Avant Browser 10.1 beta 6

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
Darkson1
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:25 pm
Windows Version: XPsp3 and Vista Home
Avant Version: 11.7 b43
IE Version: 8.0.6001.18702
Location: England - God's own country.

Post by Darkson1 » Thu Jun 16, 2005 8:05 pm

Sergei wrote:The language files are pretty small, Darkson, so it would really be more trouble than it's worth to make them optional. They will download in less time than it would take you to select your one from a list!
1MB was the (unpacked) size of the files I deleted. O fcourse, being non-tecnical, I have no idea how much room in the set-up file they take, but assuming 50% that, that's still a pain for dial-up users, especially if they have no use for them.



Right-click to open a link in a group would be nice as well (yes, I know about the CTRL click method, not always easy when you're browsing whilst eating a sandwich!).
Ha, ha ha! Very funny!

Run for the hills, it's Darkson!

duke duke
Fan
Fan
Posts: 187
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 5:23 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: The ATX

Post by duke duke » Thu Jun 16, 2005 9:40 pm

darkson,

remind me never to touch your keyboard [-X
Right-click to open a link in a group would be nice as well (yes, I know about the CTRL click method, not always easy when you're browsing whilst eating a sandwich!).
duke
Dell 6000
XP Home SP2
Avant 10.2, latest build
IE updates
NOD32, the latest
Outpost Firewall Pro 3.5
Ad Muncher 4.7

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:10 pm

Or if you are basically one handed as I am..........

Sara :?

Bubbibubbi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 6:50 am
Avant Version:

Mouse Gesture

Post by Bubbibubbi » Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:01 am

Ok.. Don't know why this question is ignored in the other beta threads..
But i'm gonna try again..

Why did you remove this mouse gesture?
Image

It's the best and most used mouse gesture imo.
Does it conflict with the other ones or what is the deal with it?

I'm still only using 10.0 168c because of this mouse gesture.

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:26 am

You're not being ignored, Bubbibubbi, it's just that nobody can answer you. Only Anderson can say why he removed the gesture, and he doesn't normally reply to questions personally.

You can write to him (look in the Help menu), but I think it's safe to assume that your objection has been noticed.
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

inuyasha320
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:40 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: NY
Contact:

Post by inuyasha320 » Mon Jun 20, 2005 3:48 am

i hate Roboform!!!
This is my anime wallpaper website. updated on 8/9/05 at 2:08 AM
(updated adblock files for avant browser and firefox added)
http://mysite.verizon.net/vze2241e


Image

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:19 am

inuyasha320 wrote:i hate Roboform!!!
Your point being..........????

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Post by Pip » Mon Jun 20, 2005 5:14 am

inuyasha320 wrote:i hate Roboform!!!
Then don't use it..........
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:55 pm

I don't normally use the Betas, but I'm using this one on a spare computer.

Can someone tell me the purpose or the advaantage of the Quick Search CTRL+Q feature in the Go button drop-down? At first, I thought that maybe it would allow us to choose a Quick Search, but I can't seem to find an option anywhere.

Unless you've disabled searching from the address bar, can anyone tell me the usefulness of this?

Bubbibubbi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 6:50 am
Avant Version:

Post by Bubbibubbi » Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:55 pm

Sergei wrote:You're not being ignored, Bubbibubbi, it's just that nobody can answer you. Only Anderson can say why he removed the gesture, and he doesn't normally reply to questions personally.

You can write to him (look in the Help menu), but I think it's safe to assume that your objection has been noticed.
OK thx.. :)

User avatar
Lilaviel
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:14 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Virginia, US
Contact:

Post by Lilaviel » Tue Jun 21, 2005 5:31 pm

Noticed some complaints about the roboform being in the install package. But it was an optional add-in, so I don't see what the problem was.

My thing is the taskbar not being visible in auto-hide mode. And that's my only complaint.
~*{Lilaviel Aine Fairaway}*~
-Credit for my icon goes to livejournal'srich desire and her collection of Jack Sparrow icons for disney 100
Image

User avatar
Circumlocutus
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 644
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 9:11 pm
Windows Version: N/A
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: IN, USA - formerly Scarborough, UK

Post by Circumlocutus » Tue Jun 21, 2005 5:48 pm

Lilaviel wrote:Noticed some complaints about the roboform being in the install package. But it was an optional add-in, so I don't see what the problem was.....
Not everybody has broadband, so tripling the size of the download to include a program that not everybody wants, can frustrate those stuck on dial-up as it can turn a 10 minute download into a half hour one.
Image
WARNING

This post contains one or more words known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm. Wash your eyes after reading.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Post by bigC » Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:40 pm

hornakapopolis wrote:Can someone tell me the purpose or the advaantage of the Quick Search CTRL+Q feature in the Go button drop-down? At first, I thought that maybe it would allow us to choose a Quick Search, but I can't seem to find an option anywhere.

Unless you've disabled searching from the address bar, can anyone tell me the usefulness of this?
This isn't a new feature, its been there as long as I can remember. If I recall corectly, you used to not be able to search from the address bar by just typing a term & pushing enter. So, I think its kind of a leftover feature from those days.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Tue Jun 21, 2005 8:14 pm

Now that you mention it, I remember another discussion about CTRL+Q... but Alpha 1 doesn't have it in the Go button drop-down and I don't remember it being there in other.

Not a big deal either way, but i was hoping it was some new addition that I didn't understand. :lol: I still don't see the purpose of the link in the drop-down.

Locked