Page 2 of 2

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 10:52 am
by MysteryFCM
abfan123 wrote:
guyf wrote:Since the 10.1.2 version the interface language always come back to english when I restart Avant Browser.
Confirm
This is deliberate and is quite common in Alpha's/beta's. These functions shall be re-enabled in the full *public* versions

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 10:56 am
by ABman
I changed (temporarily!) to Windows XP Style and the same thing happens.

Image

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 10:52 pm
by bigC
Is anyone elses "Home" toolbar button acting strange? Everytime I click it a little empty menu comes down. I must click it again to remove the menu.
ABman wrote:The mouse gesture option screen is all misaligned; I am using 1024x768 resolution with large size DPI and large fonts.
ABman, what do you mean large size DPI? Where is that setting?

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 10:54 pm
by MysteryFCM
bigC wrote:ABman, what do you mean large size DPI? Where is that setting?
Right click the desktop;

> Properties > Appearance > Font Size (DDB)

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 10:57 pm
by abfan123
bigC wrote:Is anyone elses "Home" toolbar button acting strange? Everytime I click it a little empty menu comes down. I must click it again to remove the menu.
Yes
Workaround :
Add extra home page :wink:

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 11:04 pm
by bigC
MysteryFCM wrote:
bigC wrote:ABman, what do you mean large size DPI? Where is that setting?
Right click the desktop;

> Properties > Appearance > Font Size (DDB)
Yes I know that, thats the font part. He said large DPI and large fonts. Where is this DPI business?

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 11:11 pm
by MysteryFCM
bigC wrote:
MysteryFCM wrote:
bigC wrote:ABman, what do you mean large size DPI? Where is that setting?
Right click the desktop;

> Properties > Appearance > Font Size (DDB)
Yes I know that, thats the font part. He said large DPI and large fonts. Where is this DPI business?
DPI is just the pixels (dots per inch) so if he's got large DPI, it just means he's got his screen sqaushed more than it should be (normally done by those with eyesight problems), kinda like having an 800x600 resolution and calibrating your VDU so it's more like 640x480 (settings for this are normally located in the settings for your graphics card (they don't come in Windows itself)).

Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 8:42 am
by ABman
bigC wrote:what do you mean large size DPI? Where is that setting?
Display properties/Settings/Advanced

Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 7:59 pm
by bigC
ABman after changing my dpi, I was able to duplicate your bug. However you'll be happy to know it does not occur in 10.1 alpha 5. :wink:

Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 8:35 pm
by ABman
bigC wrote:ABman after changing my dpi, I was able to duplicate your bug. However you'll be happy to know it does not occur in 10.1 alpha 5. :wink:
Just installed it; your right, it's OK now, thanks.

BTW I have normal eyesight. My native resolution is 1600x1200. This is way too small for virtually everything so I have it default to 1280x1024, plus increased the various other font/dpi settings etc..

This is a good compromise except for web pages which again results in pages too small, i.e. fonts etc..

I therefore set the resolution to 1024x768 every time I surf the web and then set it back to 1280x1024 when I've finished.

It would be wonderful if Avant Browser could set the screen resolution to a user specified setting when it starts and then return to the previous setting when it is closed.

Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 8:43 pm
by MysteryFCM
ABman wrote:
bigC wrote:what do you mean large size DPI? Where is that setting?
Display properties/Settings/Advanced
hehe oks, I feel like a gimp now (I'd completely forgotten about that one, lol...... so used to doing it via the graphics card settings).