Avant Browser 9.02 beta 006 released!

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Locked
crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Avant Browser 9.02 beta 006 released!

Post by crom » Wed Mar 24, 2004 11:22 am

I'm waiting for Anderson to post the changelog! :)
Last edited by crom on Thu Mar 25, 2004 8:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

User avatar
Sidespike
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 5:37 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Eastpointe, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Sidespike » Wed Mar 24, 2004 12:18 pm

Yeah just noticed that it is now 9.02 Beta 006 also.
Awaiting changlog also.
Installed and working fine, but not sure what to look for yet :)

Keep up the good work Anderson

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Wed Mar 24, 2004 1:40 pm

The Favorites EDIT bug is present again :(
(it was solved in beta4 and 5..or at least, it had seemed to be on my machine..)

Also the "ghost tab" bug is still here...
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Mar 24, 2004 1:47 pm

I'm not having either of those problems

edit: but I never had the problems in the other betas, either, though

captenblack
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 8:04 pm
Avant Version:

Post by captenblack » Wed Mar 24, 2004 3:32 pm

I got that ghost tab bug, using beta 003. I didn't know what the heck it was.

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Post by Pip » Wed Mar 24, 2004 4:26 pm

I don't see the favorites edit bug in beta006.


Looks great thus far.........thanks Anderson!!

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Wed Mar 24, 2004 4:34 pm

Pip wrote:I don't see the favorites edit bug in beta006.
Well, I shut down AB, then launched it again...now the edit windows correctly open in the foreground...
But anyway, as it did not before...I think this part of AB code should be looked into..
Last edited by crom on Wed Mar 24, 2004 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Wed Mar 24, 2004 8:00 pm

May I have a screenshot, CROM?

martymcr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 2:03 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Cheshire, UK

Favicon problems

Post by martymcr » Wed Mar 24, 2004 8:56 pm

This version adds the wrong favicons to my links - e.g. google has the correct favicon, but Neowin has the google favicon. Same for my blog.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Wed Mar 24, 2004 9:04 pm

Sounds like your icon cache needs a repair. TeakUI has a repair tool for that: http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/tweakui

Some people have found FavOrg help in maintaining favicons:

Search for a free copy here:

http://www.filemirrors.com/search.src

Sara :D

martymcr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 2:03 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Cheshire, UK

TweakUI

Post by martymcr » Wed Mar 24, 2004 9:12 pm

Hi thanks for the response but TweakUI does not help :(

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Wed Mar 24, 2004 9:24 pm

Anderson wrote:May I have a screenshot, CROM?
Yes, I'd linked it above...but, anyway, here it is again

Image
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: Favicon problems

Post by crom » Wed Mar 24, 2004 9:32 pm

martymcr wrote:This version adds the wrong favicons to my links - e.g. google has the correct favicon, but Neowin has the google favicon. Same for my blog.
also see here:
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?t=5651

I don't know whether it's related to the cache.
In my case, the situation was back to normal when I restarted the browser...so, again, I guess it's got something to do with the code..(of course I may be wrong!)
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Wed Mar 24, 2004 11:56 pm

The space on the right after the side bar opens seems fixed in this one.

dabooger
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 11:31 am
Avant Version:

Post by dabooger » Thu Mar 25, 2004 1:17 am

Throughout most, maybe all, of these 9.02 betas, I'm on Beta 006 now, I've noticed a bug with the pop-up window blocker. With the pop-up blocker enabled, try this webpage: http://www.popuptest.com/popuptest1.html

Invisible webpage tabs will open. You won't see them, obviously, until you completely close AB, even from the systray, and reload. Then you'll see the "blocked" pages. I have my AB configured to save all open tabs when exiting so be sure you have that enabled before you test or else it won't work.

Here is a screenshot of a legit page block that I didn't notice until I opened up a new tab.

<< Well I guess I can't post a pic in the message and I don't have any webspace to link to >>

I can email the screen capture to whoever wants it but you'll see by the steps above that there is a problem and pop-ups aren't being blocked completely.

craig

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Thu Mar 25, 2004 2:33 am

crom wrote:
Anderson wrote:May I have a screenshot, CROM?
Yes, I'd linked it above...but, anyway, here it is again

Image
Anybody have this bug? I cannot reproduce it there.

Anderson

Coolnat2004
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 623
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 6:54 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NKY
Contact:

Post by Coolnat2004 » Thu Mar 25, 2004 2:45 am

I can't make it happen, either. Heck, I can't even click outside of that dialog when it is open (Which is a good thing of course.)

EDIT: After fiddling with the fav menu, it kinda got frozen open..check it:
http://www.krinj.net/misc/frozenfavlist.swf.html
After I shot the video I doble clicked the favorites menu..button thing a bunch of times and ev entually got it to close. It was quite odd.

And then later after that while uploading that, Avant took high CPU, but that could of merely been because my whole system was acting up for a minute. If that happens again, I'll be sure to let you know.
Last edited by Coolnat2004 on Thu Mar 25, 2004 2:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Thu Mar 25, 2004 2:55 am

I cannot click outside of the box as Coolnat said. It must be something about his computer that is letting him do this.

By The Way. Is there any changelog for 9.02 Beta 006?
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

dabooger
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 11:31 am
Avant Version:

Post by dabooger » Thu Mar 25, 2004 8:23 am

Yes, it happens on my machine too. I can get it to reproduce by Editing a favorite and just drag it under the open Favorties menu. I run a pretty large resolution on my monitor so my default when I edit a favorite it doesn't pop under that menu but if I were running a smaller resolution or if my avant browser window was not full screen then I'd have the same problem as CROM.

FYI, I can not click on anything in the Avant window when I'm editing a favorite its just that the open/pull down menu of the Favorites is blocking the edit window.

craig

Locked