Avant Browser 10.1 alpha 2

Contains all announcements of Avant Browser releases.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Pip
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2601
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:46 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Avant Version: 2012Ultimate V171
IE Version: IE9
Location: Michigan U.S.A.

Post by Pip » Sat May 28, 2005 3:17 am

You should be able to download the Alpha1 version here:

http://avant.it-mate.co.uk/default.asp? ... &cat=Alpha
Image

Veni, Vidi, Velcro - I Came, I Saw, I Stuck Around

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by statm1 » Sat May 28, 2005 3:56 am

I just got alpha 2.. I agree that compact view shouldnt start as default.. But stay as a option.. I really Like the new title bar in the compact view.. I dont really like that the similar websites bar isnt on the menu bar anymore.. it doesnt look right anywhere else.. As for everything else I havent really seen a problem yet.. I do hope that you offer skins for the compact view later in development.. Alittle to plain do stay that way..

Overall.. Ive stuck with AB because no other browser Ive used loads as fast as AB does.. I absolutely hate slow browsers.. I uninstalled Alpha 1 because I was having problems with Gmail.. So i reverted back to Build 167... But it seems to have been fixed in alpha 2.. so im gonna stick with it..

Thanks for making a quality product..
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
bmh67wa
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:19 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by bmh67wa » Sat May 28, 2005 6:46 am

I don't like the compact view either but otherwise an excellent "alpha" release. It seems to be faster than alpha 1. Looking forward to being able to use my skins again soon. Great job thus far!

Bubbibubbi
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 6:50 am
Avant Version:

Post by Bubbibubbi » Sat May 28, 2005 6:52 am

I liked the Alpha 1 more than this..

But there is one thing that i miss in the both Alphas..

And that is the "old" refresh mouse gesture..

This: Image

I like the options where you can choose each mouse gestures option.
But why is the Image removed?

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by statm1 » Sat May 28, 2005 7:20 am

I just found the mouse gestures.. I never knew they were there.. How new are those? cuz I just think those things are the best thing in any browser... Omg I love these things.. The convenience that it brings to heavy surfing its Great... This makes AB Better.. if that was possible..
Image
-- Matt --

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Sat May 28, 2005 9:04 am

ftboomer wrote:When you hide it, how do you get it back? Had to restart it.
There seem to be a "bug" (well not really)
When tray bar icon is off,The hide button should be disabled

And also in the compact mode,When I click on "X" button,Avant Browser completely close even though the "Minimize to system tray,When click [Close] button" is checked

In other words,Compact mode is great
But need few bug fixes
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Sat May 28, 2005 10:38 am

Anderson,

First, thank you for all new features in v10.1.

What I think about the new compact view? I love it :) I'm always using Avant in window.

Maybe you could add also autohide as in fullscreen (top, bottom and side panels).

trooperbill
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 12:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

issue with google toolbar

Post by trooperbill » Sat May 28, 2005 10:44 am

when the browser opens as default, the google toolbar is missing, it only appears when more than one tab is opened.

trooperbill
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 12:28 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

tabs go walkabout

Post by trooperbill » Sat May 28, 2005 10:45 am

ive noticed also that the tab menu dissapears often, i have to hide/show tabs again at which point theyve been floated somewhere up the screen and detatched from the dock.

Mark

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 7 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Post by Dreamer » Sat May 28, 2005 10:48 am

abfan123 wrote:
ftboomer wrote:When you hide it, how do you get it back? Had to restart it.
There seem to be a "bug" (well not really)
When tray bar icon is off,The hide button should be disabled
I disagree, you can start Avant with Avant.exe or desktop shortcut and Avant is unhide. Or there could be a hotkey for hide/unhide Avant - and we have a "boss option" here :) .

User avatar
wilson389
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 8:01 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Hong Kong, China

Post by wilson389 » Sat May 28, 2005 1:11 pm

nice work Anderson! This version is truely faster and smoother. Well, i can't quite agree with the compact look, i prefer the convention one. I noticed that the system bar(small buttons for next page, close all except one etc) turns silver, that's cool. but the symbols on the bottons changed! I think the convention one is better.

derblubber
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 1:36 pm
Avant Version:

Post by derblubber » Sat May 28, 2005 1:38 pm

This version is much much better than beta 1 was

1) Compact mode rocks
2) Its much faster (specially when closing tabs)

Keep performance fast or faster please, avant really gets even better over the years ive been using it now. Thumbs up Mr. Anderson!

//EDIT:

Bug: sometimes avant overdraws the taskbar, im not sure if its meant that way, its irretating and not that good. Also taskswichting or "Alt-Tab" sometimes doesnt bring other windows infront of avant - so avant simply "blocks" the screen.

reckoning
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2004 11:53 pm
Avant Version:

Post by reckoning » Sat May 28, 2005 3:26 pm

Dreamer wrote:
abfan123 wrote:
ftboomer wrote:When you hide it, how do you get it back? Had to restart it.
There seem to be a "bug" (well not really)
When tray bar icon is off,The hide button should be disabled
I disagree, you can start Avant with Avant.exe or desktop shortcut and Avant is unhide. Or there could be a hotkey for hide/unhide Avant - and we have a "boss option" here :) .
I don't use the tray bar icon but i'd like to use the hide functionality so avant is totally hidden from view. That's why I hope the hide function stays in (and not just in the compact mode) and a hot key can be used to hide/unhide avant.

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Sat May 28, 2005 7:08 pm

Alpha 3 now out.

You can restore in compact mode, but you have to turn it off to maximise again!
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Post by abfan123 » Sat May 28, 2005 7:46 pm

Sergei wrote:Alpha 3 now out.

You can restore in compact mode, but you have to turn it off to maximise again!
Hmm
I can maximize and restore in compact mode
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

Locked