Avant Browser 10.2 build 17 beta

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Anderson
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by Anderson » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:06 pm

abfan123 wrote:
ABman wrote:Quite like the X button on tabs.
Same here.
But hmmm
It would be nice to make "scrolling tabs" (Like in Maxthon).
More detail about scrolling tabs?

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by André » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:10 pm

Anderson, have you ever gotten alpha-blended pngs to work for skinning? If so, it would be awesome becasue I could start making some better looking skins.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:14 pm

DrDrrae wrote:Anderson, have you ever gotten alpha-blended pngs to work for skinning? If so, it would be awesome becasue I could start making some better looking skins.
Yeah, ditto that.

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:15 pm

Anderson wrote: More detail about scrolling tabs?
In Maxthon,If you'll open many tabs,It won't create a new line with tabs but will hide some tabs (Similar to the Windows taskbar).Sometimes it's better,imo.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

batagy
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 11:52 pm
Windows Version: WinXP SP3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: IE8.0
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by batagy » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:21 pm

Wow!
Nice work Anderson!
I really like the new tab improvements, like progress bar. Also seems much faster to load websites.
Thanks!

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:26 pm

Anderson wrote:
djsolidsnake86 wrote:priority bug: double click of mouse logitech for save image or for select tab
normal piority: big tab, some problem in the icon in the address bar
Could you please describe the problems in details? Better with screenshots. Thank you!!!
Sorry, no screenshots are possible for this bug.
I opened this issue in this thread right click in AB 10.1 build 40 broken.
I explained it there thoroughly. This is so annoying bug for me, that I am still using the AB 10.1 build 38, which was the last build without this bug.
Last edited by jis on Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Avant user since the year 2003.

djsolidsnake86
Fan
Fan
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:24 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Italy

Post by djsolidsnake86 » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:31 pm

jis wrote:
Anderson wrote:
djsolidsnake86 wrote:priority bug: double click of mouse logitech for save image or for select tab
normal piority: big tab, some problem in the icon in the address bar
Could you please describe the problems in details? Better with screenshots. Thank you!!!
Sorry, no screenshots are possible for this bug.
I opened this issue in this thread right click in AB 10.1 build 40 broken.
I explained it there thoroughly. This is so annoying bug for me, that I am using with the AB 10.1 build 38, which was the last build without this bug.
exactly right..

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:33 pm

abfan123 wrote:
Anderson wrote: More detail about scrolling tabs?
In Maxthon,If you'll open many tabs,It won't create a new line with tabs but will hide some tabs (Similar to the Windows taskbar).Sometimes it's better,imo.
Oh, I like the opposite - more tabs - more lines. But I must say that I have resolution 1400x1050.
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
mark79
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 12:26 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: Avant Ultimate 2014 build 1
Default engine: Avant Browser
IE Version: 8
Skin: OSX
Location: Rome - Italy

Post by mark79 » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:41 pm

Vavicons are perfect with the skin OSX. favorg function also perfectly.

Still the spell check in the google toolbar 3 does not work correctly (problem started after the last windows update) but function perfectly with IE or FF. :(

I've a suggestion:

Why don't let the user decide if he would like to use the underlining on the tabs or a change of color instead?

Maybe the user could even decide wich color to use between some basic colors. :wink:

P.S. Personaly I will use a red bold without underlining :wink:
Last edited by mark79 on Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:42 pm

robc wrote:There really is a "speedier" feeling as a whole, though I've just started using the new build.
I must agree, it is really noticeable. Not only in loading web sites, but even in GUI. For example my collection of 180 groups is showing much quicker when I click on Groups in menu.
Very, very nice. Thank you Anderson!
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Avant Browser 10.2 build 17 beta

Post by jis » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:51 pm

Last edited by jis on Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Avant user since the year 2003.

phatmankerr
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 7:44 pm
Avant Version:

Tab Options

Post by phatmankerr » Thu Mar 16, 2006 9:02 pm

I'm with Mark, I like the new tabs, but they are ruined by being over fussy (and they look better with certain skins).

Options to set the active and inactive font state of the tabs (e.g. bold, underlined etc.) would be useful.

Personally I could do without any of the underling or the changes in font colour (like to keep it simple).

Would be useful to be able to select the colour change / shade for the mouse over effect as well.

And the icing on the cake would be the ability to set the colour / style of the tab borders (including on mouseover and active tab etc.)

The Red Close Cross looks ok, but I use dbl click to close tabs anyway (but choices are a great thing).

Probably quite a lot of work for Anderson, but I think most of us would appreciate it.

Otherwise the latest beta is looking great :) .

Thanks Anderson

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:53 am

bigC wrote:Also, when the close x appears on a tab... the text kind of jumps to the left. Thats kind of disorienting. Can you make it stay in place or perhaps keep the text aligned to the left instead of centered on the tab?
I agree. But I prefer making the close "x" optional. I close the window only with single click of middle mouse button / wheel. Also, one isn't restricted to a small area where an "x" would be.
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Fri Mar 17, 2006 1:28 am

This version didn't cleanup temporary folders in C:\Documents and Settings\%username%\Local Settings\Temp after exit.
E.g. folders $.ficn$ and $Feeds$.
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Fri Mar 17, 2006 1:44 am

Windows Defender now detect these changes after every restart of Avant Browser 10.2 build 17 beta:

shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\htmlfile\shell\open\command\\
shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\ftp\shell\open\command\\
shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\http\shell\open\command\\
shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\https\shell\open\command\\

Previous versions didn't do it.
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by statm1 » Fri Mar 17, 2006 3:01 am

jis wrote:Windows Defender now detect these changes after every restart of Avant Browser 10.2 build 17 beta:

shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\htmlfile\shell\open\command\\
shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\ftp\shell\open\command\\
shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\http\shell\open\command\\
shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\https\shell\open\command\\

Previous versions didn't do it.
Well I have seen this happening.. But I have seen it happen at least in 10.2 builds 15,16,17..
Image
-- Matt --

Sriubol
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:31 am
Windows Version: Vista ULTIMATE SP2
Avant Version: Avant 11.7 Build 46
IE Version: 8.00.6001.18904
Location: THAILAND

Post by Sriubol » Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:11 am

If you post new Version of Beta please send me a new in My mail..., I want to submit ad my web...thank

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:21 am

I've just downloaded Avant Browser beta to install it on my second PC & realized that it's build 18.
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jis » Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:29 am

statm1 wrote:
jis wrote:Windows Defender now detect these changes after every restart of Avant Browser 10.2 build 17 beta:

shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\htmlfile\shell\open\command\\
shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\ftp\shell\open\command\\
shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\http\shell\open\command\\
shellopencmd:
HKLM\Software\Classes\https\shell\open\command\\

Previous versions didn't do it.
Well I have seen this happening.. But I have seen it happen at least in 10.2 builds 15,16,17..
Sorry, I was too brief. Last version where I haven't noticed this problem was nonbeta AB 10.1 build 38.
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Post by robc » Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:40 am

The same here :shock: Back to silent builds! :wink:
Image formerly known as Image

Locked