Avant Browser Support Forum... a fellow Tampa user too. COOL! :)

~Eric
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

Coolnat2004
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 623
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 6:54 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NKY
Contact:

Post by Coolnat2004 » Thu Sep 23, 2004 9:02 pm

I have to scream in excitement, Anderson! This is most definately the best release ever! It feels so much lighter! Plus, I don't have to worry about Avant freezing on pages like my friend's blog where he likes to use heavy CSS styles and embedded audio. ;) For some reason it often freezes on that.

(Just tested it on my friend's blog - light as a feather!)

Making AvantFind optional is also something I have to point out that is great. I had gotten used to the page, but I just don't like all the clutter. ;)

Thank you very much, Anderson! Keep up the GREAT work!

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Thu Sep 23, 2004 9:33 pm

vtel57 wrote:Hey ftboomer!

Welcome to the Avant Browser Support Forum... a fellow Tampa user too. COOL! :)

~Eric
Thanks vtel, great info here.
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Fri Sep 24, 2004 12:09 am

ftboomer...

Were you on the Ben Franklin? I'm impressed! How'd you end up in Tampa? It's not a big navy town.

Bored moderators wanna' know. ;)
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
ftboomer
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:50 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version: Latest
IE Version: IE8 x64
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Post by ftboomer » Fri Sep 24, 2004 12:16 am

vtel57 wrote:ftboomer...

Were you on the Ben Franklin? I'm impressed! How'd you end up in Tampa? It's not a big navy town.

Bored moderators wanna' know. ;)
Yep, spent 6 years on the Ben Franklin (79-85). I'm originally from Los Angeles but I've been in Tampa for 11 years now (long story), but I love it in Tampa.
Image
Give me a dirty martini and a great cigar, cause nothing beats a nice tight white ash!

Tetsuro
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 12:21 am
Avant Version:

Post by Tetsuro » Fri Sep 24, 2004 2:09 am

I love this new release, fixes quite a few things, I think right now I only have one major complaint. That is the floating toolbars, while I love the feature itself, when thet pop up through the tab bar. Basically if you you have an image that is covered by the tab bar, and move your mouse to it, it will show up. AT least it will on full desktop with auto hide bottom bar off.

vtel57
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 3665
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:35 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Contact:

Post by vtel57 » Fri Sep 24, 2004 3:45 am

ftboomer wrote:
vtel57 wrote:ftboomer...

Were you on the Ben Franklin? I'm impressed! How'd you end up in Tampa? It's not a big navy town.

Bored moderators wanna' know. ;)
Yep, spent 6 years on the Ben Franklin (79-85). I'm originally from Los Angeles but I've been in Tampa for 11 years now (long story), but I love it in Tampa.
Excellent! I salute you for your service to our country! Sub duty, huh? You got bigger... uh... nerves than I do! ;)

I've been here in Tampa for 43 years... born and raised. Yup, you can still find a couple of us out here. :)

Later...
Image

V. T. Eric Layton
***Tempus Fugits***

User avatar
cactuslick
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 4:14 am
Avant Version:

Post by cactuslick » Fri Sep 24, 2004 7:04 am

Coolnat2004 wrote:Making AvantFind optional is also something I have to point out that is great. I had gotten used to the page, but I just don't like all the clutter. ;)

Thank you very much, Anderson! Keep up the GREAT work!
+1

FDisk80
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:42 am
Avant Version:

Favorites Language bug.

Post by FDisk80 » Fri Sep 24, 2004 9:48 am

Can something be done about this?
This is how Avant Browser shows Russian (also happens with Hebrew) in the Favorites while Internet Explorer shows all the languages just fine.

Avant
Image

Explorer
Image

TomServo
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1791
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 9:13 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The Motor City
Contact:

Post by TomServo » Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:48 am

The language conversions may not be complete for the 10.x version. Can something be done? Well.. post it in the bugs section and send anderson an email about it.
'Minimal collateral damage' and 'entire star system' do /not/ belong in the same sentence.
- Schlock Mercenary

Website: http://www.alteviltech.com/

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Fri Sep 24, 2004 3:03 pm

Has Avant ever supported non-Latin character sets in this way?
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri Sep 24, 2004 3:54 pm

I don't think so. Isn't that the Unicode support that everyone wants?

MentholMoose
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 9:58 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Springfield

Auto-hide the left side panel

Post by MentholMoose » Fri Sep 24, 2004 7:02 pm

Hi,

Can you add an option to auto-hide the left side panel, not only for full screen/Desktop mode, but also in standard mode. Better than the splitter bar!

Thanks
mm

Post Reply