Avant Browser 9.02 beta 002 released!

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

MCT
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 10:48 pm
Avant Version:

Post by MCT » Fri Mar 19, 2004 9:42 am

ok, i have got the beta installed, 2 things tho..

1) when i start it, it causes 100% cpu usage,

2) b4 it loads the homepage (in my case i use http://google.com ) the buttons fail to appear..

it seems 2 run ok tho, after that.. (without the icons or text tho on the buttons)

:)

0ren
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:10 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Favorites bug!

Post by 0ren » Fri Mar 19, 2004 10:30 am

I found one bug, When the active window it the Favorites window, and you're switching to other window or closing Avant browser, the Favorite dialog still shows up. :x

I attached a print screen, take a look!

Image

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: Favorites bug!

Post by crom » Fri Mar 19, 2004 10:44 am

0ren wrote:I found one bug, When the active window it the Favorites window, and you're switching to other window or closing Avant browser, the Favorite dialog still shows up. :x
Sorry but I can't replicate "your" bug...the Favorites window goes away when I switch to another window...as soon as I press the "Alt" button (before the "Tab" one - to switch win)
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

0ren
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:10 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Re: Favorites bug!

Post by 0ren » Fri Mar 19, 2004 11:54 am

crom wrote:
0ren wrote:I found one bug, When the active window it the Favorites window, and you're switching to other window or closing Avant browser, the Favorite dialog still shows up. :x
Sorry but I can't replicate "your" bug...the Favorites window goes away when I switch to another window...as soon as I press the "Alt" button (before the "Tab" one - to switch win)
well, do something like that:
go to one link on your favorites, right click, "edit", cancle the window. (leave the favorites window open) than right away, close Avant Browser.. and you'll see that the Favorites is still be open.

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:13 pm

Yup, that did it! Too bad it doesn't work and stay on my desktop all the time. That would be cool.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:23 pm

MCT wrote:
You don't.

SP2 is only available to Microsoft beta testers for now. It is expected to be released to the public later this year.
actually you do ;) http://geeknewz.com has a link to the express install

it has reached RC1 today, so its available to the public
the final release is expected in june

back on topic..

im downloading the new beta, lookin forward to it :D
This one has been mentioned before and according to Microsoft, is not an official release (I spoke to one of my friends in Microsoft about it a few weeks ago).

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: Favorites bug!

Post by crom » Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:24 pm

0ren wrote:
crom wrote:
0ren wrote:I found one bug, When the active window it the Favorites window, and you're switching to other window or closing Avant browser, the Favorite dialog still shows up. :x
Sorry but I can't replicate "your" bug...the Favorites window goes away when I switch to another window...as soon as I press the "Alt" button (before the "Tab" one - to switch win)
well, do something like that:
go to one link on your favorites, right click, "edit", cancle the window. (leave the favorites window open) than right away, close Avant Browser.. and you'll see that the Favorites is still be open.
I could just partially reproduce it:
I did what you said (edit + cancel), then closed AB (to the systray), but no way to see the favorites menu elsewhere.
BUT, when I opened AB again (maximized it clicking on the "A" icon in the systray), the favorire menu was there, open.
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Favorites bug!

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:28 pm

crom wrote:I could just partially reproduce it:
I did what you said (edit + cancel), then closed AB (to the systray), but no way to see the favorites menu elsewhere.
BUT, when I opened AB again (maximized it clicking on the "A" icon in the systray), the favorire menu was there, open.
I couldn't reproduce it at all

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Re: Favorites bug!

Post by Pip » Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:54 pm

0ren wrote:I found one bug, When the active window it the Favorites window, and you're switching to other window or closing Avant browser, the Favorite dialog still shows up. :x
I was able to reproduce it and had a difficult time getting rid of it........

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Fri Mar 19, 2004 2:02 pm

in beta 2 I improved stability:

http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1422 ... abbeta.exe

Anybody get freeze, please let me know. Especially How :-)

Also, anybody can reproduce the above bug, please send me a detailed steps to reproduce it.

Thanks,

Anderson

User avatar
tafugate
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2002 4:57 am
Avant Version:

Post by tafugate » Fri Mar 19, 2004 2:16 pm

anderson, didja forget to change the about page to reflect beta 002, or did i fumble the ball?

also, i can't remember the last time avant crashed, if ever.

edit: small sidenote, i would name my firstborn after you if you would fix the sized window support (it used to work).
Last edited by tafugate on Fri Mar 19, 2004 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
p4 1.8ghz 1280mb|winxp sp2|avant browser 10.2 build 38

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Mar 19, 2004 2:16 pm

Is this 001 or 002? (the setup says 001, but this topic suggest 002)

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:12 pm

MysteryFCM wrote:Is this 001 or 002? (the setup says 001, but this topic suggest 002)
Anderson must have changed the topic title...002's actually out while we've been talking about 001 so far...
Guess a new thread should have been started...but anyway..
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:37 pm

After reproducing the favorite menu bug, the only way I could get it to disappear was to click on a favorite. Avant would open, kind of. In the taskbar there was Avant and if I clicked on it you could see the shadow of it maximize, click, minimize, etc. I then started Avant and I could use Avant. I then noticed two instances of Avant in the taskbar. Of course only the one was functional.
Image
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

the EDIT windows for favorites opens BEHIND the menu

Post by crom » Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:42 pm

the EDIT windows for favorites opens BEHIND the menu

Image

no way to click on it to take it in the foreground.
the only way to do that was to move the win right side of the dropdown favorite menu
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: the EDIT windows for favorites opens BEHIND the menu

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:43 pm

crom wrote:the EDIT windows for favorites opens BEHIND the menu

Image

no way to click on it to take it in the foreground.
the only way to do that was to move the win right side of the dropdown favorite menu
This doesn't happen for me.....

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:44 pm

Crom, that happened to me once. After that each time it opens in the foreground.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

User avatar
Raaz
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:32 am
Avant Version:

Post by Raaz » Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:46 pm

When i select edit in fav-menu my Avant jumps to the background for a second and then it jumps foreground again with the edit-window visible.

But that does only happend when my Avant is maximized

crom
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by crom » Fri Mar 19, 2004 4:36 pm

SweetLou wrote:Crom, that happened to me once. After that each time it opens in the foreground.
It never happened with the 001, this is a 002 issue... :roll:
Last edited by crom on Sat Mar 20, 2004 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If I die I have to go before Crom and he will ask me:
"What is the rule of Steel?"
And if I don't know it, he will cast me out of Valhalla and laugh at me!
That's Crom, strong on his mountain..

KXM
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 12:03 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser 9.02 beta 002 released!

Post by KXM » Fri Mar 19, 2004 5:46 pm

Anderson wrote:BETA2:
I am still working on the splitter. I planed to finish the splitter in the beta version...
SWEET!!!
THNX Sooooo much!!!!!!

Locked